We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Main Street Inn Highlands
Ranked #5 of 7 Highlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A wonderful, relaxing time at the Main Street Inn. The room with balcony overlooking Main Street was great. And we even had excitement of bears on Main Street in the evening. The bar and bistro are wonderful. Very friendly and approachable staff. And Morgan - what can I say. I wanted to pack her in my suitcase and bring her home. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 330KarenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Main Street Inn for a wedding. The inn is adorable, very quaint, and personable staff. The rooms are on the smaller side but I enjoyed the charm that went with staying ina bed and breakfast versus the chains we are all used to. My friends and I were very pleased with our stay and have already discussed returning next fall!

A very safe, quiet small town charm you only every see in the movies!

Room Tip: If you are going to need multiple rooms, the quest house is a perfect place to stay as there are 4 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules030185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Everything is great about this place except for the size and condition of the room! We loved the staff and the food was great! The outdoor bistro was really convenient and fun. The inn is in an excellent location because you can walk anywhere downtown.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kachrstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The charm of Highlands, NC Main Street is highlighted by the Main Street Inn. The warm greeting and homey atmosphere draws you in upon arrival. Comfortable and Clean, and just enough antique furniture to draw you back in time. The wonderful breakfasts and dinner exceeded our expectations as well as the live music rising up to our room balcony at sunset. Our only disappointment was the parking, but we managed to find a great parking spot just in time to pack our car for departure. We will definitely return to this charming place.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

At first, I thought Main Street Inn was going to be OK, but my husband and I were charged $167 for a room that had absolutely no room to walk around. We had to squeeze single file between the bed and the window. A chair couldn't possibly have fit. Also, lighting was very poor, so it was hard to read. Internet service was promised, but we could not connect at all. When we tried in the main reception area, we could not get to the websites we needed, only local ones. The breakfasts were good but otherwise, Main Street Inn was a disappointment. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We fell in love with the Inn and will return there again. We just hope there will be availability on our next visit! The staff was so helpful and made you feel at home... This is the best value in Highlands!!!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms with a balcony are great. We really liked being in the main house!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding and had a great experience. We were booked in the guest house and after reading reviews here I was nervous about it. However, it was a wonderful room! Yes it's not in the main house but the rooms were actually bigger and we had a huge balcony which was wonderful. The lighting in the parking lot wasn't a problem at all. You can't stay at a B&B and expect things like blackout curtains. It's not a hotel. The service was fantastic, they really are there to make sure your stay is everything you want. They are so friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was far more than I expected. The food was great and there was a large variety. We also thought the restaurant was really great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgualario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
21.9 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn Highlands

Address: 270 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8446
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highlands
Price Range: £129 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Main Street Inn Highlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 1885 inn in mountain town of Highlands in western NC. Known for cleanest rooms and excellent location. 18 rooms each with bath en-suite, wifi, AC, cable TV, telephone, some antique bathtubs, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Main Street Inn Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Inn Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing