We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Highlands and I could not wait to submit my review of the Colonial Pines Inn. We had 4 couples staying in all 4 rooms of the main house and it was PERFECT! The inn is a mountain home that is clean and fresh. The location is great -- close to town, yet quiet. The wrap around porch has a wonderful view and is furnished with a swing, rocking chairs and other comfortable furniture. Donna and Chris are truly wonderful hosts -- around when you need them and yet not around when you want privacy. Donna's breakfasts are out of this world! My husband and I have stayed at dozens of Bed & Breakfasts around the country and Colonial Pines Inn ranks as one of our most favorites. I hope our travels take us back to Highlands to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaPeach00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

After many day trips to Highlands in the past, my Mom and I decided to spend one night for a little getaway. The Inn is beautiful, quiet and comfortable...and what a view, even in the pouring rain! The owners were out of town for the night, but Connie took fabulous care of us, going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and extremely well taken care of. The breakfast was delicious and there was certainly plenty of it! We would definitely recommend Colonial Pines and hope to stay again some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsnpeetwiltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was me and my husband's first vacation in the mountains and at a bed & breakfast. Colonial Pines definitely sets the bar high. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the owners and shown around. We loved the rustic, country decor and it was very comfortable and clean. Snacks and beverages we're always readily available and we were served various delicious breakfasts throughout our stay. We truly felt like we were at home and definitely plan on returning again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Meant to write this review since we stayed there in July 2011 (but had to select on the dropdown box that I stayed in Aug. 2011 in order to submit this review). The owners are hands on and did everything to make our stay wonderful. My wife has food allergies and they made her a special breakfast each morning with their homemade blueberry jam (since she can't have eggs). Donna and Chris go out of their way to make each person feel special and I would definitely stay there again when in Highlands or Cashiers.

Room Tip: The guest house has no A/C but if you want to feel like you've rented a cabin, you can stay on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poohathart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at Colonial Pines in visiting Highlands to celebrate our 53d wedding anniversary. Everything was much better than we could have hoped for. Donna and Chris are superb hosts and make one feel like family. The breakfast each day was simply scrumptious and plenty to eat.The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The hot water and water pressure were excellent. The goodies provided each night for a snack were delicious. We will definitely stay here again.. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonHartwell_GA30643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our yearly trek to Highlands, NC has always been a treat -- no matter the time of year we choose. N-e-v-e-r have we stayed at a B&B in our lives anywhere, but this time we decided to give it a try. We like our privacy and found a tantalizing prospective place at Colonial Pines Inn B&B. Right away we liked the property setting amongst the huge rhododendrons (not yet in bloom though). We had chosen the 4 room unit separate from the main house. And approaching the front door steps we knew we had made no mistake.

Walking up the stairs we were already taken by the large deck joining the front door -- perfect for morning coffee or lunch or reading. The two bedrooms and combo kitchen/dining/living room were perfect in its decor and style. Spotlessly clean and highly quaint and cozy, it was all entirely more than satisfying. The rooms in the main building are superior in decor, and there is plenty of coffee, teas, and munchy sweet treats into the evening.

If you like watching pine squirrels, grey squirrels, orioles, jays, chipmunks and other wildlife, you'll find all these on the grounds of Colonial Pines Inn.

Oh -- and once you show up for breakfast and partake of the special recipes on your morning plate, you'll find yourself considering how you might stay just one more night to see what the fare will be the next morning. Chris and Donna, the owners, know how to set the hook and reel you in. We'll be back -- for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it could not have been better. We stayed at Old Edwards Inn last year and Colonial Pines far exceeded that - we truly enjoyed it. Donna and Chris are wonderful hosts and do everything to make your stay pleasant and it was. Donna is a great cook. Our room was so quaint - we loved all the pine paneling in the inn. Our room had its private bath and roomy pine paneling closet that had been made into a dressing area with a dresser. Very clean, homey, welcoming - great place. Nuff said!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highlands hotels
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#7 of 7 in Highlands
101 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#6 of 7 in Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 541 Hickory St, Highlands, NC 28741-8498
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a two-acre in-town hillside, Colonial Pines is one half mile from Main Street and has been welcoming guests since 1961 to the mellow warmth of knotty pine and English antiques. A view of Satulah Mountain will soothe your spirit and you can choose a room, suite, or even a separate cottage with fireplace. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts, unlimited afternoon and evening refreshments, berry gardens,wrap-around two-story verandah, in-town convenience, out-of-town beauty, year-round warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing