We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find in the mountains of North Carolina!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Naples, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find in the mountains of North Carolina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This beautiful home in the North Carolina mountains is a must for those who are looking
for lovely rooms with private baths and private outside seating, warm antique furnishings,
and views that are breathtaking. My hosts, Raleigh Hill and Colin Rayner were attentive
and very warm. Raleigh Hill serves an elegant three course breakfast, one of the real
attractions of this lovely Bed and Breakfast. There are two waterfalls on different and
many private seating areas where you can sit and enjoy the quiet elegance of the
home and surroundings. This is a must!

Room Tip: Book the suite, it is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came to HIghlands for a wedding weekend. We decided to stay away from town and found the Highlands House B & B via the internet. Colin and Raleigh are great hosts. They are very accommodating. Lovely antiques, comfortable bedding, breakfast each morning was great. We had a group over for cocktails and they all wanted to know how we found the B & B (and I think that they wished they were there instead of at an overpriced inn in town). Town is 5 minutes away. No problems getting where we needed to go. Be sure to check this B & B out if traveling in to this area.

Room Tip: Need a kitchenette - ask for the Terrance Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McDonald9152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Great location ~ close to downtown. We enjoyed the great hospitality ~ Colin and Raleigh you are the best! Thanks for a wonderful time, great food and "happy hour". Our dog Paddy loved the visit too! Thanks again for making us feel so welcomed!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

What a special place. We had no idea what an experience this would be and what a beautiful treasure hidden on a country lane. My hat's off to Raleigh and Colin for the impeccable design of the home with its' floor to ceiling windows in the dining room, living room and now that I think about it, all the rooms had delightful views of the natural surroundings including two ponds and several outdoor seating areas by which to enjoy all the pleasures of the outdoors.

Did I mention the interior? Well...let me say classy, elegant, interesting and all areas well-appointed with Asian art, bone china, crystal and many one of a kind collectables. Breakfast was out of sight! Lovely presentation and oh so much variety, and it all was delicious.

Raleigh and Colin really went out of their way to make us feel at home. In fact so much so I, tried to clear the table when I was politely reminded I am the guest. Our room had everything. Nothing was overlooked from the cozy living room area with a great fireplace, a four poster bed, a sitting room along with a small kitchen and an enclosed porch...again all with floor to ceiling windows. You have to see this place to believe it.

Raleigh and Colin were absolutely delightful. Just couldn't do enough for us. They were very knowledgable about the area and recommended several good restaurants. (and by the way, no fast food restaurants in sight!) This experience is a must do!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

All that you could ask for in a B & B and more!!! All the rooms are beautifully decorated with a gorgeous view, and each has its own outside seating area and its own bathroom. There are an amazing number of seatings areas both inside and out. I can't wait to go back and try the ones I didn't get to!! The breakfasts were yummy and the hosts were so helpful and knowledgable about the area. The grounds are so beautiful with waterfalls and several ponds just outside the door. The shopping was great, the restaurants were really good and the leaves were magnificent!!! I'll be going back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Highlands House. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful inside and out. There are 2 koi ponds to enjoy and a variety of outdoor seating areas. The owners are so gracious. It is a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eufaula, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

My husband and I have been traveling to Highlands since the 1980's, and our experience at Highlands House was superb. Our hosts, Colin and Raliegh, were so warm and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
All the rooms were nicely appointed and had access to private outside areas. The common rooms were also available to the guests and were tastefully decorated with antiques and beautiful furnishings. The breakfasts were to-die-for, and were served in grand style as we overlooked the property's waterfall. Cocktail time each afternoon enabled us to relax and get to know the other guests as well as our hosts. Needless to say, we look forward to future trips to Highlands House. Thank you, Colin and Raliegh, for making our time in Highlands special!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSpurlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.5 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Property: Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Address: 101 Potter Ln, P.O. Box 2763, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing