We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas With Our Babies”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Christmas With Our Babies”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We really enjoyed our first Christmas with our twin boys tucked away at Fire Mountain. We stayed in one of the larger cabins and found it to be cozy, very clean and well stocked and furnished. We came for quiet and fresh mountain air and got tons of both. The location is very secluded at the end of a dirt track road with exceptional views and quiet. Yet you can be in downtown Highlands about 9 miles away in a short time for some excellent restaurants and shopping. Matthew and Hiram are very helpful hosts but not "in your face" which again suits the experience they offer. We enjoyed hanging out in our cabin with no TV and patchy telephone service sitting by a roaring fire and look forward to visiting again to experience the summer weather. One small suggestion is to provide more than one fire starter log. All in all a wonderful peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: We were happy to have selected the larger two bedroom cabin as we had a lot of "baby stuff"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    17
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
341
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Fire Mountain Inn was a recommendation. It was heavenly! The anticipation driving there was so exciting!! The mountains, the trees, the winding roads, and finally the private entrance leading to the Fire Mountain Inn. We were greeted by the owners of the Inn, Hiram and Mathew.
They are very professional, helpful, great hosts and so much fun! Hiram and Mathew have great taste and together have done a great job decorating each cottage. The place is very clean and comfortable, and well stocked with all the conveniences. Tucked away in the middle of nowhere, you wake up and voila, the majestic mountains appear in front of you. We enjoyed bunches being there and have to say we were very sad to leave. We highly recommend staying at the Fire Mountain Inn. It will be memorable, peaceful, fun and wholesome!!

Room Tip: Cabins are so much fun and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafik s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I visited during Christmas Holiday. I was a little bit worried to travel to the mountain by myself. But everything is exceeding my expectation, the cozy, lovely cabin, the warm welcoming, the detail guide provided by Hiram, Mathew and the guide book in the room!!!
It is convenient to connect to Highland downtown but you got this breathtaking mountain view with real peace and the time to yourself. The sunset of North Georgia Mountain is breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We visited in October and our experience far exceeded our expectations. The property is beautiful and diverse with breathtaking views. The food was exceptional and an unexpected highlight of the weekend. Hiram and Matthew were incredibly gracious and accomodating. We arrived to a wine and cheese plate, our room in the Inn was lovely and we had fun walking the property, feeding apples to the horses and just relaxing. Hiram is wonderful at giving recommendations both for restaurants and for places to see. Many, many return guests were taking advantage of his insight. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I visited at the end of September 2013. I was only able to stay for two nights and did not want to leave on the third day. Fire Mountain is the most amazing place I have ever stayed. The accomodations, food and personnel far exceeded my expectations. If you want to get away from the rat race going on in your life.....this is the place to be. NO TV's, Radios, Computers and etc. to distract you from enjoying the beautiful scenery and calm surroundings. No interruptions to have to deal with...it is just YOU getting to do what you want to do....when you want to do it. There are lots of sightseeing, hiking, shopping and a variety of things to do. Or even better do NOTHING! I am looking forward to return in the Spring 2014, for another amazing time away in those beautiful NC Mountains.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that you will be able to see the sunrise in the morning and the sunset at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed at Fire Mountain Inn five times now. Experiencing it in a variety of ways as a family and as a romantic getaway. There truly is nothing comparable to this place anywhere on the east coast. It is an absolutely breathtaking experience. It is very different from the typical Hotel or Bed and Breakfast you will find along the east coast. This truly is for those looking for bonding, companionship, or peace and quiet. It really helps bring you back to what life is truly about. It pushes you to step away from the technological trance we have all fallen into within the past couple of years and really appreciate what a vacation really is. Being separated from technology is refreshing. Every time I stay at Fire Mountain Inn, it reminds me of what is important in life: family, friends and this beautiful world. I will be visiting Fire Mountain Inn on a frequent basis for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My trip to fire mountain was incredible. The way they have it set up is very private and and you have so much beautiful scenery. The cabin we stayed in was called the chickadee cabin and it was so romantic with no outside distractions such as internet or television. It really gives you time to spend time together and with a hot tub in the room there was not a moment of boredom. It was raining on our trip and we still walked around the beautiful land of fire mountain. Hiram and Mathew were amazing and so accommodating.It was my birthday and they had a beautiful card and chocolate covered cherries waiting on the table when we arrived. it really made it special. The town of the highlands is a 10 minute drive and any hiking is about the same. It was an amazing experience and i cannot wait to visit again hopefully very soon!

Room Tip: Chickadee cabin is very romantic and has a hot tub in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitney e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.1 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Property: Fire Mountain Inn
Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing