We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Wine and Service”

Ristorante Paoletti
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Next Door to Highlands Inn, Across Street from Old Edwards Inn
Description: Celebrating 33-years serving high quality Italian Cuisine in Highlands, North Carolina in 2017. We serve the area's largest selection of fresh coastal Seafood & Local Rainbow Trout. Specialties including Daily made Ravioli, Prime Grass-fed Steaks, Chops and Rack of Lamb and Gluten-Free options throughout the menu, pasta included. -Our daily menu and printed Daily Specials reflect seasonal and locally grown ingredients. Full Dinner Menu available at the Bar, where the single diner always feels welcome. To complement your meal we offer one of the deepest wine cellars in the Southeast. Infused Spirits, Craft Cocktails & Three-dozen Sparkling, Red and White selections are offered by-the-glass, nightly. With the Wine Spectator's 'Best of Award of Excellence' since 1987, we offer a plethora of fabulous selections to suit all tastes and budgets but outside wine is not permitted. We are located next door to Highlands Inn and across the street from the Old Edwards Inn on Main Street in Highlands. Treat yourself and your family to one of Highland's Finest Dining Experiences. Visa, Mastercard, American Express accepted. Dinner Reservations are accepted up to 30-day in advance of your desired dining date. To better serve our Guests, phone reservations are accepted and strongly recommended. Online, fax, email or Opentable reservations are not available.
Stanley, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Wine and Service”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We get to Highlands once a year and Paoletti has become our have to visit eatery. Once again the food was delicious and the service outstanding. I'm always amazed that I seem to get better seafood I the mountains than when I'm at the coast. I had the Mahi special that was a generous portion cooked to perfection and my wife had the fresh house made lobster ravioli which was delicious. The sommelier made the perfect wine recommendation to complement both dishes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank firstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    108
    56
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everything We Wanted”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Paoletti's was recommended to us for dinner and it did not disappoint. The only thing negative is that their web site takes you to Open Table to make reservations and night after night it only showed very early and very late reservations, so we had put it off and gone elsewhere several times. This time we called for reservations and got them - no problem. So not sure what's going on there. The place is lovely. You can have a conversation with others at your table, The ambiance is relaxing. The wine was good, the food also very good, the service was good. Not there too much, never looked for him. A great balance of atmosphere, service and food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur P, Owner at Ristorante Paoletti, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your time to review our restaurant. We would like to address our reservation policy regarding Opentable.com. While we do allow for limited inventory of tables available on Opentable's website, in only having 18-tables to work with, we can better manage those tables through direct contact with the customer. Not only does a phone call allow for a more personalized and friendly form of reservation taking, it actually assists us in minimizing 'no-show's' during our most valuable prime-time seating. Our policy allows for both early and late bookings on Opentable and it has worked our well for quite a number of years. Additionally, when speaking to our most valued customer, we can get a better feel as to how we may please them, for example: a special occasion or anniversary. We are glad to have been able to serve you and your reservation needs by speaking to you and booking your reservation, personally. Once again, we thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again, soon.
-Arthur Paoletti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of Highland's finest restaurants”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I have been dining at Paoletti's for about 15 years, and it always has been one of our favorite restaurants in Highlands. It is indeed pricey, but given the food and the exceptional service, the price seems warranted. The menu offers quite a bit of variety, and there always are several nice specials. Both of us selected the Red Snapper special this year, and in the past, we've especially enjoyed the lobster ravioli. I noted that several people who reviewed Paoletti's mentioned the noise, but I've always felt that everyone there was enjoying the food and having a good time. In addition to the food, we always have been impressed by the staff at Paoletti's since they all seem to be doing everything possible to please the customers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The atmosphere is pleasant and the food was good. My husband really liked his eggplant dish and he normally stays away form restaurant prepared eggplant dishes. So, kudos to Ristorante Paoletti! The dishes are a bit pricey but fits the atmosphere. Just know it going into the restaurant. We enjoyed our dinner and the service was good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food; a tad noisy”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We got a table at 9:00 on a Saturday night. The food and service was good, but the place was a tad noisy for my taste.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur P, Owner at Ristorante Paoletti, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We are currently addressing the noisy issue by installing acoustic tiles designed especially for this issue. This will definitely help dampen the level of background noise and make for an enhanced dining experience in the future, we trust. Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, soon.
-Arthur Paoletti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Paoletti also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ristorante Paoletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing