We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highlands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
“Top Notch B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wonderful trip and excellent accomodations at Highlands House. Colin and Raleigh were great Host and prepared a most delicious breakfast! They made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable! Great get a way in a very beautiful area! Would defiantly go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent last weekend at this B&B, instead of a hotel, and were most pleasantly surprised. From the babbling brook to the beautifully decorated house, the place was magnificent. We had excellent breakfasts and relaxing evening drinks. What a pleasant change in our travel experience. When you go take time to sit in the living room to enjoy a most spectacular seascape painting, certainly on a par with any by Turner. A very well done to our hosts, Colin and Raliegh. Oh yes, bring a biscuit for Talluah

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
You were great guests, Brian and Peggy! Thanks for your kind words! "Erin Go Bragh!!!"
Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Colin and Raleigh are warm, friendly and wonderful hosts of this Beautiful B&B. Breakfast was fresh and delicious with endless cups of coffee and lively conversation. Beautifully decorated with many fine antiques and paintings. We are looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLDMCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
What a treat to see you again, Harry and Mary after so many years! During our conversations about the "good old days", I thought of people I hadn't thought about for years! We very much enjoyed having you stay and we hope you will travel again from Blairsville to enjoy Highlands again!
Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just a wonderful experience, beginning with Colin's warm and engaging phone manner when we made the reservations... to our beautifully furnished Terrace Suite ... to the lovely patios and gardens outside ... to the stimulating conversations over hand-crafted cocktails and delicious gourmet breakfasts we enjoyed both days. Our absolute highlight: Raleigh's fascinating story of the magnificent painting over the fireplace-- we'll never forget it! We've stayed in dozens of B & B /small inns over the years, from Maine to California to Europe, and we both agreed: our weekend at Highlands House was the best, most relaxing---and most satisfying--experience ever. Will definitely be back! Bravo!

Room Tip: Terrace Suite was perfect for our 7 year old shih Tzu -- plus no extra pet fee or room deposit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Great to have you stay with us, Don and Terry and Sachi!! Glad to see that you enjoyed the story about the ship's painting!! We'll have to come up with another interesting story for your return visit!
Hope its soon! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just spent the weekend with my Best Friend up at the Highlands House B&B. This was my first time and she is a reoccurring visitor with them. Now I know why!!!! I had the best time there. The house is beautifully set up with amazing, elegant antiques, nestled up on the side of a mountain with beautiful landscape and outdoor seating for wonderful outdoor breakfast time. They have completely outdone themselves with the cocktail hour and their delicious breakfast. The Owners were just amazing, accommodating and just so very pleasant to be around. I cant wait to go back! Thank you Colin and Raleigh for such a great visit :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleighe, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Wonderful to have you stay with us, Tricia! Darlene is always a great guest and you were just an extra bonus!! Great to get to know you! So happy you loved our little town of Highlands and that you want to come back! Best Wishes!Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Highlands House Bed & Breakfast. We chose this B & B on the basis of recommendations on web sites. The B & B's reviews were almost all excellent, so we expected to be at wonderful place. BUT it exceeded our expectations by a mile! The owners are so, so friendly and helpful and are willing to spend time talking with their guests, if the guests wish. They became ilke good friends quickly and easily. We had a wonderful time going through the B & B with the owners looking at the amazing amount and variety of antiques in the B & B, learning the history of many of the antiques and got to know a lot about the owner's personal histories too. Fabulous, fabulous decor. The breakfasts were wonderful and the owners made sure that they knew what our likes and dislikes were for breakfast. Our room, the Fireplace Suite, was delightful. Very quiet, decorated so exquisitely like the rest of the B & B, comfortable furniture. The B & B is surrounded by trees with covered patios and open patios for outdoor breakfasts or coffee in warmer weather (we were there in late March 2014 so we didn't use the patios). No noisy neighbors anywhere near to the place. We will be recommending this B & B to all of our family and friends. It is simply outstanding.

Room Tip: Both rooms at he B & B are wonderful. You can't go wrong choosing either of the two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Mike and Anna - you were wonderful guests and we enjoyed visiting with you! Thanks for the terrific photos you took and shared with us!!! Saw the red table was still there at the shop down the road. If you decide to get it, make sure you stop by and say hello! Raleigh and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Whenever I see a Tripadvisor rating of nearly all 5 stars, it makes me raise an eyebrow. I always wonder if they just beg all their guests who seemed to enjoy their stay to rate them, or what the deal is. Well, we decided to try it, and found that the answer is quite simple: this bed and breakfast is a 5-star experience, period. The room was amazing - we stayed in the "fireplace suite," and many other reviews have described it well - but the hosts themselves are really what make a bed and breakfast different from any other nice hotel. And these hosts are truly wonderful. We had great conversation and a great time. If you're looking to get away for a bit in Highlands and you want a more personal touch, I highly recommend Highlands House.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliotallan, Owner at Highlands House Bed &Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Very much enjoyed having you and Mary stay with us, Jason!Enjoyed your company and the interesting conversations! Let us know when the new baby is born! Hope to see you again at Highlands House!! Raleigh and Colin and Tallulah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
1.5 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#3 of 7 in Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands House Bed &Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands House Bed &Breakfast

Property: Highlands House Bed &Breakfast
Address: 101 Potter Ln, P.O. Box 2763, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular B&B just 1.5 miles from Main Street in Highlands NC. We offer 2 romantic, comfortable suites. A full breakfast is served daily from 8-10 a.m. Complimentary cocktails are offered daily at 6 p.m. We are a pet-friendly B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing