We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay at Fire Mountain”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My new bride & I just completed a lovely stay with Mathew and Hiram at Fire Mountain. We were in one of the cabins, and the quiet, privacy and beauty of the surroundings was exactly as we had hoped. We especially enjoyed the hot, freshly prepared breakfast delivered to our cabin each morning ... Absolutely delicious and a wonderful way to start the day.

This is not a place for those who need to be entertained, but if you're looking for an idyllic setting and simple, but comfortable accommodations, this is the place.

We had a wonderful time and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tranquility, cool mountain air, and gorgeous mountain views await you at Fire Mountain Inn. Upon
arrival the owners Hiram and Mathew acquaint their guests with the Inn, the surrounding property,
the numerous activities, the restaurants and the shopping available in the surrounding areas of
Cashiers and Highlands. The hospitality of Hiram and Mathew and the staff ; along with the
superb breakfasts, makes a trip to Fire Mountain a fun and unique get a way.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you're looking for a place to take a deep breath and appreciate nature, Fire Mountain is the ideal place for you. My fiance and I enjoyed the peacefulness of the property and both felt rejuvenated after our stay. Mathew and Hiram are such kind, thoughtful and fun owners. They made us feel genuinely at home. Their staff was equally great and the breakfasts were a delicious start to our days. We will be back for sure to visit our new friends at this healing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristaDietrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fire Mountain is a MUST for anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing get away. The view is unbeatable! There are many options for you to choose from as far as rooms or cabins. The breakfast is all fresh made from their garden and is different daily- five stars! Hiram and Matthew go over and above to make sure all their guests are comfortable and have everything they need! I can't wait to go back! Perfect way to unplug and enjoy God's creation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful mountain escape with spectacular views, then Fire Mountain is the place for you. We stayed 2 nights in June in the Satohla room. It is about a 20 minute drive outside of Highlands due to winding mountain roads. But the drive was scenic and was not an inconvenience for us. Highlands is a neat town, but we wanted to stay somewhere with mountain views and a relaxing atmosphere. We also stayed at Old Edwards Inn (which was very nice) for a night during this trip, but we preferred the solitude and beauty of Fire Mountain. We checked-in at 1 p.m. with Matthew who was very informative and attentive to any specials needs or requests we had, restaurant reservations, and activities we were interested in. We appreciated the earlier check-in time, as opposed to 4 p.m. check-in time at most places. This gave us time to enjoy the mountain that afternoon we arrived. The Satohla room was excellent. It was very clean and spacious with a comfy bed and a fireplace (which we used both nights even in June). There were multiple sitting areas to enjoy inside and out, and it had 2 porches---1 on sunrise side and 1 on sunset side (I think this was the only room with both sides). The porch had great chairs for lounging and even had a hammock for naps. The views from the sunset porch were spectacular. For our 2 night stay we spent hours there just reading and enjoying the views. For dinners each night we drove into town and had great meals, but hurried back to to enjoy the sunset views from our room. Breakfasts at Fire Mountain were wonderful....fresh fruits and juices and jams, tasty pastries, granola, meats, eggs, biscuits....everything gourmet and plenty to fill you up. For lunch we bought sandwiches in town the day before (lunches can be arranged there with advance notice) and had a picnic on the mountain near the grassy area in the middle of all the cabins. This was a beautiful area for sitting and relaxing during the day, and it had wonderful mountain views. There was a bonfire at this spot on Saturday night and we enjoyed an excellent sunset view. Check-out was at noon, but we were encouraged to hang around longer if we liked. In conclusion, the name Fire Mountain does not do it justice! ("Serenity Mountain" is more fitting) The peacefulness and solitude of this place are perfect for anyone looking to escape from the busyness of life. There were many times when we felt like we were the only ones on the mountain. Don't come here if you are looking for lots of activities or want to watch TV (no TVs). But the views outside are much better than TV....grab a book and a drink, then sit and enjoy. Fire Mountain is an awesome mountain-top Inn for couples looking to get away!

Room Tip: Satohla was great---2 porches (sunrise&sunset), king bed, spacious, fireplace, excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rivership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love spending time in the mountains and this was our first trip to Highlands. Matthew and Hiram could not be better hosts. They know absolutely all you need to know about the area, are resourceful (maps and pamphlets at the ready) and were incredibly helpful towards planning day trips for us. They're incredibly animal friendly, too! We plan to come back. Fire Mountain Inn is the perfect, peaceful mountain getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParkLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Mathew and Hiram are great hosts. Great views. Breakfast is special. Asparagus freshly picked on site was a highlight. Sunset was spectacular. Several hiking trails on the property. Quiet and remote but just the right distance to Highland NC for shopping and restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
228 reviews
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
8.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £135 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing