We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“200 Main - A Luxury Motel with Value Pricing in Highlands, NC”
Review of 200 Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
200 Main
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As our Italians friends say "La Sorella di Old Edwards Inn" which loosely translated means Little Sister of Old Edwards Inn. 200 Main is a 100% total restoration by the Family that owns The Old Edwards Inn of a motel property on Main Street in Downtown Highlands, NC.

To call 200 Main a motel is like referring to the Mona Lisa as a picture. Yes it has the convenience of a motel but the care and attention to decorative details given to each room at 200 Main makes it the second best place to stay in Highlands at prices beginning as low as $110 and ranging up to $165 for the King, Balcony, Fireplace - with two sinks and a huge shower - which in our view is a true luxury room and absolutely the best value in all of Highlands, NC.

In addition to well appointed rooms at every price point 200 Main offers well landscaped grounds, mountain views, a new and heated mineral water swimming pool, the Terrace Room, which is a great meeting place for friends and family and our personal favorite - the Fire Pit where we sat in the evenings and enjoyed the cool mountain air and the warmth and mystery of an open fire.

As a guest of 200 Main you have access to lunch and full golfing privileges at the private Old Edwards Club. The drive east on 64 through the mountains is enjoyable and upon arrival at your private club for your stay you will enjoy a true mountain golf experience. Even if you don't golf but just ride along - the back nine at Old Edwards has the absolute best views in Western NC. We haven't seen the colors yet but they must be spectacular from the highest points in Macon County.

Whether your trip to Highlands is for one night or a week or more 200 Main is just a five to ten minute walk from everything in town and will allow you to comfortably enjoy your mountain experience at the best prices in Highlands and absolutely best value.

Room Tip: The King Balcony with Fireplace in Building Three are great rooms with lots of space - two sinks - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank UncleLarry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your beautiful review! Love that you added the Italian saying; what an interesting way to communicate the message. It is clear you had the opportunity to experience a lot while you were with us at 200 Main, and we really appreciate your writing about it on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We originally had rooms at Highlands Inn, but after a short day trip to check out the area, we decided to try the new 200 Main. Our room was exquisite! Very comfortable King bed, corner suite with a fireplace, balcony w/ rocking chairs and a beautiful shower with body sprays l! Not to mention the heated bathroom floor. The hotel includes muffins, fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby in the morning. This was a little disappointing as they were pre-packaged muffins. For the level of this hotel, I would expect some home-made breads or muffins. There is a good size heated mineral pool, which we took advantage of one evening:) We stayed at the hotel w/ several other couples and enjoyed happy hours on their veranda and evenings around the fire pit. The only negative comment I would say is they need make-up mirrors in the bathrooms.
The hotel was very reasonably priced. We will be back for sure.
PS. The hotel has a very strict No Pets and No smoking ANYWHERE on the grounds rule. We were not aware of this when we placed our reservation. Not a problem for us, but some in our group were smokers and thought this "on the grounds" rule was pretty steep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseekerinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities and touches at 200 Main. We apologize that the no-smoking policy did not clearly come through during the reservations process. Though we have this on our confirmations and a few other areas, we will be sure to review to ensure it is prominent enough. We certainly appreciate that value feedback because we want only good surprises for our guests! We hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After 200 Main opened in Highlands in April, I spent a night in one of the lower balcony level rooms of this so called “Motel.” I understand why the lack of bellmen, room service, and a concierge as well as the floor plan of this hotel made its owners - who also own the posh Old Edwards Inn down the Street - call it a motel, but in no way is it a simple motel. Rooms have Carrara Marble bathroom shower walls, heated floor tiles, luxurious towels and sheets, incredible mattresses, and European style furniture. There is an outside fire pit, heated mineral swimming pool, and beautiful grounds.
OK, I will admit it. I spent more than 15 years in management in the hotel business, and worked at Old Edwards before going to Architecture School. I like to believe that I know hotels, and I really think 200 Main is perfect for families and for those who want a really nice place to stay, but don’t want to pay what a four-star hotel charges.
Some king-bed rooms have doors that connect to rooms with two queen beds. Another cool thing about 200 Main is its location, right in the heart of Highlands, surrounded by incredible restaurants. I have not written hotel reviews since I worked in several, but I have a critical eye that notices details. Old Edwards Inn did a great job renovating and repurposing this former motel. As a onetime employee, I feel I experienced Old Edwards Inn in several different levels for three years, and I finally can write you say what great job this company does!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We really appreciate this review coming from someone experienced in the hotel industry. It's great to know you enjoyed your return trip to Highlands and your visit to 200 Main. And we really appreciate your posting about your stay with us on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent three nights there. It was small but very attractive and well maintained. The pool was a big plus as it was heated. We had a balcony which was a nice place to have coffee in the mornings. The bathrooms were very nicely appointed. They serve you coffee and muffins from the lobby.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are glad you were able to visit us at our new property, 200 Main. Thank you for posting your nice review on TripAdvisor. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are familiar with the Mountain High Lodge in Highlands, then you will be absolutely shocked to see 200 Main. The transformation of this property is spectacular, and although it's still a motel format, to say that 200 Main is an improvement over the Mountain High would be a gross understatement.

My wife's family is so large that overflow lodging has to occur at nearby hotels whenever there is a family gathering in their Highlands home. We have been staying at this location for about 6 years now, and I vowed a few times never to return to the dark, dingy, dated and sometimes disgusting Mountain High Lodge. When we learned that the Old Edwards group had purchased the property and were completely renovating it, we actually got excited to see our new sleeping quarters in Highlands.

The renovation was complete and wonderful to see. The entire building is painted, including the stucco walls and wooden decks. The lobby is completely fresh and modernized. The rooms? Wow. This property went from 1970s decor, crappy carpet, old and unreliable bathroom fixtures, 1990s tube TVs, U-shaped mattresses, sandpaper bed linens and awful polyester/nylon comforters to hardwood floors, heated bathroom floors, ceiling bathroom heaters, king beds with luxurious linens, modern furniture, reliable and comfortable bathroom fixtures, and LCD TVs. Everything smells fresh, looks clean and new - even the room door feels like it weighs hundreds of pounds to go along with its beautiful appearance. We're talking 1000% percent more inviting and comfortable than the Mountain High Cave of Darkness and Despair.

Although the property is now something you are attracted to instead of something you avoid, there are a few kinks that need to be worked out. The lowest-end rooms offer adjoining doors which allow noise to pipe into your room from your neighbor. Even a moderate volume on the neighbor's TV will allow you to hear every word coming out of it. The management told me they were soon installing foam sound absorption for these doors when the need to adjoin rooms was not there. Also, the Wifi works great in the lobby, but the throughput goes to zero when in the rooms, despite allowing you to connect. I'm sure they will work this out in due time.

There is also a cornhole game and new pool on the property, which are welcome additions to the grounds. This place is bound to make a fortune due to its location and now palatable condition. Old Edwards did a great job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phiNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We appreciate your positive review about 200 Main, including your suggestions about the sound-proofing and wifi. Those are, indeed, enhancements that we had in the works and we expedited them due to your feedback. We appreciate your posting on TripAdvisor, and we hope to see you for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I work a very stressful job, and my husband had surprised me with a quick overnight getaway at Old Edward's new additional location at 200 Main. I was AMAZED!! The room was unbelievable and I have never been more happy to sit outside and enjoy the cool breezes and sounds of nature like I did that evening. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at their restaurant Madison's, and went back to the hotel to enjoy a relaxing time around the on site fire pit. I was even extremely happy to see the cutest painting of a French Bulldog above the gorgeous fireplace in our room since that is the kind of dog we have and left her at home with family so we could enjoy our time together. Sitting at the fire pit, there was a beautiful water feature that was so relaxing to listen to as we sat by the warm fire. I can't say enough about our experience at 200 Main and I am praying my husband makes this a "regular surprise" at this location from now on!!

Room Tip: The King Fireplace Room was well worth the price and then some! The shower was AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It sounds as if your stress subsided during your visit with us at 200 Main, and that makes us VERY HAPPY! It's also good to know that you felt a warm connection to the French Bulldog art above the fireplace; what a coincidence... and a cute story. We look forward to having you back with us-- sooner rather than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The remake of this hotel shows with all of it's welcoming touches. When we walked in, the fireplace was on. It was raining outside so this was perfect. The shower is beautiful with multiple heads, heated floor, and luxurious towels. The balcony and rocking chairs are great for looking over Main Street. The bed and bedding were luxurious and a large flat screen TV. In-room Keurig for coffee was helpful. We only needed one night stay , which this hotel allowed. We walked all around the town easily. Highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back. Since it is on Main Street, you do hear trucks, but I would imagine that happens at all of the hotels facing the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It's great to hear that you found your stay at 200 Main to be comfortable, welcoming and cozy. We really appreciate your posting on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.2 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#7 of 7 in Highlands
100 reviews
11.9 mi away
Knights Inn Dillard
Knights Inn Dillard
#3 of 3 in Dillard
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 Main

Address: 200 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8446 (Formerly Mountain High Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range: £94 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 200 Main 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 200 Main. Enjoy golf at the private Old Edwards Club, relax with an outdoor heated mineral pool on property, a large terrace with fire pit and hillside water feature, and stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi wherever you go. It’s relaxation, redefined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 200 Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain High Hotel Highlands
Mountain High Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing