We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I have had in a while. Seafood bursting with flavor!!”
Review of Cyprus

Cyprus
Reserve with OpenTable
Cyprus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Award Winning Chef Nicholas Figel introduces destination quality International Cuisine to Highlands, NC. In the Cyprus open kitchen, we take our inspiration from peasant foods and traditional cuisines from around the world. We hand harvest our vegetables and shop the ethnic markets to deliver authentic and traditional International flavors. We feature a unique regional menu, written and executed each day in the Cyprus kitchen, always by hand, and always using time honored, traditional cooking methods. The dining room is relaxing, inclusive, and a great place to enjoy great food and good times with friends. Cyprus International Cuisine, The most exciting dining destination in Highlands
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal I have had in a while. Seafood bursting with flavor!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I had the L'Americaine which is a Fish of the Day (char), Shrimp, and Mussels Basting in a Spiced Cream Sauce, Flambéed with Cognac similar to a bouillabaisse, but spiced much differently. This is one of those dishes you will never forget. I will probably dream about, not to mention crave it. The name is misleading as the spices are more African and Indian. Truly a fabulous dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    127
    49
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Same old problems”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unfortunately the new location of Cyprus has bussers pacing and hovering until you may be done so they can snatch your plate while you are still chewing. Our appetizer Holy Basil Fried Calamari didn't have one speck of basil. When we told Tanya, our server she ha-rumphed and scurried away, presumably to grab another diner's plate.

Too bad. We have patronized Cyprus for close to ten years. We give two green dots for Chef Figel's eclectic menu. The three zeros go to the dining room management.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank victoria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“What an Experience!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a celebratory night out with friends last night and experienced Cyprus at the new location for the first time. WOW! The service was great, the food and presentation unbelievable, and we got to watch our chef Robert cook our meals (and thanked him later, it was amazing!!) Watching the whole process was very enthralling. We will definitely return for the next celebration!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands ,NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beyond inspirational and imaginative !”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Wow ….what a night ! Started with mint ,basil vodka martinis …..then on to Nick ,the executives chooses .Fried eggplant ,raw oysters ,wonderful organic local greens and edible flowers ..this was just for appetizers !
Then on to entrees of spicy shrimp with homemade pasta, filets ,pork belly with donuts .
You must try their homemade mint ,lavender and chocolate chip ice cream to die for !!!!
The staff is friendly ,fun ,helpful and warm .
We got the pleasure of sitting at the chef's table in the kitchen ,so the sous chef ,Robert gave us special attention as well.
It was an evening I will never forget !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennywave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great new location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great new open air dining space. Nick was in the kitchen and the food was outstanding (red snapper looked really good but I had the cabrito, yummy Lots of new servers in the new space but they did well considering the crush.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cyprus also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing