We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B that's charming, warm, and rustic in the classiest way!”
Review of Half-Mile Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Half-Mile Farm
Ranked #3 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in the Captain's log cabin to the side of the Inn. A reconstructed 1900 century house with wood burning fireplace in the living room and gas fireplace in the bedroom upstairs. There were cozy furnishings throughout which were complimented with contemporary utilities including a jetted cowboy tub. There were wines and hors deurves served fireside at the inn for happy hour, and enormous and delicious breakfasts services in the adjacent dining room in the mornings. If you're ever looking for a truly special place to celebrate an occasion, this is it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Your review is music to my ears, Jennifer! It's great to hear you enjoyed staying in the Captain's House so much. We hope to have you back for another getaway soon!

Safe travels,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our daughter got married at Inn at Half-Mile Farm on the 21st of September and it was an absolutely perfect event and venue! My daughter and I first saw the Inn in March and immediately fell in love with the scenery, views, Kate and her wonderful staff! Kate asked us how we wanted the weekend to progress since the rehearsal and dinner and wedding/reception were both taking place at the Inn at Half-Mile Farm. Bride, Groom, MOB and FOB and Kate went through the events step by step. Kate promised us it would be as we wished and she did not let us down one bit. Kate, Wendy, Jason, Vivian, Carol and the rest of the staff could not have been more accommodating. (And Jason's breakfasts were amazing!).

Sunday morning, none of our guest wanted to leave because the Inn at Half-Mile Farm is so beautiful and relaxing. I highly recommend coming and enjoying the peace and quiet for a weekend, day or having an special event there!!

And did I mention that it poured down rain all day on the wedding day? And it didn't matter because Kate's plan "B" was probably more intimate of a wedding than originally planned!

Thank you to all at Half-Mile Inn for memorable Wedding Weekend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for recommending us here and on Yelp, Jamie! We understand how important customer reviews are in this industry, so we appreciate you taking the time to spread the word about us. Please do come back for another visit soon! You're part of the inn family now!!!

Take care,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Inn at Half Mile Farm - what an unbelievably beautiful place with a staff that made you feel as if you were a favored returning guest. Cary and Alex's wedding was picture perfect (the rain plan worked!) and so well done, it appeared to be effortless. The shrimp and grits were amazing as was the whole meal. I might even drive NC #28 again just to visit the Inn and that's saying a lot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We'd certainly love to have you back, Harriet! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your trip to our inn for Alex and Cary's wedding. We had a great time hosting everyone, so I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself just as much as we did!

Thanks again,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

OUTSTANDING ALL AROUND! Where do I start? My wife and I had our wedding here this past weekend (09/21/13). WE HAD ONE OF THE BEST EXPERIENCES OF OUR LIVES! Not just because it was our wedding but because of all of the small details that we didn't think of...The Inn at Half Mile Farm DOES think of those small details for you! From all of the staff that we interacted with (Kate, Wendy, Vivian, Carol, Jason) to the staff that we didn't interact with (behind the scenes staff who were like ninjas) everyone was/is amazing. Not only did everyone take care of our expected wants/needs, but somehow/someway ALL of the staff have the ability to anticipate the things we'd need before we realized we need/want them. Just an amazing all around experience. It seems rare in today's world to be wow'ed when expecting value promised for money paid...but I can tell you first hand that The Inn at Half Mile Farm is one of the few retail establishments in the world that truly has that WOW formula figured out. If you want a boutique lodge experience, this is the only place to stay in the SE! We have agreed to always stay at The Inn at Half Mile Farm once a year no matter what!

Room Tip: Jason is one of the chefs/foodies onsite and likes to try new recipes. If you call ahead prior to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boscothebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thanks for reaching out here and on Facebook, Alex! You have no idea how much everyone at the inn appreciates your support. I so enjoyed working with you and Cary -- and meeting all of your family and friends! You made it easy!!! We can't wait for you to come back! Keep in touch... we need updates!

Best wishes,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The "Farm" is quaint, serene (except for the fabulous wedding and rehearsal dinner this past weekend...wow what fun!), beautifully maintained and the staff went above and beyond to make us happy and comfortable. They even have coffee and small snacks in the main great room every morning for early risers, but wait!!! the gourmet breakfasts are delicious!

We definitely have plans to go back up there for rest and relaxation.

Southern hospitality at its finest..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoboinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Southern hospitality at its finest? We're flattered! Thank you so much for the glowing recommendation. We can't wait to have you back for a relaxing getaway! (And another delicious breakfast... put in your requests when you make your reservation!)

Safe travels,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After spending a wonderful weekend at the inn for my brothers wedding, all I can say is....magical! The staff, the rooms, the property, the food.....wow! A BIG thank you to Kate and her wonderful staff for making everything special for each and every one of us, especially the bride and groom. The rehearsal dinner and wedding were absolutely perfect (even though it poured rain the day of the wedding). My only regret from the whole weekend.....I did not stay for the yummy blueberry french toast on Sunday morning (silly me!)
Jill Hutchison

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchutfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Great to hear from you via TripAdvisor, Jill! We had an absolute blast hosting your brother's wedding, and I'm delighted to hear everyone else enjoyed themselves just as much. You'll have to come back soon to get a taste of our blueberry french toast!

'Til then,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are regular visitors to the Inn. We absolutely love it there. The breakfasts cooked by Jason and Jay were outstanding.
Wendy, Kate, Carol and Vivian are most welcoming.
If you haven't been, take time to check it out. The Inn has a great web page showing pictures of all the rooms.
We plan to be back in October.

Room Tip: We like the first floor rooms avoiding a flight of steps. Room 14 has a wrap around porch, wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Innkeeper at Half-Mile Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

And we are soooo happy to have you as regular visitors and are looking forward to your October visit! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a recommendation. We're lucky to have you as a loyal guest!

Safe travels,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
1.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
1.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half-Mile Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half-Mile Farm

Address: 214 Half Mile Dr, Highlands, NC 28741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £150 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Half-Mile Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxury country inn surrounded by natural landscapes and mountain vistas on the outskirts of downtown Highlands, NC. An expanse of green lawn with vegetable gardens and view of glistening Apple Lake welcome you, while the rambling farmhouse, additional guest quarters and garden house grace the top of the hill. A complimentary chef-made breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres come daily with every stay. Feel at home in beautiful guestrooms and cabins with rustic-luxe decor, fireplaces and balconies with tranquil views of the courtyard, lake and forest. Take a dib in the hillside heated mineral pool and whirlpool, trek the wooded trail, bicycle on a country road, canoe or paddle board the lake, and take a picnic basket to your own corner of the property. Half-Mile Farm is a peaceful getaway by Old Edwards Hospitality Group where guests age 18 and older can relax and recharge in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Half-Mile Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Half Mile Farm Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing