We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stays In Three Years - We Keep Going Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Five Stays In Three Years - We Keep Going Back”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We discovered this 'Perfect Place' in the spring of 2011 and now just can't stay away. 'Perfect' meaning both our beloved OEI and the elegant mountain town of Highlands. We've been in March, April and September but this was the first time we went in the Summer and I was a bit afraid that we would find it to be too crowded and therefore just not the same 'feel' of quietude and peace. I read somewhere that Highlands' full time population is around 3,000 and that may swell to around 18,000 during the summer. That's quite a 'swell'. But, while the streets were certainly more crowded with walking traffic and car traffic, it certainly was not terrible. And needless to say, the hotel saw more children (don't think we've ever seen children here before) which meant noisier atmosphere around the Falls pool but they went in every evening by maybe 8ish and we didn't hear another peep. So, all age groups could still have a fun and peaceful stay. Having said all that, I just don't think we'll return in the summer - just think we enjoy the spring and/or fall better but that's just maybe because that's when we were first introduced to this great place. Also, now that we've stayed in the new Falls Cottages twice, I'm sure we never want to stay anywhere else. They are just too wonderful. (We've stayed in about 3 different types of accomodations) . Madison's again was supreme for breakfast and dinner. We had my son's 25th birthday there the last night. The wine garden - again lovely for lunch. As I've said in all my previous reviews, all these things are great and wonderful BUT it is the people that move OEI from being a lovely, elegant and comfortable destination to TOTEL PERFECTION. These are the BEST OF THE BEST OF THE BEST in the hotel industry. Thanks to everyone - we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments about our staff. We couldn't agree more, and we love being able to share comments with them that show they do, in fact, make a difference. Spring and Fall are definitely magical times to be at Old Edwards-- and in the mountains. We look forward to having you during one of those times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    97
    31
    15
    17
See reviews for
144
769
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I went for a romantic weekend getaway after seeing an advertisement in Atlanta magazine. The resort is an easy drive from Atlanta, and as soon as you step in the door, your relaxation begins. The service throughout the weekend was incredible. We stayed in the Falls Lodge, and were impressed with the size and quality of the room. The bathroom has an incredible jetted tub, and the heated tile floors were very nice, even in the summer. Each room had two rocking chairs on the porch to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere. I would agree with previous comments that the pillows are not comfortable. Fortunately, we enjoyed a couples massage the second day we were there, and my neck muscles were quickly unknotted!
Speaking of the massage: wow. The Spa is definitely worthy of it's accolades. The calming atmosphere they have created is amazing. Wooden beams, stone walls, water features, comfortable robes, incredible chaise lounges, are spectacular! And that's all before the massage!! Don't miss the 14 head shower afterwards. I regret we didn't spend more time enjoying it all.
We spent most of our time at the pool. Again, the bar service was very good. There were two wedding parties that weekend, and all the chairs were occupied. While there isn't room to bring in more chairs, they were thoughtful enough to put out seat cushions along the poolside to allow guests to sit with their feet in the water near their friends.
We ate at Madison's on our last night, and were again impressed with the atmosphere and service. The wine list is extensive for such a small restaurant, and the food was quite good.
Clearly, I highly recommend this resort and spa. I look forward to returning!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MTKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after dropping a child off at camp nearby. We stayed in the newer Falls cottages. It was very nice and very comfortable. It was a nice size and you forgot you were staying in a hotel. The bed was very comfortable but I agree with another reviewer that the pillows were not good. I am hoping Old Edwards will get new pillows by the time I come back to visit. We had excellent service throughout the hotel so no complaints. Hannah at the pool took great care of us. I hated to leave and was sorry we could only spend one night. I can't wait to return to the charm of Highlands and Old Edwards Inn.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug30004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
510 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went to a social, a wedding and dinner at the Farm of Old Edwards Inn. There was plenty of help. Workers were everywhere. They have everything organized perfectly. All the events went smoothly and the foods were delicious as the drinks. You don't go away hungry or thirsty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunfun4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our 2nd time back to OEI and it was great but I'm sad I can't give it 5 stars this time around. As you have probably already read the spa is great, rooms are amazing and beds are fabulous! This is all very true plus the staff is amazing.
We go to OEI for pure rest and relaxation so that's why I'm giving this a lower rating,... We stayed in hickory room 801 and it was a constant banging of doors and gates all day long starting at 8am every morning! Gates slamming, and an aerobic class in the pool early in the AM. We contacted the front desk and they just apologized. A few days later I found out the staff uses the hickory lodge as a short cut to get to the historic inn. This is unacceptable to a 5 star resort. The staff should know not to do that. This made our vacation different. When I got home I received an email wanting a review of our stay, I mentioned this and never received a reply back.

Pool is great, the town has great shop and good eats.

Room Tip: Hickory lodge is noisy. Be prepared to hear gates slamming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MI_travelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to post on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback. You are correct that the staff taking shortcuts through the Hickory building is unacceptable, and we have a policy against it. We have taken extra measures to prevent this in the future. We are truly sorry that this resulted in noise during your stay. I know that our management team has been in touch with you. We do hope that you will return for a third visit to Old Edwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This beautiful place has probably the best service I've ever encountered in a hotel. On check-in we were shown around by a young college-student employee who couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Our room was smallish but had a lovely porch looking out on the town's principal street. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was superb -- as is the wine list (there is an impressively knowledgeable sommelier). Next time we'll try the spa services.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at Old Edwards Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit. You will love the spa when you return for that experience. We look forward to having you with us again. Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went to the Old Edwards for our honeymoon. It was perfect. When we checked in they met us with Champagne. We were upgraded to the Luxury Suite. The Suite had 3 rooms, 2 fireplaces, a huge soak tub and the famous heated floors in the bathroom. We had a great and relaxing time. Every request from ice to towels was fulfilled immediately. We will absolutely be back.

We had room service from the restaurant one night. It was very good. Some of the best room service I have ever had.

My only complaint was the attitude of one of the girls that worked in the spa. My wife and I had a couple massage. My wife was in her first trimester of pregnancy and was not showing at all. On the initial intake paperwork she indicated she was pregnant. When we were brought back, the girl that was her masseuse made a huge deal that she was pregnant. She made it feel like she could not do anything with my wife because of it. My wife told her she wasn't having any issues and had been laying on her stomach with no issues. The girl made her feel very ostracized. The strangest part, was 2 days later my wife went back for another massage, and the same girl helped her. This time the girl told her it didn't really matter she was pregnant and there would be no problem with her laying on her belly. It was quite bizarre.

I do not take our experience in the spa as a reflection of the hotel. Everyone else was excellent. We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaltravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Edwards Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Edwards Inn and Spa

Property: Old Edwards Inn and Spa
Address: 445 Main St, PO Box 2130, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Edwards Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This European style luxury resort cascades over several scenic blocks in downtown Highlands, NC, offering multiple room types, suites, cottages and full guest estates. Two spectacular outdoor heated mineral pools with whirlpools and cabanas, a world-class spa and fitness center, award-winning dining, and golf at the private Old Edwards Club are signature experiences at this full-service mountain resort. All guests enjoy champagne arrival and complimentary Dove Bars, fresh fruit and bottled water. European bedding, fine Italian linens, plush robes & slippers, rainfall showers and heated bathroom floors enhance the in-room experience. Most rooms feature fireplaces as well as private patios or balconies. The restaurants serve farm-to-table fare harvested fresh from two gardens and a greenhouse. Craft cocktails are enjoyed around the resort at casual bars and upscale lounges, and several live music venues provide entertainment indoors year round and outdoors in warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Edwards Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Edwards Hotel Highlands
Old Edwards Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing