We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just spent the weekend with my Best Friend up at the Highlands House B&B. This was my first time and she is a reoccurring visitor with them. Now I know why!!!! I had the best time there. The house is beautifully set up with amazing, elegant antiques, nestled up on the side of a mountain with beautiful landscape and outdoor seating for wonderful outdoor breakfast time. They have completely outdone themselves with the cocktail hour and their delicious breakfast. The Owners were just amazing, accommodating and just so very pleasant to be around. I cant wait to go back! Thank you Colin and Raleigh for such a great visit :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Wonderful to have you stay with us, Tricia! Darlene is always a great guest and you were just an extra bonus!! Great to get to know you! So happy you loved our little town of Highlands and that you want to come back! Best Wishes!Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Highlands House Bed & Breakfast. We chose this B & B on the basis of recommendations on web sites. The B & B's reviews were almost all excellent, so we expected to be at wonderful place. BUT it exceeded our expectations by a mile! The owners are so, so friendly and helpful and are willing to spend time talking with their guests, if the guests wish. They became ilke good friends quickly and easily. We had a wonderful time going through the B & B with the owners looking at the amazing amount and variety of antiques in the B & B, learning the history of many of the antiques and got to know a lot about the owner's personal histories too. Fabulous, fabulous decor. The breakfasts were wonderful and the owners made sure that they knew what our likes and dislikes were for breakfast. Our room, the Fireplace Suite, was delightful. Very quiet, decorated so exquisitely like the rest of the B & B, comfortable furniture. The B & B is surrounded by trees with covered patios and open patios for outdoor breakfasts or coffee in warmer weather (we were there in late March 2014 so we didn't use the patios). No noisy neighbors anywhere near to the place. We will be recommending this B & B to all of our family and friends. It is simply outstanding.

Room Tip: Both rooms at he B & B are wonderful. You can't go wrong choosing either of the two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Mike and Anna - you were wonderful guests and we enjoyed visiting with you! Thanks for the terrific photos you took and shared with us!!! Saw the red table was still there at the shop down the road. If you decide to get it, make sure you stop by and say hello! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Whenever I see a Tripadvisor rating of nearly all 5 stars, it makes me raise an eyebrow. I always wonder if they just beg all their guests who seemed to enjoy their stay to rate them, or what the deal is. Well, we decided to try it, and found that the answer is quite simple: this bed and breakfast is a 5-star experience, period. The room was amazing - we stayed in the "fireplace suite," and many other reviews have described it well - but the hosts themselves are really what make a bed and breakfast different from any other nice hotel. And these hosts are truly wonderful. We had great conversation and a great time. If you're looking to get away for a bit in Highlands and you want a more personal touch, I highly recommend Highlands House.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Very much enjoyed having you and Mary stay with us, Jason!Enjoyed your company and the interesting conversations! Let us know when the new baby is born! Hope to see you again at Highlands House!! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Elegant décor, gracious hosts, and superb attention to detail await. Charming ambience, well- appointed bedrooms with private living spaces...we could not have asked for a more delightful retreat in Highlands. We look forward to returning. meg

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to book the Fireplace Suite. A very luxurious and romantic hide-away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for the kind words, Meg! We very much enjoyed having you and Bill stay with us! Fun to learn more about the magazine industry! hope to see you in Highlands again! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sometimes in life you encounter luxury, charm, and graciousness, but usually not at the same time. HIghlands House B&B has all these and a great deal more. The grounds are beautifully laid out and must be gorgeous in bloom. The larger rooms are a decorator's dream and plush comfort awaits you. We stayed for 3 nights in the fireplace room which also has a jacuzzi with a big picture window overlooking the gardens. The overstuffed chairs and hassock next to the fireplace are a great place to read and relax. And you will never find a more comfortable bed. Breakfasts, which always come with an impressive variety of fresh fruits and dellcious french toast, pancakes or eggs are served on fine china and glassware in a very warm and inviting dining room. The hosts, Colin and Raleigh, are extremely cordial, friendly and ready to talk about the town and the surrounding attractions and activities. At 6pm, the cocktail hour awaits and the variety of great drinks that can be had is quite remarkable. If these were your neighbors, you would never go home unhappy! All this, plus a very friendly dog, Talulah, makes this a very special place to stay. I recommend Highland House B&B to anyone who is looking for a few days of indulgence at a very reasonable price. I have been to many B&Bs and this ranks right at the top.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Very much enjoyed having you stay with us, Ed and Nancy! Always great to hear stories from the Chicago area! Thanks for posting your beautiful pictures of Highlands House on Tripadvisor!
Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were traveling to Georgia for Christmas with the kids and grand kids and wanted a quiet evening for us. This was the perfect place. Our hosts Raleigh and Colin were helpful and gracious. We shared a glass of wine around 6, which I think is a tradition with them, and a pleasant way to learn more of them and their adventures.
We had the suite with the lounge and fireplace which was very welcome on an evening when the temperature was about 17 degrees. We ventured out to eat and came back to open our gifts by the fire. Everything was impeccable and also very peaceful as they are about 2 miles out of town. Great views of tress and peace.
A wonderful breakfast rounded off a terrific stay. Full marks to them for a great B&B in a nice little town. We will be back

Room Tip: Only two to choose from. Ours had the additional bedroom and while it was not needed it added space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Lovely to spend time with you both on Christmas Eve! Hope to see you again, Andy and Candida!
Thanks for your kind words!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just visited Highlands NC for the first time and found that we had made a remarkable choice for a place to stay. We loved the fireplace suite which was larger than it looked in the pictures. It was wonderful to sit quietly by the fire in the evening and upon waking up this morning! The hosts were gracious and very welcoming. If you are looking for a bustling crowd, go to the Old Edwards Inn. If you are looking for an incredibly priced, very comfortable, secluded location in what would be a very scenic spot in the spring summer or fall, this is the place for you. Great home cooked breakfast too! We will definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

You were lovely guests, Kevin and Terryn!! So glad to have you stay during the Christmas season!
Hope to see you in Highlands again soon! Raleigh and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highlands hotels
1.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#6 of 7 in Highlands
101 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
470 reviews
1.5 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Address: 101 Potter Ln, P.O. Box 2763, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £112 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing