We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Half-Mile Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Half-Mile Farm
Ranked #4 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from our 25th wedding anniversary trip. We chose The Inn at Half-Mile Farm because of their informative website. It was very helpful to see what the rooms looked like before booking our vacation and when we arrived we were not disappointed.

We found our room (14-High Falls) had a gas fireplace, a roomy bathroom with a large glass shower and a tub for two with jets and a private balcony. We enjoyed walking around the grounds; the gardens were beautiful! We especially enjoyed visiting with the other guests while having delicious wine and hors d'oeurves each evening before heading to dinner.

Though the family running the inn had company of their own at home that week, they seemed to serve us well during our stay. They did their best to make dinner reservations for us upon our request. The maid service was excellent. I do agree with one review regarding the condition of the Kayaks. We notice that they were weather worn and kind of dirty. The small pool was in great shape though.

Last, but not least, the breakfasts at this inn were fabulous! I loved them all, but my favorite was the walnut pancakes we had the first morning. We skipped lunch and feasted again at dinner each day we were there. We'll definitely be back to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Julie,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! I'm glad that our website was so helpful as you were booking your trip. It's even better to hear that we exceeded your expectations! I'm thrilled to hear that you were able to join us for breakfast. Those walnut pancakes are one of our favorites, too! It sounds like you had a very romantic getaway. Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you both again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    12
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
130
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was a terrific Inn; lots of privacy but with the feel of a small B&B. Great setting with lots of room but only a couple of minutes from town with all of its fine dining. Breakfasts were marvelous and varied. Evening hors d'ouvres w/ wine every day at 5:30 was a great way to meet other guests and learn about activities and restaurants in the area. Complementary snacks, cookies and water/soft drinks were always available. Our room was spacious, as was the bathroom and the wraparound porch. The service was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
David,

I'm glad you had a fabulous stay -- and, Happy Anniversary! Our breakfasts are amazing and I'm thrilled that you could join us for our cocktail hour in the evening. It's the perfect way to start and end your day! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL,GA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

If you're looking for a spot close to Highlands, NC & in the middle of nature this is the perfect place! Great, warm staff --and evening wine & apps as well as breakfast were great!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
You hit the nail on the head! Drinking beautiful wine and eating delicious food in good company are the best things in life. We're proud that we could make you feel so comfortable here in Highlands. Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a terrific place- we stayed for three nights in early May. The room in the main lodge (dry Falls Room) was large and comfortable with a great view of the front lawn and the pond. My wife struggles with lots of food allergies and the staff went way over the top in providing great food she could enjoy. The weather didn't cooperate but the inn and staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: A coice of cabins, lodge rooms or rooms in the main house. The rooms in the house are most expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascantland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Highlands really is the perfect place to relax. I'm so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, despite the weather! It's our pleasure to help you make the most of your vacation. We're happy to accommodate any dietary needs! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We arrived late to find our key waiting for us- our room was warm, pristine, and stocked with everything we could want, right down to delicious mints on the pillows! We enjoyed the romantic fireplace and woke up just in time for a delicious breakfast. We spent the day exploring the charming town of Highlands and came back just in time for hors devors and cocktails. The selection of appetizers was great- inventive recipes, perfectly chilled wine, and a toasty fire to enjoy it all in front of- I almost couldn't bear to save room for dinner! We stayed two nights but wish we could have stayed longer- this place is FANTASTIC! The staff is helpful and attentive, the wide variety of rooms guarantees there's one to make even the pickiest of resort stayers happy, the food is out of this world, and the location is just breathtaking. We highly recommend the Inn for any occasion!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Loren,

Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I'm so glad that you spent your special day with us, and that we made you feel so comfortable. Highlands is the perfect place for a romantic getaway, and the views are spectacular! I'll pass your compliments to the kitchen as well. They always like to hear from a happy guest! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Kate Messer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ga.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Spent three nights here. It was excellent. Will return. Attention to detail may the best I have seen. Jetted tub, gas fireplace all worked perfectly. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff never missed turn down or room cleaning and did so unobtrusively. Grounds very nice. Wife and I hiked their little local trail and found it charming and a perfect way to lighten post breakfast.

I saw one negative review on TA (otherwise it would be ta top of list) and noted that it was about extending reservations. Don't think that is fair. The Inn was beautiful and comfortable. Some people are just too emotional about little things. We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMarietta_Ga_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. It's so gratifying to hear that we could help make your stay with us relaxing. Highlands is truly charming and a perfect place for quiet indulgence. Glad you and your wife used our hiking trail — it really is a great way to work off a little bit of that big breakfast! Thanks again for the review. We'll see you soon!

Warm regards,
Kate Messer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We have been sneaking away to this place for our anniversary for several years, and just returned from another wonderful long weekend. The setting is peaceful and pristine, from the lake to the front porch to the living area with fire always going. The staff is warm and attentive. The rooms are lovely and cozy with just enough luxury. The food at breakfast is to die for, and the evening wine and munches could suffice for a light dinner. In short, it's perfection. We can't wait to return next year, and are wondering what excuse we can come up with to go in the spring! Just go, you won't regret it, and you'll fall in love just like we did!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseladyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Owner at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thanks so much for the review! "Perfection" is the ultimate compliment and what we strive for. It's been my pleasure to make you feel so comfortable and taken care of throughout the years. I'll share this with Jason & Kim, our amazing chefs, as well — they'll definitely appreciate your praise!Thanks again, and we'll see you soon.

Warm regards,
Kate Messer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half-Mile Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half-Mile Farm

Property: Half-Mile Farm
Address: 214 Half Mile Dr, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Half-Mile Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxury country inn surrounded by natural landscapes and mountain vistas on the outskirts of downtown Highlands, NC. An expanse of green lawn with vegetable gardens and view of glistening Apple Lake welcome you, while the rambling farmhouse, additional guest quarters and garden house grace the top of the hill. A complimentary chef-made breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres come daily with every stay. Feel at home in beautiful guestrooms and cabins with rustic-luxe decor, fireplaces and balconies with tranquil views of the courtyard, lake and forest. Take a dib in the hillside heated mineral pool and whirlpool, trek the wooded trail, bicycle on a country road, canoe or paddle board the lake, and take a picnic basket to your own corner of the property. Half-Mile Farm is a peaceful getaway by Old Edwards Hospitality Group where guests age 18 and older can relax and recharge in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Half-Mile Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Half Mile Farm Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing