We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Highlands Charm on 4 1/2 Street!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

In the past we have stayed at the 4 1/2 Street Inn when vacationing in Highlands. This visit, since that inn was full we stayed across the street at the Colonial Pines. This B and B has been in continuous operation in Highlands for over 30 years and was just a delightful place to stay. We like 4 1/2 Street a lot--quiet, yet only a short walk to town. The Colonial Pines is a stately two story residence with rooms on both floors as well as a separate two story guest cottage with two additional suites (the upper with 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette. Our room was on the second floor of the main house, was quiet, with a walk-in closet, nice bath, and pine paneling somewhat reminiscent of yesteryear. We found the room charming, and actually more reasonably priced than the inn across the street. The grounds at the Colonial Pines are beautiful, well manicured and very relaxing. There are tables and swings on the huge covered verandas where we ate two delightful meals with food that we had brought with us in our cooler. When we arrived there was Sherry in a nice decanter and some freshly baked treats from our hostess, Donna, who is an excellent cook! Her breakfasts were delicious and healthy as well. Her husband Christopher was also pleasant and both provided us with whatever information we required regarding the local attractions, restaurants, etc. Each day we were there, Donna put out new delights for us in the afternoon, and we looked forward to another of her delicious breakfasts. We highly recommend this inn! It is clean, attractive, reasonably priced and very convenient to the downtown Highlands area.

Room Tip: All rooms are somewhat similar. You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a great place. The old home is quite homey and warm. There is a large wrap around porch which has swings and tables in case you want to eat breakfast out or drink wine and watch the numerous hummingbirds in the afternoon or evening. The owners are most gracious and accommodating We had some small request for breakfast and Donna and Chris was more than happy to see that we were satisfied with our meal. Donna is a great cook and prefers to stay with healthy choices which is a plus for us. The property quite charming is located within a nice walk into town. The rooms are large and comfortable and quite pleasantly decorated. There are lots of books available to read and lots of available material to find a local hike or waterfall which there are many in the area. The area is quite famous for hikes and waterfalls. Our stay was 2 nights and most pleasant and we hope to return to a winter getaway and experience the charm of Highlands and the Colonial Pines Inn.

Room Tip: we like the upstairs rooms as they are cozy and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carroll G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Colonial Pines dozens of times over the years and it's always great. Donna's breakfasts are exceptional. It's like home away from home for us! We've stayed in every room, plus in the guest house out back. Every room is different, but all are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoytandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Colonial Pines for our honeymoon and had a fabulous time! Donna and Chris are such wonderful and friendly hosts. We had everything from a great room to amazing breakfasts. The house and grounds are just beautiful. We had a chance to tour all of the other rooms and they were all so pretty and well kept. We are making plans to return for a stay here at least once a year. Thank you Donna and Chris!

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak with Donna. She will whatever she can to help your stay be as great as it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had just one night at Colonial Pines in Highlands, NC with Donna and Chris and it was lovely. I have B&Bs in Natchez, Ms., so know how much hard work and dedication to detail it takes to make everyone happy. Our room was delightful and the breakfast amazing. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a true,, exceptional B&B .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia39120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, Owner at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you - It's gratifying to get a review like this from someone in the business. Your "Marcia's Cottages" in Natchez look lovely, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at the Pines. The location was ideal for our purpose to be in Highlands, a concert at the Performing Arts Center, and it was close to downtown. The breakfasts were fantastic - more than I could eat at one sitting - and our hosts were friendly, helpful and wanted to make sure our stay in Highlands was enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable and the snacks provided were delicious as well. And, who wouldn't enjoy a rocking chair or swing on the wrap-around porch looking over the mountains! This was definitely a do-again experience.

Room Tip: The only room in the main B&B that has a TV is downstairs but it also has a smaller bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyM-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, Owner at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for this nice review and we hope to see you again soon! We enjoyed meeting you & hearing about the unusual concert at the Performing Arts Center (PAC). We feel fortunate in our 30 years of innkeeping to have had so many charming, interesting, and considerate guests like you from all parts of the country and even a few foreign countries. We're glad you loved our quiet location half a block from the PAC and only half a mile from Main Street. Close by, there is a amazing array of music, theater, visual arts, boutique shopping, and fine dining to enjoy; but nestled on our secluded hillside away from the bustle of Main Street, you get a real sense of being in the mountains. At Colonial Pines, three rooms have Cable TV, and three rooms are "TV-Free." All have either king or queen beds. Cable TV is also next to the fireplace in the lobby with a library of DVDs for rainy day watching. If you are interested, we will play a captivating and heart-wrenching BBC video about the lives of black bears - just ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My fiance and I had a wonder stay at Colonial Pines B&B. First, a couple comments about the location. If you are flying into the area and staying at the Colonial Pines, then likely you are flying into Atlanta. If so, the drive is about 2.5-3 hours. Mostly an easy drive. However, if you can arrive before dark you will enjoy the drive more. Better views and the drive is easier during the day. The last part of the drive, up into the mountains, is very steep and lots of turns. Nothing to be too worried about as long as weather is good, but certainly easier/more scenic during the daylight.

As you approach the B&B, keep your eye out for the ballfields, turn, and then after you make that turn you do need to really pay attention because the B&B cannot be seen from the road and the opening to the drive way is relatively small, with dense trees/brush. There is a mailbox. We had to turn around a few times.

My fiance and I were in town for a wedding for one of her good friends. So it was a very short/fast trip. Flew on on Friday, checked in on Friday night, checked out Sunday morning, and flew back to Phoenix Sunday afternoon. The B&B was perfect for us.

My fiance had book us a room in the "Guest House" which is a small annex building not attached to the main building. It was very cosy, romantic, and private. We enjoyed the room very much. The only warming I would offer is that the shower is a little on the small side and although I think the overall size of the room is just fine, if you happen to have lots of luggage it would get crowded. Beyond that, it is a very nice room, and of course very quite/private since you are off all to yourself.

We had breakfast in the main house twice and breakfast was very good. Lots of options provided and some self serve cold cereal if wanted. I recall either a NYT or a Wall Street Journal laying out which really surprised me given how far out in the country we were. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. They sat down with us during breakfast the first day and suggest short hikes we might take and gave us directions. We did a "waterfall" hike that was very near by and I would highly recommend it. A relatively easy and short hike but very pleasant and scenic. The area is known as a temperate rain forest and the wooded areas can be very dense.

The only other thing we had time to do outside the wedding was to stop in the historic downtown area. This is a must do if you are staying in the area. The historic downtown area is very nice. Everything from high end/fancy shops to hand made metal crickets on a stick to put in your yard or garden :) A decent number of restaurant options as well. The B&B is probably not more than 10 minutes from town, if that.

We did not really get a chance to tour the inside of the main house much or even the grounds for that matter but it all looked very beautiful. There are great views from the porch and there is a very nice old front porch swing to relax on if the weather permits.

We would definitely stay here again if we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, Owner at Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

I love reading reviews like this written by guests who visit Highlans for the first time from distant places. They remind me of the delight and amazement I felt on my very first visit over 30 years ago. It's a surprise to find a small mountain town with such a high degree of culture and sophistion. In fact, Highlands was recently selected one of the Twelve Best Small Towns in the country for The Arts. And yes - we have NY Times and Wall Street Journals plus several brokerage firms and more banks than you want to know about! I've never heard any statistics on this, but I'll bet we also have more churches per capita than most other towns, small or large.

Highlands is becoming known as a destination wedding spot thanks to several of our larger hotels who handle all the details of these spectacular events. Our "Bargain Basement" (not really a basement) in the Guest House has a king bed, bath with shower, Cable TV and has become a favorite room for attendees who don't want to spend a lot. With easy-in/easy-out access, it works well for getting to all the required functions. Yes, the shower is small - I always say it's like a shower on a cruise ship. Another nice detail: In case you want to sleep late after the big event, or have to attend a brunch, breakfast is optional with The Bargain Basement.

To clarify our location, Colonial Pines is located in town, one-half mile from Main Street in a quiet residential neighborhood at the Corner of Hickory Street and 4 1/2 Street. The property is large, and there are two driveways - one from Hickory and one from 4 1/2 Street. GPS will take you to the Hickory Street entrance because our address is 541 Hickory. There is no mailbox or lighting (we are not allowed lighted signs), but there are white sign-posts at either entrance. It is a 10 minute walk to town and a three minute drive. I always recommend, if at all possible, to arrive in Highlands during daylight hours. Highlands is in a temperate rainforest and this can sometimes mean foggy driving conditions.

For peace & quiet, lush mountain surroundings, and convenience to theater, hiking, dining & shopping, Colonial Pines has an ideal location from which to enjoy your visit to Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highlands hotels
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#6 of 7 in Highlands
101 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#6 of 7 in Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Pines Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 541 Hickory St, Highlands, NC 28741-8498
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £82 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a two-acre in-town hillside, Colonial Pines is one half mile from Main Street and has been welcoming guests since 1961 to the mellow warmth of knotty pine and English antiques. A view of Satulah Mountain will soothe your spirit and you can choose a room, suite, or even a separate cottage with fireplace. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts, unlimited afternoon and evening refreshments, berry gardens,wrap-around two-story verandah, in-town convenience, out-of-town beauty, year-round warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing