We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”
Review of J.H. Adams Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J.H. Adams Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

While shopping for furniture in High Point we made reservations for two nights at the Inn. We usually stay at Hilton hotels but this Inn may have changed our future trips. The Inn was just charming, the room was very clean, and the hotel staff were just great. Bethany at front desk was very helpful, Jay in the bar was very friendly and everyone there enjoyed talking with him. The lady that was in charge of breakfast was very attentive. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant as it was closed Monday night but had appetizers at the bar and the food was wonderful. We would stay here again without a doubt. We met quite a few people that are return customers and we can understand why they come back each month.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    43
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
68
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

It was great going back to the Inn for a night. I worked there several years ago and it was fun to see everyone again. I was a bit surprised after reading a review I saw on trip adviser. My room was as wonderful as I remember them being. i made my reservation with Bethany also who was not there at the time of my employment, so she had no idea who I was. B-fast was wonderful and it was great to see that eggs and a meat had been added to the menu. I got fresh fruit and a bagel that is my b-fast every morning. They say you can't go home again but I know now that you can. It was truly all that I remembered.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiep123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Our company had our annual staff retreat at the JH Adams Inn. The Inn was the perfect setting for our small scale meeting. KJ made sure that every detail was planned from breakfast, room set up, water stations, private lunches, and more! I am not a meeting planner by trade so I had peace of mind knowing that their sales team would make sure that all the "i's" were dotted and "t's" were crossed. The meeting room was the perfect size for our group of 8. It was private so we did not feel like we were intruding on another group. Breakfast was delicious, cooked customed made to order served by the friendliest waitstaff. We had an abundance of snacks, water, and coffee to fuel the staff for the whole day. They came by during our break and took our indivual lunch orders and had it ready in a private dining room where it was labeled with our names. Talk about efficient! The Inn is decorated with beautiful art and southern charm! Their hospitality helped energize our staff and we left that day ready to take on the world! I would consider the JH Adams Inn for any of our corporate meetings.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGIF1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We recently enjoyed a mini-staycation at this inn. We live in High Point but had never stayed there. Bethany, at the front desk was pleasant and very helpful, both on the phone and in person. We stayed in room 34. When we opened the door we were hit with the smell of cigarette smoke, but we were able to run the fan and the AC to improve the smell. I read the guest services book as I always like to do. We went to a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant and then down to the fitness center. What a disappointment, someone's office is down there and it is full of cardboard boxes. If I had wanted to work out I would not have, equipment was broken and it was slightly scary down there. We retired to our spacious and better smelling room after dinner. The room was extremely quiet, however the pillows (only 2) for a king sized bed were skimpy and a bit like sleeping on bricks. I woke with a neck ache. The bathroom and shower was adequate. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that our room came with 2 glasses of wine (which we don't drink, but it was nice if you do!) and a buffet breakfast. The breakfast was acceptable, basic hotel fair food. The server was willing to cook an egg fresh on request. The fruit was of the frozen variety, but wasn't bad. I would definitely recommend the inn to friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmkimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stay here when we're in town to visit our son who's in school at HPU. They get booked up quickly, but their rooms are wonderful (comfortable, cozy, but modern with nice beds and linens)
The bar is the gathering spot...and there's always a conversation going on..

Room Tip: Ask for the larger ones in the wing or a two bedroom suite if you have more than a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwitsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed in a street facing suite (Asian Room), very nicely appointed, giant bathroom with huge shower and jacuzzi tub. Had a great meal at Hamptons, Derek the chef who we got to chat with for a while did an awesome job, Bill the Bartender / Server was great and LeAnn? and Bethany from the front desk could not have been nicer.
Definitely recommend this place and you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayGee1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We bought a Groupon and stayed in the Kincaid Suite for our wedding night. We were catered to and treated amazing. It's a stunning building and the room was lacking nothing. If you are looking for a top quality place to stay but not snooty in the slightest, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lombardo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Point
1.7 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
171 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
4.0 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel High Point
Radisson Hotel High Point
#9 of 14 in High Point
477 reviews
7.0 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Point
195 reviews
13.3 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.H. Adams Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.H. Adams Inn

Property: J.H. Adams Inn
Address: 1108 N Main St, High Point, NC 27262-3116
Region: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J.H. Adams Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your J.H. Adams Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.h. Adams Hotel High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing