We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring Your Bathing Suit”

Cullasaja River Gorge
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bring Your Bathing Suit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

While this is not the best time to swim in the waterhole at the bottom of the gorge try it in warmer weather. Water is always cold but awesome. There is a rope to climb and jump or you can climb just above the waterhole and slide down. 3/4's of the way down is a hole you can try to sit it. Its really a challenge. Great break for teenagers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“White Fingers of Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This ball is on State Road 107 on the west side of Highlands. In my mind, it was prettiest falls that we saw with the black rocks and white churning water. We also benefited from the color of the fall foliage.
There is not good parking so you have to be careful about cars

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavannahAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful cascade more than a fall, but the pull off is treacherous. Only a few cars can pull off at one time and as leaf season comes to peak it will be hard to find a spot to pull off. If you like to photograph the best times are late morning or early afternoon. The cascade is in deep shade early and late.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The drive through the gorge is narrow. The falls were running fast. We missed the first turn off and had to turn around which is hard to do on the narrow road. I felt like we in the mountains of Italy with the narrow roads. If you get a chance to drive this route from sylva to highlands it's worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ctcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfalls with easy access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This beautiful, winding mountain road leads to 4 amazing waterfalls: Bridal Veil, Dry Falls, Upper and Lower Cullasja Falls, all with easy access from the road. As a motorcyclist, I can't wait to come back and ride this road on my sport bike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cullasaja River Gorge also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Jackson County, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Cullasaja River Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing