We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar!”

Lakeside Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Highlands, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stellar!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last night was our 1st time back since Chef Marty took a well deserved retirement after 24 years! We were not sure what to expect but it has always been a favorite in Highlands. Happy to say that Laura the new owner (she was the manager for many years) has taken the reigns and kept the friendly and welcoming atmosphere and added a wonderful new chef. Kelly, our lovely and fun server, was very patient going over the specials that all sounded exquisite.She highly recommended the swordfish special. It was exceptionally flavorful and perfectly prepared. We also enjoyed the swiss chard salad with figs and goat cheese as well as the crab stuffed shrimp for appetizers. The mile high pie and the raspberry sorbet finished off our experience. If you have the privilege of dining there you will not be disappointed! Make sure to ask for Kelly, she'll take great care of you! I'm already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Melanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    44
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A small and sometime noisy, but well appointed and comfortablerestaurant. My wife had the snapper and I had the the Italian seafood ciopini. Both were excellent. Service was excellent. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I were with friends celebrating a birthday. We couldn't have selected a better place for an exceptional dining experience in every way. The dining room is so inviting…..small, beautifully decorated, and quiet. The menu was varied, and it was difficult to choose just one entree. My husband had red snapper, I had trigger fish, and our birthday friend chose the salmon. All were EXCEPTIONAL. Joe was our waiter. He was extremely helpful and very personable which made our experience even more enjoyable. A birthday dessert was offered, but since we had a birthday cake where we were staying we declined dessert although Joe even offered to box one up so we could take it with us. As we were leaving, the manager walked outside with us asking about our dining experience. He, too, couldn't have been any nicer. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank card_bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional service and delightful food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our one year anniversary and chose Lakeside Restaurant! We were not disappointed at all! We started by arriving 30 min early for our reservation time and they were able to seat us within minutes of our arrival. I know this was a huge feat because the restaurant is quite small with only 16 or so tables. During our short wait, we were approached by the hostess and what we later found out was a manager/owner. Both were extremely gracious, prompting us that our wait would only be a few more minutes. We were content waiting as we knew we had arrived early. The rest of the evening went just as smoothly as the initial wait. We were seated at a table with a gorgeous view of the lake. Every table but 2 of them have great views of the lake. Our server was Kelly and she was amazing. Service was professional and expedited but not pushy. The owner/manager came over several times throughout our meal. My boyfriend had sirloin which was cooked perfectly and he raved for days after about how good the flavors were. I chose a local favorite Rainbow trout and it was also delicious. I was shocked to see that they gave you the whole fish fillet (thankfully not the head). For dessert, we tried a local and house favorite, Buttermilk pie with a berry compote. It was so divine we almost ordered a 2nd one. Again, the owner/manager came to stop by to offer his congratulatory remarks regarding our anniversary and also tell us that our dessert was on the house. We were so surprised by this gesture and grateful too. However, regardless of the dessert on the house, we would definitely love to visit Highlands again, specifically to go to Lakeside and we recommend this restaurant without a doubt!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent wine dinner!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Went to a Patz & Hall wine dinner here and it was incredible! Service was great very attentive and relaxed. Absolutely enjoyed the braised rabbit stuffed crepes. Can't wait to go back and try the food there again!

Helpful?
8 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing