We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I escaped to the Old Edwards Inn to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful experience! The staff was unbelievably attentive, responsive, and respectful. Our room was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, we has a private patio/gate to the pool, and the bathroom floors were even heated! We felt very welcomed and special throughout our stay including our visit to Madison's (the inn's main restaurant) and the spa. The meal was very good and the couple's massage was life-changing. It's not a matter of if we will come back - it's a matter of when! The only downside is it is a little expensive, but it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Wow, "Life Changing." I will pass that on to our spa team. That is exactly what we set out to do: leave you changed, healthier or just a little more joyful in some way. Thank you for your effusive praise, and we so look forward to seeing you again.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    100
    31
    15
    16
See reviews for
146
782
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is my fourth or fifth visit to The Old Edwards Inn. The accommodations are superb but the staff is unbelievable. They must go through intense training because everyone of them are so professional and really seem to care that your stay is unforgettable. The inn is beautiful, the food is top notch, and they have a highly rated spa. I was having trouble getting internet in my room. I mentioned it to one of the staff and by the time I returned to my room the problem was fixed. My husband and I look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If traveling with friends I would choose a cottage room with a screened in porch where you could gat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanpamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We love getting reviews from our loyal guests! Thank you for your repeat patronage, and also for your lovely statements about our staff. We do go through some rigorous recruiting, hiring and training, and we are very fortunate to attract some amazing people to be on the Old Edwards team. Thank you so much for noticing and mentioning it. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah, ga.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Highlands is a lovely town with great restaurants and is a wonderful way to get away from a bigger city. Not that far from Atlanta, Asheville, Greenville, and Charlotte it is a doable weekend trip. The Edwards Inn has been upgraded quite a bit and I have stayed there often. This time I used the spa which was excellent. The food is great too and the rooms are charming. I time my visits here with the Cashiers Antique Show which is July 25-27, 2014 at the Blue Ridge School in
Cashiers. The best show I have ever been to it is a great time to be in the mountains!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissab1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It is so nice to hear a loyal guest report positively on the additions and enhancements we have made over the past few years. Also glad to hear you enjoyed the antiques show in Cashiers. That really is a one-of-a-kind event! We look forward to many future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Note: this review is for the Spa at Old Edwards, not the hotel. I made a reservation for a manicure and pedicure at the Spa. I was amazed at the service provided! In addition to a wonderful spa service the additional amenities were over the top! Service staff was truly wonderful. Anything you wanted during your spa time was provided almost instantly and with a smile. The facilities were amazing! The cafe, lounge areas, whirlpool, steam room, sauna and showers better than any I've seen. Maybe more expensive then your neighborhood spa but the extras you get for the price are worth the extra cost. Definitely treat yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We really appreciate your visiting our spa and posting such a glowing review. Hopefully we will have the chance to host you as an overnight guest on your next visit to Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was a first time visit for us when we arrived in the small mountain town of Highlands on Easter Sunday for what was a surprise mini get-away trip to celebrate a very special occasion for my husband. Without a prior reservation, we decided to check out the Old Edwards Inn as a possible place for us to stay, and from the minute we walked through the door, couldn't have been made to feel more welcome! What IMPRESSIVE, OUTSTANDING SERVICE this place provides! And from that moment forward, it just continued to get better and better.

We elected to book for two nights a lovely room in the newest addition of their property named 'The Falls' and it was PERFECT!

The entire grounds are lovely and extremely well maintained, and we appreciated all the attention to detail, no matter where we were; but especially in our cozy room, which was so tastefully done and well appointed.

We also thoroughly enjoyed meeting so many of their international staff of young people who are hired as interns. All so focused on providing an incredible experience for their guests, and they do it so expertly!

We are so appreciative of outstanding customer service, and whatever methods Old Edwards Inn management uses to train their staff - any business can only wish to mimic the secrets of their success!

This was an experience we will be talking about for years to come - and already have shared it with a number of friends and customers of our own!

Our many thanks to your entire staff for making this one of the best & most memorable get-aways we have ever had! We look forward to the day when we can return again!

Room Tip: Room #5516 ... we didn't want to leave!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Dine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so happy you were able to get in on the spur of the moment and that you so enjoyed your stay in our Falls Cottages. Thank you very much for your referrals to friends and family! That is our best compliment. And also for your comments about our staff; we share all reviews with our entire staff and they really appreciate the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a quick three-night getaway to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. Our first trip to Highlands. What a treat! It is a splurge, but just what we needed -- a completely relaxing, stress-free experience. The resort has a sprawling footprint, dominating Highlands's small downtown area. It offers a range of choices in accommodations. We chose a spa suite, located directly above the extraordinary spa. My wife is a spa enthusiast; I am not -- but I did enjoy my treatment very much.

I should make special mention of our suite's disabled-accessible features. I have pretty significant mobility impairments, and I rely on crutches, a rollator walker, and crutches to aid my mobility. Our suite had grab bars on two sides of the toilet, a wheelchair space beside the toilet to accommodate easy transfer, a huge roll-in shower with a rain shower and an adjustable-height hand shower. There are elevators all over the property, and staff are everywhere and very helpful. We were made very welcome. If you have mobility impairments, be sure and ask for an accessible room. Ours was Room 21. It's hard to imagine a better room for someone with a disability.

The main restaurant on property, Madison's, provided one of the best dinner experiences we have ever had anywhere. I had a duck breast entree with fava beans and spring peas; my wife had a grouper special. We also shared an appetizer with pork belly and poached egg and a pound cake dessert, both of which were terrific.

We loved everything about our stay at Old Edwards Inn. Ask about promotions. Our package included one dinner and some spa treatments. It was an expensive stay, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Spa suites are huge and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We're so happy you were able to experience so much of what we have to offer, and that you had a wonderful time and anniversary. Thank you for choosing to spend your 10th anniversary with Old Edwards and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This property has its own personality. I think I saw more employees than I did guests. Everywhere you turn there is a hotel representative asking if they can help you with anything. If you ask directions, they don't just tell you, they show you where to go. Everyone bends over backwards to be courteous and helpful and always with a smile. I left something behind and was called right away by housekeeping. I was still in the area so it was no problem to pop back in and they still offered to mail it for me. I've lived all over the world including Asia so I know a good spa when I experience one. Thai massage is hard to find and a very good thai massage is even more difficult to find. Kyra, the spa manager gave me an excellent thai massage. The atmosphere in the spa is excellent. I had a very nice lunch in the spa cafe and I dined in the evening in the hotel restaurant which I believe was called Madison's. The food was some of the best I've ever eaten and the presentation was beautiful. My bed was very comfortable. I was there during very heavy rains and because of the noise on the roof I had a very difficult time sleeping. I was in room 17, so I would advise if you go during rainy weather to ask for a room that isn't directly under the roof. The only other negative thing is that during the bad weather the internet wasn't very reliable in my room but when I took my laptop to the lobby it worked fine. I find that little touches make a difference and this hotel had them. As I left I was given a little bag with fruit and water for the road. That is a first and I also like the fact that I was "nickled and dimed to death." Internet, bottled water and even Dove ice cream bars are available at no extra charge.

Room Tip: If it's raining ask for a room that is not directly under the roof. I think the roof was made o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your thorough and wonderful review. Yes, Kyra is gifted at the Thai massage. We're so glad you were able to book one with her. Sorry about the rain:-) We look forward to having you back in gorgeous weather so you can experience our outdoor amenities and the beautiful surrounding mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#4 of 7 in Highlands
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing