We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and service spectacular”

Lakeside Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“food and service spectacular”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Recently dinned at Lakeside restaurant. food and service was spectacular.. enjoyed grouper with sweet potato and sage puree..my husband said the trigger fish was excellent . Finished with cherry bread pudding and mud pie.A must go to in Highlands. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank lorraine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    44
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed in Highlands”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in Highlands and visited all the top restaurants. While most were very good to excellent, Lakeside stood out from the rest. Our server was very attentive and friendly without overdoing it. I wish I could remember her name(she was blonde and pregnant). Lakeside is small-about a dozen tables in a nice (what else) lakeside setting. The interior feels more like someone's living room. We started with the mussel appetizer. It was very flavorful, although the mussels were a bit small. Our two fish entrees were both absolutely perfect. My wife had the triggerfish and I had the grouper with a fresh peach preparation. The portions were both generous and perfectly cooked, which is somewhat of a rarity for fresh fish in an upscale restaurant. Although we did not get salads or desserts, the ones we saw nearby looked really good. The prices are high, but about the same as other comparable restaurants in Highlands. Lakeside just happened to be the last on our list of dining out that week, but when we go back there it will certainly be at the top of the list. Also, a good wine list at fairly marked up prices. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank boodateddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We joined some friends at Lakeside Restaurant..it was a lovely evening, attentive service from our waitress Mary, and the rest of the staff. Many selections, specials on the menu. Food was delicious, wine and drinks good...Will definitely return...it is a hidden treasure in Highlands...There are many restaurants to choose from in Highlands, and this is right at the top...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank KSH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rushed out the door”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Food was good. service was good but rushed. As soon as we advised our waitress that we weren't having desert, she bought the check and told us that she needed the table for another party who was waiting. I didn't even get to finish my wine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sandyhaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glad we finally found it!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We've been coming to Highlands for many years and I don't know how we have missed this place! Maybe it is a well kept secret - it should be! Very cozy and attentive service, paired by a menu that offers variety and creative attention to each dish. My wife had a wonderful Grouper selection, and I had Crabcakes, which were excellent - strange to have seafood way up in the mountains, but the quality was that of any upscale Coast restaurant. With all of the restaurants in the area, I will definitely pick this one as a "must return"!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank TDT10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing