We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”
Review of Steak Street

Steak Street
Ranked #18 of 280 Restaurants in High Point
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Pros:
Live music was excellent
Service was great
Atmosphere was great
Desert was great
Loved the dimed lighting

Cons:
My entree (the special) was not what I expected. Lots of fat (T-bone) and gristle. The sauce poured over it was a bit unexpected as well and I personally thought it took away from the taste overall. I'm sure the menu stated it but wish I had noticed, I would have asked for it on the side.


I love this restaurant and I believe this is the first time I've felt like this about the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gnaff9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    78
    54
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great meals and service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We eat here a half-dozen times a year. My wife dearly loves their shrimp and grits. I usually get their prime ribs, also really great, and they know what "rare" really means. On our most recent visit, I noted the prime rib price had gone up, so I decided to try something different: the Louisiana fried catfish. Really great: large portion, two big filets, perfectly cooked. We ate out on a glassed in patio, another change for us, and enjoyed it very much. Advisable to ask when you make reservation: is there live music? If so, request seating on the above-mentioned patio or on the second floor of the restaurant. The musician is a regular and does a really great job, but the resulting noise level makes it tough to carry on a conversation if you're too close.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012JimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ribs, wine and music!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We love this restaurant and frequent here on special occasions. (Be sure to sign up for their email list and get great discounts for birthdays and anniversaries!)

We love the ribs the most. Go on Friday and get half price on the wine. Plus, they have live music on Friday and Saturday nights. (wine is not half price on Saturday, though.)

Onion rings are great, too. :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting Decor & Good Food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Ate here for a business meeting. We think the decor is New Orleans, but it was unique. Decor does not make or break a restaurant, and the food was very good. Not being a steak eater, I had the very good Jambalaya which was spicy as advertised. The serving was large and wonderful. The wine list was extensive and the Riesling ordered for the table was excellent. I also like the creole vinaigrette salad dressing.

Our waitress was very good and helpful, and service flowed smoothly. would certainly eat here again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a Hit”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is our fifth time eating at Steak Street when in Greensboro for the ACC Tourney. The steaks are always the best. I get the fried oysters as an add on, they are wonderful. Very nice atmosphere, friendly and attentive wait staff and a piano player that plays great background music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak Street also viewed

 

Been to Steak Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing