We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful at-home feeling in the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful at-home feeling in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Just visited Highlands NC for the first time and found that we had made a remarkable choice for a place to stay. We loved the fireplace suite which was larger than it looked in the pictures. It was wonderful to sit quietly by the fire in the evening and upon waking up this morning! The hosts were gracious and very welcoming. If you are looking for a bustling crowd, go to the Old Edwards Inn. If you are looking for an incredibly priced, very comfortable, secluded location in what would be a very scenic spot in the spring summer or fall, this is the place for you. Great home cooked breakfast too! We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
You were lovely guests, Kevin and Terryn!! So glad to have you stay during the Christmas season!
Hope to see you in Highlands again soon! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Beautiful lodge. Many antiques. Decorated for holidays.Fantastic breakfasts and gracious hosts. My basset hound really enjoyed his stay and wants to return! Close to all attractions in the mountains. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
You and your delightful dog are welcome here anytime, Bill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a lovely time we had last weekend for the perfect Christmas holiday trip to the mountains! Our hosts, Colin & Raleigh, were delightful! Their charming home, elegantly decorated for the holidays, was truly a mini-Biltmore house! We loved our huge master suite with a roaring fireplace and soaking tub, tastefully designed with all the right touches. We still have not stopped telling our friends about the delicious french toast breakfast capped off with a friendly visit from their darling dog,Tallulah. We feel we have made new friends and can't wait to return! JH from Atlanta

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Jan and Ray - we very much enjoyed having you stay with us at Christmas time! Always more fun to have people to share your home at this time of year! Hard to compete with the Biltmore but we do our best! Hope to see you again! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Highlands for The Annual Christmas Parade. We had been to Highlands once before in the warmer weather but never experienced the Christmas season in Highlands. We were thoroughly enchanted by the Christmas decorations at Highlands House!! All the principal rooms are tastefully and thoughtfully decorated with beautiful lights and ornaments! The Christmas Tree is superb and is the focal point of the Living Room where we were treated to a full range of cocktails and hors d'ouevres. Along with the Christmas music and roaring fire, we couldn't have been happier. Raleigh and Colin are excellent hosts and we and the other guests all felt like family! Breakfasts were served on fine china and were delightful!

Room Tip: All the suites are lovely - very comfortable and well-appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craftmantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at The Highlands House in early December. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Raleigh, Colin and Tallulah make you feel as if you have known them for years. A wonderful breakfast is served every morning. Raleigh and Colin are very knowledgeable of the area and can answer any questions and recommend the best restaurants. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and I will certainly return again and again. I have stayed in many B&B's but none of them compared to the beauty and comfort of Highlands House - especially during the Christmas season.

Room Tip: My favorite is the downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatP365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We were so glad that you were able to see Highlands House at Christmas with all the decorations in place, Pat! See you in the spring!! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a charming, lovely home, decorated perfectly for Christmas, as if you were walking through the pages of HouseBeautiful. My wife and I have traveled the world and there is no better place, no better hosts and no better accommodations anywhere. Raleigh and Colin are on my Resume' for getting into Heaven. The ambiance of Highlands House is truly reflected by the grace and class of its owners. There are not many words that can aptly portray the magnificence of this home. If you are reading this, book now. You will not regret it. In fact, you will regret not experiencing the beauty and class of Highlands House and its owners.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurriphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We always love having you stay, Joe and Donna!! Great to get caught up on you and your family each time you visit! So happy you liked the Christmas Decor! Hope to see you again soon! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Bob and I enjoyed this long weekend very much! Highlands is fabulous and Highlands House was by far the BEST B & B experience. It felt like home.......actually much better than home! Colin, Raleigh and Tallulah made it very, very special.....can't wait to return in Spring! It's a beautiful house with the best innkeepers EVER! Each breakfast was fabulous! We enjoyed the guests and we certainly enjoyed Colin and Raleigh....let's not forget Tallulah, she came out usually following the sausage! (Tallulah is very smart dog, by the way!) It was great to reminisce about "Old Miami"....I've never seen so many native Miamians in one place! We thank you for a great time with friends....Hope to see you again, Soon! Jo

Room Tip: We really liked our little Apartment....it would be fabulous in summer or spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We very much enjoyed your company, Bob and Jo!! Never had so many people from Miami in one room at the same time!! Looking forward to your return visit someday! have a wonderful holiday season!! We are busy decorating for Christmas today! Best Wishes!! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.5 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Property: Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Address: 101 Potter Ln, P.O. Box 2763, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing