We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Highlands!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Once again Colonial Pines provided a wonderful weekend of rest and relaxation to our group of friends. Donna and Chris are the best innkeepers in town. Not only is the inn beautiful, exceptionally clean and comfortable, but the breakfasts are beyond compare. Make plans to visit this extraordinary inn - you won't find better accomodations anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2007

We enjoyed the most relaxing Memorial Day weekend in the quaint Colonial Pines Inn. This was Highlands hospitality at its best.
The Inn: huge wrap around front porch with rocking chairs and porch swings. Rooms were very clean, decorated in comfortable, inviting furnishings. Large closets, private bathrooms, and inviting beds that left us with warm memories. Thought of everything including shampoos and blow dryers.
The location: Close to town, on the side of the mountain, with a beautiful view from that great porch. Free parking, easy access to many hiking trails. Just a few blocks from downtown and the many stores.
The Innkeepers: genuine, hospitable, and fabulous chefs.
The breakfasts: the best we've ever enjoyed at a B&B. A full meal including fruit, pastries, and a different breakfast egg casserole each day. Also were treated to freshly baked cookies in the evenings.
Rejuvinate and be pampered at the quaint Colonial Pines. The perfect place at a relaxing pace for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mid-life_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

The Colonial Pines Inn is a fabulous retreat! I stayed with a large group of friends. The rooms, porch, breakfasts and hospitality of Donna and Chris can't be beat.
We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank letstrvl4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

This has been our 4th stay. Rooms are immaculate and the breakfast is great. Very consistent service from visit to visit!

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank JimSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2006

We've been staying here for 20 years and it only gets better! Peaceful, great food, walk to town, and just relax! Chris and Donna couldn't be better hosts!

2  Thank randr-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

'Perfect Vacation Site'
Our yearly visit to Colonial Pines Inn in Highlands NC is our favorite vacation time. The inn is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, and the guest rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is even a baby grand piano for guests to enjoy. The wide porch with old fashioned rocking chairs is the perfect place to relax and observe the magnificent mountains in the distance. The genuine and warm hospitality of inn keepers Donna and Chris Alley makes the inn a very special place.The breakfasts Donna serves are superb and visiting with other guests while feasting on her delicious food is always a favorite part of our day.Donna and Chris make their guests feel very welcome and both are always available to provide information about Highlands and the surrounding area
Colonial Pines Inn is our "home away from home". We are never ready to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank retten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

My husband and I have been long time attendes in the Highlands. We came across this wonderful Bed and Breakfast call the Colonial Pines Inn. Chris and Donna are personalable and friendly, helpful with getting around the area, and can give knowledgable information on where to eat for your palett's desire. Their Inn is very clean, and the breakfast are delicious as well as plentiful. The charm of their Inn is warm with the fellings of home. They have a good library of books if you forgot your personal book, and the surroundings welcome you to the front porch, or to curl up in the sofa. A delightfully charming place to stay for the hotel weary traveler.

1  Thank RLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.6 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 541 Hickory St, Highlands, NC 28741-8498
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a two-acre in-town hillside, Colonial Pines is one half mile from Main Street and has been welcoming guests since 1961 to the mellow warmth of knotty pine and English antiques. A view of Satulah Mountain will soothe your spirit and you can choose a room, suite, or even a separate cottage with fireplace. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts, unlimited afternoon and evening refreshments, berry gardens,wrap-around two-story verandah, in-town convenience, out-of-town beauty, year-round warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing