We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlands Inn Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I visited the Highlands for a wedding, and when we booked our room, we were unfamiliar with any of the lodging options. I wish I had done more research. The only good thing about our choice was its location, right down the road from the Highlands Country Club.
This hotel is very run down and needs a good renovation. The room was fairly clean, but I walked around with shoes. There were cobwebs on the walls and stains on the sheets. The breakfast was less than stellar, and it made me wonder how long things had been around in the kitchen. Needless to say, if we return the Highlands, we will not be staying here. It is not worth the $100+ we spent a night, very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
30
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We are back in highlands once again and the highlands lodge is once again awesome! They are currently renovating and what they have done do far is fantastic ! We travel with our dog so they are pet friendly as well! They have replaced the carpets with hardwood so that is nice when traveling with a pet! New furniture and flat screen TV's, not that u are going to sit around watching tv but they are nice! The staff is always friendly and very accommodating! If you are looking for a quiet, very clean hotel that is walking distance to down town this is the place for you!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Scarlett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I happened to be in Highlands in need of a hotel and stumbled on the Lodge. It is practically downtown and so convenient! I checked in late at night and they made me feel very welcome.

My room was spacious, clean, quiet and I loved having outdoor access to my car from the first floor. I slept very well!

In the morning the staff was helpful with directions and seemed to be genuinely happy for my visit.

I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Loved he first floor for direct access to my car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We recently visited highlands for the annual Christmas parade! We had reservations at another hotel but they called and cancelled on us! We found the highlands inn lodge and they were very nice from the beginning! We were able to bring our little girl and her puppy up for the parade ! This hotel is pet friendly, clean and offers a nice breakfast! They even had a "doggy" bag full of treats waiting for us. The staff is very nice and will help in any way possible! We were even able to get a fridge placed in our room for our child's milk and stuff! We will defiantly be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in the Highlands, located just at the edge of town it is QUIET! Walking distance to main street, but if you prefer to drive there is plenty of parking. We had a suite with two rooms. Bed was comfy and room was clean for the most part. The tub was old and stained but huge! The staff is quite friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical of a Hampton Inn, which the TV set says it is, yet the staff say it is not. They had a little issue with some leaky ceiling in the lobby which we pointed out to the night staff. The area rugs were a trip hazard in my opinion and they taped them down, which looked rather tacky, but it is better than someone tripping and hurting themselves. The place just needs a really good facelift, and I think it could really be beautiful, but it would cost major $$$.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room with a balcony and a gas fireplace. The hotel had been a Hampton Inn and is now privately owned by folks who also run a historic inn downtown. Everything was as advertised. Breakfast was fine and warm cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigergirluscmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The good: The staff was incredibly helpful. They allowed us to upgrade from a single room to a suite for one-half of the price thereby saving us $100.00 over 3 nights. The bed was extremely comfortable--one of the most comfortable that I've had in any hotel. The jacuzzi bathtub/shower was a nice touch. Also, the nightly baked cookies were a source of delight for my daughter who made sure that she got a cookie EVERY night.

The bad: We had a gas fireplace and after the first night it was constantly not working properly. Maintenance came and examined it and said that it needed a $250.00 part and that it would take several days before it would be fixed because 2 other units had failed and they had no more of the $250.00 parts onsite. The TV sets were simply not acceptable for a hotel of this caliber. I expect flat screen/HD TVs in destination hotels that cost at least $150.00 per night. Not acceptable.

The ugly: Nothing too bad. But the decor, TV and other "artifacts" conspired to really bring the experience down to what one would expect at a hotel near an interstate. Little effort was spent trying to make the rooms feel well-appointed.

I would give his place 3.5 stars if possible. I understand it's expensive because it's in an expensive vacation resort type of town. But it needs work. Without the friendly staff the place could have been surfing in 2 to 3 start territory.

Room Tip: I'd get a room facing away from the park lot to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrosenfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.1 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.2 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn Lodge

Property: Highlands Inn Lodge
Address: 96 Log Cabin Ln, Highway 106 and Spring Street, Highlands, NC 28741 (Formerly Hampton Inn Highlands)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highlands Inn Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Highlands Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands
Hampton Inn Highlands
Highlands Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing