We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Off the Grid”
Review of Fire Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fire Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Off the Grid”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My spouse and I recently stayed at the Inn, and our experience was extraordinary in every aspect. The secluded mountaintop setting provided a relaxing and beautiful backdrop. Our accommodations were very nice, the breakfasts were outstanding, and the service was top notch. Owners Hiram & Mathew could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Their attention to detail is evident in every aspect of our stay, from the design of the rooms and interactions with staff to their suggestions and directions for nearby restaurants and hiking in the area. We needed a few days to unwind and recharge, and Fire Mountain delivered just what we needed.

Room Tip: Not a bad choice in the Inn, although our second-floor room had an especially great view of sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    17
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
341
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I took a quick weekend honeymoon to Fire Mountain. Even though the tree house experience wasn't what we expected, our stay was awesome! The owners and staff were very accommodating! Because my husband gets overly hot, especially at night when he sleeps, they moved us to well ventilated cabin and provided us with extra fans to circulate the air. The views and resort were beautiful and private! Also, I cannot iterate enough how safe the area is. Plus the breakfast they provided with our stay was delicious! We were very pleased with our stay and will return!!! Thank you so much for an enjoyable honeymoon Fire Mountain!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I came for a four night stay (8/17-8/21). It was such a beautiful retreat for us. The weather was amazing (a good 15-20 degrees cooler than Raleigh/Durham area). We were able to keep our windows open the whole time. The long-range mountain views are tremendous from the Fire Mountain Inn. We stayed in the Cloud Climber room of the main inn and we had tremendous mountain views right from our bed pillow and from the sizable porch. We looked out to the south and west so could enjoy the nice sunsets. I enjoyed the hammock for reading. It was definitely the perfect place to unwind.

The property was very nice. We walked around and saw many rabbits at dusk..along with a deer one night. The birding is good too. There are two sets of two adirondack chairs on the property which were enjoyable. Also, there were several indoor and outdoor common areas at the Inn that were very nice. While the room was a little small (just right), there were plenty of other areas to hang out and a spacious porch with seats and hammock.

The inn is very close to great hiking and scenery. It is about 20 minutes to Highlands which wasn't bad. We very much enjoyed eating at Bella's which is very close to the inn. They serve a great lunch. Glen Falls was a very beautiful hike as was Whiteside Mountain.

Matthew and Hiram were such great hosts. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and have great recommendations for dining, hiking, sightseeing, etc. The breakfasts were yummy with another awesome view out the dining room windows while we were eating.

We will definitely be back. It's perfect for those that want to get away the hustle and bustle. It is a slow, peaceful pace there which was ideal for us.

Room Tip: I like the rooms that face in the sunset direction (those are the best long-range mountain views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhayes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This property is just as wonderful as all prior reviews indicate. The owners of the property take loving care of this inn, and extend themselves to ensure your stay is perfect. We stayed in Red Thunder room in Inn, and the view was amazing. Breakfasts are freshly prepared, and superb. The Inn is around 15-20 minutes outside of Highlands, so you need to be aware of that, but well worth the extra driving for the privacy and beauty. So many hikes and waterfalls are in close proximity. The absence of electronic stimulation, droning air compressors, and traffic noise is absolutely refreshing. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJ972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I enjoy nature and this area was one that we had not explored. The Inn turned out to be the perfect place. The staff are welcoming and professional and provided us with information and recommendations of places to visit and restaurants. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the environment very relaxing. We had the Star Maiden room which was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean, and the right size for us as we were out visiting other spots during the day. We enjoyed walking around the grounds, listening to the birds, observing rabbits who were more concerned about our plans, and even saw some deer. It turned out to be the relaxing vacation that we had been needing. I highly recommend it for couples of all ages. There is plenty of space for children to run around and not disturb others.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private sitting areas but the Inn has many spots to sit and enjoy yourselves. Those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturally4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited the Inn for an anniversary getaway. The room was immaculate and recently renovated. The staff was amazing and very attentive. We were given lots of information about the area along with great ideas about where to go and what to see. All in all it was an amazing experience. But, I think the best was the incredible breakfast prepared with love each morning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After coming to this area for 30 years, how have we missed this perfect spot? Just minutes from the dining and shopping in Highlands, you feel like you're in the tranquility and beauty of your own private mountain... because you are! We stayed in the inn (Cloud Climber room) and could not have had a better view of the sun setting over the mountains. Our hosts were really wonderful - went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect in every way from the wonderful breakfasts, restaurant recommendations, suggested drives and hikes. We're thinking of coming for a winter stay in a cabin with a fireplace! I can't imagine us staying anywhere else in future years...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
8.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
8.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
7.8 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
8.1 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fire Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Inn

Property: Fire Mountain Inn
Address: 700 Happy Hill Rd, Highlands, NC 28741-8527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain is a boutique resort/bed and breakfast providing secluded luxury for couples to unplug, decompress, reconnect and revitalize. Minimum Two-Night Stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Fire Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing