We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure the renovations are complete before you make your reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel High Point
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Be sure the renovations are complete before you make your reservation”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at this property March 31, Easter Sunday so we could be ready for an early college visit the next day early. After a very eventful drive, barely avoiding the 95 car pileup coming in from Ohio, we rolled into the hotel at 10 o'clock at night. Arriving at the hotel was pretty comical and icing on the cake after being rerouted through the mountains for almost 2 hours. We pulled up and saw the entire front entry taped off with caution tape across the doors and entry drive. It was pitch black outside and as we looked from our car, we could only see 3 lights on in the hotel and the lobby looked abandoned. All we could think of was "Is this really happening?" We were totally fried and couldn't stop laughing at our luck. Anyway, we could not park or pull up to the front (due to the caution tape), so we left the car on the road in a town that seemed almost totally abandoned and went to see what was going on. There was a nice woman there behind the desk but other than that, there was no sign of life. Only rolls of carpet half attached to the floors, walls with no baseboards, mirrors on the floor etc. It was really weird and we felt like we were having a bad dream. We did check in, finally understanding why our rate was such a great price compared to other hotels in town, and went to bed. The hallway getting to the rooms was under construction and a little smelly but the potential was there once completed. The room was clean, new bedding etc. but our shower head was not secured to the wall, the shower curtain had no liner so we had to put the curtain in the shower to take a shower. The little details like ripped stickers on the phone so you could not see where to call down, and some other things were unexpected for a room that was "ready" to occupy. In general, we agreed that once this place is finished and complete, it will be a very nice option for those traveling to High Point. If you are going for college visits, there are closer options for you. If you are going for furniture shopping, this place is the perfect location! Happy to see new management redoing the place and this is no means a review to hurt their reputation. Our only concern is that it was not ready for occupancy and thought it was odd that nothing was said about the construction prior to booking.

Room Tip: Be sure to call regarding construction prior to booking if you are traveling close to when this repo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    126
    116
    77
    79
See reviews for
191
44
16
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had not stayed at this hotel since it was a Best Western, but a colleague informed us that the hotel had been renovated so we decided to give it another try. The renovation efforts were impressive to say the least. The staff went out of their way to see that we were comfortable and helped us with everything from directions to getting faxes. What a big difference two years makes. Finally, a quality full service hotel in downtown High Point. We will definately being staying at the Plaza on return trips for business.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202JayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed two different stays at this hotel. Both rooms were very clean, comfortable, and inviting.
Definitely I would recommend this for convenience to downtown and the malls as well. The current renovations being implemented will make this hotel even more beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The High Point Plaza hotel is the best place to stay in High Point. It has a beautiful lobby, a friendly bar, and helpful staff. The dining room is good and very convenient for an early morning breakfast or dinner after a long day of travel - however, it is not always open. This hotel is close to High Point University, and a short walk to the furniture mart. The hotel also has an indoor full size pool. The parking is in a ramp, adjacent to the hotel. You do need a car to get around to restaurants and shopping. There is nothing exceptional about the rooms, but the beds are comfortable and the room is well appointed. We have traveled to High Point 5-6 times, and this is our first choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raeford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed this weekend for the Miss North Carolina competition. Check in was a breeze. The rooms were standard, nothing exciting. Upon arrival the air conditioners were broke. By the time we returned from the first evening of competitions, they had been fixed. The hotel has recently changed management and it showed with the staff. I dropped off a suit to be dry cleaned. When I went to pick it up the next afternoon, I was informed that they had forgot to turn it in. Had breakfast at their in-house restaurant. The buffet counter was a mess. No cups for drinks, no milk, and most of the food was gone. Attempted to have dinner in the bar area before we went to the final night of competition. Waited over an hour and had to finally cancel our order so we could make it the venue next door. The high point of the event was the bartender, Warren, who went out of his way to take care of us during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeford5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at the High Point Plaza this weekend and had a great stay. The staff was great. Friendly and welling to serve. Would stay there again when in town. Good location. Hotel was recently updated. Great accomodations

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMNewBern_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My room, on the eighth floor, was freezing when I checked in - my phone thermometer showed 62! Turned off the AC, tried to turn on heat - not working. "Too early in the season." No room heaters available. Maintenance was lovely, came up to make sure the valves were open, but couldn't do anything about the heat. I slept with extra blankets and all my next days' clothes on and still woke up miserable. And yes, previous review correct, beds are horrid.
To top it, my room was dirty. One of the beds had... well, hair on the sheets, I won't go into details. The other appeared clean enough so I used it. The closet floor hadn't been vacuumed in who knows how long, there was a filthy Qtip on the floor. When I moved the bedstand closer to the bed I could have filled a pillow with the dust and lint behind it.
I asked that the room be cleaned, and while I was out attending a conference, it was. Except for the closet floor and the area behind the bedstand.
Not worth the money, folks, not even close.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krashtest d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these High Point hotels
7.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham High Point
2.5 mi away
Courtyard High Point
Courtyard High Point
#4 of 14 in High Point
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
J.H. Adams Inn
J.H. Adams Inn
#2 of 14 in High Point
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Biltmore Suites Hotel
#6 of 14 in High Point
197 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 14 in High Point
136 reviews
5.0 mi away
Seven Oaks Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel High Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel High Point

Property: Radisson Hotel High Point
Address: 135 S Main St, High Point, NC 27260-5205 (Formerly High Point Plaza Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > High Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in High Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel High Point 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the Piedmont Triad region and shop in the "Furniture Capital of the World" during your stay at the Radisson High Point, NC. Our hotel's downtown location places you near the historic Castle McCulloch, High Point Museum and Piedmont Environmental Center. With major businesses nearby and convenient on-site services such as free wireless Internet access and a business center, our hotel is the perfect choice for corporate travelers. Book some of the more than 11,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes a ballroom, a boardroom and meeting rooms, for events of up to 600. We encourage you to take it easy by providing a relaxing indoor pool, a stress-burning fitness center and convenient dining. Bistro 135 specializes in American cuisine with a southern flare, while Pub 135 offers an intimate atmosphere for enjoying drinks. The on-site Marketessen satisfies your snacking needs, and room service is available. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel High Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus High Point Hotel High Point
High Point Radisson
Radisson High Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing