We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, Mediocre Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J.H. Adams Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
J.H. Adams Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Mediocre Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights while eating ourselves silly on NC barbecue, and it was a good choice. This is an old school inn, not like a Holiday Inn, but not like a B&B. It is more intimate than a chain, but not as personalized as a B&B. That said, we asked for recommendations on things to do or places to eat at the front desk a couple of times, and the staff always seemed friendly and helpful to us.

The front desk and restaurant are in a separate building from the rooms themselves, but they are separated by a private courtyard and sitting area with tables and benches to relax at. Our room itself was quite nice, it was a slightly larger than average hotel room, but the bathroom was huge and quite nice and the furniture and linens were all high quality.

Overall we found the room to be a step above average; the only thing I was disappointed in was the continental breakfast, which was weak (to put it mildly). That said, there is a Krispy Kreme 200 yards down the road, so it's not like you're going to starve to death.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    42
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
65
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Pretty place but...we arrived during a rainstorm, no overhang, no bellboy, valet or anyone to help us with luggage or to show us where to check in. There was a special event taking place that evening so there was no place to park. Our reservation, which was made through the inn's website and confirmed that evening, was messed up so we were downsized (and charged more) not once but twice. The explanation we received was "oh we don't check the internet very often." Our room was in a separate building...we were pointed the way and again, it was pouring. The room was pretty, the luxury linens were Frette and were tattered and threadbare. The robes and towels had seen too many washings and were tattered and threadbare. The shampoo and other items were packets like mustard packets you get at Chinese take-out. The tub was huge. Breakfast the next day started at 7am. We arrived at 7:45. A long table with a bowl of cubed fruit, cold bagels and an empty hot plate awaited. One of the guests showed up with a box of donuts and Starbucks coffee for themselves. I asked the one kitchen staff what the hot food was and she said eggs and sausage but "the stove was taking too long". We got tired of waiting and left around 8am. Upon check out we spoke with a different staff person who adjusted out bill.
It has taken me awhile to write about this place because I truly did not want to relive this experience. It seemed like there was no one working here, no one was managing the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deborah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the JH Adams Inn this past weekend while visiting for a concert at the High Point Theater. I believe the inn has a relationship with the theater such that when you book tickets for an event you are given a link for JH Adams for preferential booking. It worked out for us. When I spoke to someone at the inn upon securing my reservation they were quite surprised that I was only staying for one night, commenting that they usually host weddings and/or wedding parties in the springtime that filled their rooms for the entire weekend. So be it, but we were there just one night.
This is not a B&B, in my opinion. Service is not as personalized or friendly. This is more of a small quaint hotel. The check-in procedure was simple though the nice lady at the desk appeared disheveled or at least confused. She didn't provide us much assistance with information about the property except to tell us where our room was and that we were entitled to a glass of wine each that evening. Parking for checkin is a little jumbled and limited. The front door location was a little confusing, but we got there though the front of the inn (to me was marked as a restaurant, Hamptons, which I suppose is the venue for the wedding parties, etc).
Room was a little small, older style TV, neat, very comfortable, large open bathroom with huge tub. Please, Mr. JH Adams, give us better variety of pillows. The soft, cushy pillows smashed down to virtually nothing when you put your head on them. Overall, a very comfortable room. We took advantage of the opportunity to have a nice glass of chardonnay on the front corner terrace of the inn. We were amused that we received waves from numerous passers-by. Apparently people thought it interesting that we would be imbibing in full view of a public thoroughfare in High Point.
While checking in we noticed several ladies feverishly setting up for a wedding party at the property and many inn guests appeared to be with the wedding. When I realized my veranda room was directly over the wedding party area I though to myself that there might be some noisy reveling going on that evening. Upon our return from our concert, though, all was quiet, and only a couple of stragglers were still there. Morning found us well rested in our comfortable room. The breakfast that preceded, though, was a clear disappointment. Hard, dry scrambled eggs were a disappointment, but the biggest letdown--no milk for the cereal. I was informed that they had run out---you NEVER, NEVER run out of milk for a buffet at a hostelry. That's just indefensible. I had to ask for real sugar for coffee, though there were plenty of alternatives. There was fruit cocktail, the type you buy in frozen bags at discount stores, sausage links, bagels and English muffins, etc. By the time we ate, about half an hour before the closing of the buffet, people were beginning to stand around with plates looking at each other wondering what they were going to eat. One lady commented that she was waiting for more scrambled eggs which I don't believe ever materialized. Oh, and they ran out of coffee cups, opting for styrofoam after that. So enjoy the inn if you decide to stay there, but just don't expect a really top notch experience, and decide to skip the breakfast.....and bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sennedwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Inn was clean, comfortable. Free glass of wine offered. There was a resturant but we did not eat there. Continental was included. We were on the ground floor and it was a little noisy one night from people that were outside on the patio. Other then that it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjfs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Don't let the beautiful pictures of this historic inn fool you. The children running the place have no clue what consistent, professional service is all about and management is nowhere to be found.

I was so excited to spend a relaxing weekend at the JH Adams Inn, but from the first inteactions with the front desk making the reservation nothing seemed organized. During my stay, I had severals reasons to visit the lobby and at no time was the front desk being manned. When I checked out, for example, after waiting ten minutes I finally had to call the inn from my cell phone and ask for someone to come to the front.

Breakfast was terrible all three mornings. Mostly, they just threw a few eggs in the pan, let them cook until all the moisture was gone, and then served them with cereal. The coffee ran out every day, maybe because people were trying to wash down the eggs.

The resteraunt dinner food was delicious, but again the service was terrible. The waiters seemed unsure of their duties and overwhelmed by the workload. I never saw a manager.

In fact, I never saw a manager during my entire four-day, three-night stay, at any station in the inn. The next time I am in the area, I plan to stay at a chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairfaxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahoskie, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

This B&B was absolutely beautiful. The staff was very friendly and professional and the room was georgous! The bathroom was like something out of a moviestars mansion. Not only was there a spacious walk Inn shower but a very large Jacuzzi as well. The furniture was very nice. I would very much so recommend this B&B to anyone who needs to make a trip to High Point.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

The main hotel is beautiful with character and friendly staff, but if they are out of rooms and offer you one in the Dalton house, find somewhere else to stay. It just feels grimy and smells musty. It's kind of like the forgotten about part of the hotel. And three of the four bedrooms share one tiny bathroom, and there was a dead bug on the floor of it.
I want to reiterate though, we LOVE the main hotel, and intend on staying there again (so long as they don't figure out who wrote this review) just not the Dalton house.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
6.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
1.7 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#10 of 14 in High Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
7.0 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
13.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.H. Adams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.H. Adams Inn

Property: J.H. Adams Inn
Address: 1108 N Main St, High Point, NC 27262-3116
Region: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J.H. Adams Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your J.H. Adams Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.h. Adams Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing