We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 5th Street
Description: Internationally recognized Chef Wolfgang invites you to dine in his garden pavilion or by the fireside in a historic home. Nestled amongst the rhododendrons on the historic main street of Highlands. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Wolfgang's is the recipient of the Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" for the past years, our wine list features over 800 wines. Eclectic Contemporary American Cuisine with a New Orleans flair, Seafood and Steaks. . "Our State" magazine named Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro the place you must eat in Macon County. Featured in Southern Living, Southern Accents, WNC Magazine, and Outside Magazine. Chef Wolfgang Green was the Executive Chef for the Brennan Family of Commander's Palace. Elected Member of Academy of Chefs Certified Executive Chef Member Texas Culinary Olympic Team Voted Jamaican and Texas Chef of the Year and Chaine des Rotisseurs.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wolfgangs is a delightful restaurant. I have been many times and it is always spot on. I like the lamb but have also had crabcakes in the past and enjoyed them. The atmosphere is fun, service excellent and the wine list has great selections.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crvpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    120
    48
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Food - Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wolfgang's is downtown right on main street. Delicious food, very nice atmosphere. We sat outside on a comfortable (almost cool) evening. Outdoor seating is in a very nice courtyard (ask for It when you make your reservations) with little water features, lots of shade and flowers. Service was excellent; server was there when appropriate, but did not hover or interfere with conversation. The specials we had, Pork tenderloin with black bean salsa and Red Snapper topped with shrimp, crab and lobster were excellent. Portion size was perfect. Chef Wolfgang came by the tables as we were finishing our meal, which was a very nice touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We visit the Highlands each year and find Wolfgangs to be the restaurant we go to our first night.

The short rib is to die for and they always have great wine selections.

The entire staff is always working hard and have great attitudes.....including the owners who like to help make the experience wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner in Highlands”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the Fire Mountain Inn for the weekend and the owners suggested Wolfgangs as a great place for dinner. We took their advice and were glad we did. We had a wonderful seat outside in a patio area. The server was fantastic (and I hate I cannot remember her name, but it was a two name first name). A woman came by and suggested a wonderful wine. Our food was delicious and service was perfect. The weather and ambience made for a great romantic date night.
We could not imagine a more perfect dining experience but then came the apple strudel....out of this world. We added the salted caramel ice cream.
The next day we realized we had left our credit card there. Unfortunately we were half way home. I called the restaurant and the GM, Robbie, answered the phone. He confirmed our card was there and offered to mail it to us so we did not have to drive all the way back. What fantastic customer service. They have one us over. We will return there again and again. Thanks for a wonderful evening and impeccable food and service. The Pattersons

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraPForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate dinner at Wolfgang's to celebrate our anniversary. I started with the onion soup, which was quite good with lots of cheese. I had the short ribs for the entree, and they were delicious and very tender. The flavor was similar to a pot roast. My husband had a caesar salad, which was delicious and had a beautiful presentation. He also had the weiner schnitzel and enjoyed it also, though said he would prefer to try something different next time. We were too full for dessert, but our server brought out a small box of locally made chocolates for our anniversary, which was a very nice gesture. The service was very good and the atmosphere was nice as well. We enjoyed it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peachmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro also viewed

Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
Highlands, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing