We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as expected”
Review of The Chandler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandler Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our room was just okay - clean but dated. The air conditioner was on constantly for 24 hours before the room was cool. In fact the people in the room next to ours moved after the first night because their room never cooled off. We stated when we arrived that we did not eat onions or peppers. The next morning the egg casserole was as requested, but the second morning - the same casserole was served (which is not the norm in a bed and breakfast) and they "forgot" to leave out those ingredients. No apology was offered. As others have stated, breakfast was served on styrofoam plates with plastic forks. Decaf coffee was not available, and had to be requested each morning. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisskowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Chandler Inn is really easy to find. The rooms were very affordable and fun to stay in. My girl friend and I really enjoy staying there! Randy is available if needed and the breakfast in the morning was really good. I usually like to hike or walk around outside and then shop/eat in town. I feel like the chandler inn is a really great way to go in highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielG8895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The rooms are nice -not great. The main positive for the inn is the close proximity to town. This is good because we had to go to town every morning we were here to get coffee. The owners are not early risers. Breakfast is served on styrofoam p,ages with plastic utensils. The food was pretty much the same each day. A blueberry French toast that was overly sweet and didn't taste like blueberries, a bland egg soufflé and an overly sweet baked oatmeal. Good news is they have cereal and English muffins -definitely the way to go. Wifi is very poor and not accessible from most rooms. But for many people that isn't an issue. If it is an issue, make sure you get a room close to the office.

Randy and Leti are very nice people. This just wasn't the get away We were looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Chandler Inn was our haven while visiting Highlands, NC. Our room was clean, comfortable, well appointed and very cozy. The remote controlled fireplace was nice touch. We had a king size bed in one room and a double in the main room where fireplace was located. The breakfast was splendid. Short stroll to main St. Just first rate accommodations, breakfast and hosts. Randy and Letty Power were top-flight hosts. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Room wonderful and clean. Randy made us feel welcome. But be prepared for hwy noise if you sit outside. Inside not so bad. Beautiful setting. Easy one half mile walk to Main street. Breakfast at 8:30 was delicious but had to go to town for coffee at 7:30. No coffee or breakfast before 8:30.

Room Tip: there are two rooms on the back side of the Inn. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A group of us stayed at the Chandler for a wedding in late June. Highlands is a spectacular area and we could not have been more pleased with the quaint and convenient Chandler Inn. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly and extremely helpful for 1st time visitors to the area. Breakfasts are delicious! Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I found this place on-line while searching for a nice spot where my wife and I could observe our 56th wedding anniversary. Owner Randy up-graded us to a suite close to the parking area to make it more accessible for my wife, a cancer patient. Complete with kitchen, sitting room with remote gas fireplace and TV, king bed with luxurious Sealy Ultra Plush mattress, and well-appointed shower and dressing area--all convenient to downtown restaurants, shops, galleries, and the playhouse, where we got into opening night of "Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story." And the sumptuous breakfasts served by Leta--baked souffles and French toast--were superb. Private entrance to each facility. All of it at a very reasonable rate. Going to Highlands? Make it The Chandler Inn. No regrets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.4 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
8.4 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Main Street Inn Highlands
Main Street Inn Highlands
#6 of 7 in Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandler Inn

Address: 790 North 4th St., P.O. Box 2156, Highlands, NC 28741
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £122 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chandler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Inn has the ambiance and charm of a Bed & Breakfast with all the amenities of a Country Inn. The Chandler Inn is located a pleasant five minute walk from Main Street Highlands. Surrounded by trees and nature, the Inn includes three barn-sided buildings grouped around a brick courtyard. Porches with swings and rocking chairs, hanging baskets and plenty of bird feeders create a rustic and relaxing ambiance. Gourmet Breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chandler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing