We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury but reasonably priced for the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
200 Main by Old Edwards
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Luxury but reasonably priced for the area.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Older property in a prime location under new ownership and should be featured on an HGTV remodel design show. Marble basket weave tile in the bath, square shaped sink outside the shower room, marble shower walls, and Kholer fixtures. I like style, but I like function even better. We had both. HOT water on demand and plenty of it, a timer to turn on a heat fan in the ceiling for 5 - 60 minutes depending on how long it was needed, adequate ventilation, lots of soft towels, and quality toiletries (Archive). The A/C & heat unit on the outside wall worked quietly and was controlled by a thermostat that responded quickly to changes to the cool/ heat temp setting. The King bed was very comfortable except for the king size pillows that were not "fluffy". (I wish they had the softer fake down pillows that Hampton Inn uses, but I always bring my own feather pillows when I travel, so it wasn't an issue for me.) We enjoyed the balcony looking through trees to the main street below. 200 Main is half a block from downtown restaurants. Nice to park the car and walk where ever, and parking is a premium in Highlands especially on weekends. After a day of hiking to see many area waterfalls, we relaxed by swimming in the mineral salt water pool which had about 60 lounge chairs around it. I loved the mineral water pool, because swimming in chlorinated pools gives me a headache. They supplied fresh towels at the pool, and my husband and I had the pool to ourselves on a Tuesday night. We had a second floor king balcony with two *rocking* chairs! We enjoyed the Kuerig coffee maker in the room both for decaf at night and for a quick cup of coffee in the morning. I did wake up around 9:00 AM when a truck drove by, but main street is generally quiet in this mountain town, and there was no traffic noise after dark. Of course being on Main Street was part of the convenience and charm. The only thing that would have improved our stay was that the first morning we didn't know where to go for breakfast. We picked up our free coffee and packaged muffin in the lobby planning to eat a bigger breakfast in town but didn't know where to go even after consulting "Siri". I think it would be nice if the front desk had suggested Madison's for b'fast when we checked in and offered us a menu. It was in the hotel information booklet in the room but I discovered it too late. While there are numerous great restaurants in Highlands, not many places are open for b'fast. Only negative was that we had to wait 15 or 20 minutes to check out because there was only one person at the desk helping a lady that had some issue with her credit card that took that long to resolve. They don't have "fast check-out" the way they do at chain hotels, which would have been convenient as we didn't have any extras on our bill. Also, I liked the keys to the room which worked by waving them in front of the door lock instead of having to slide them into a slot. Just easier to manage the entry. I am very sensitive to smell, and everything was clean and fresh. Totally new materials in the flooring, carpet, furniture, etc. There was also a safe in the room that you could set your own PIN code and leave valuables in the room secure. Great WiFi connection. No Smoking. No Pets. Really will be the first place we call on our next visit to Highlands.

Room Tip: 200 Main is one of the few places in Highlands with a pool. Take the 3/4 mile "hike" to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for all your wonderful comments-- and for sharing those fun aspects of your stay in Highlands and at 200 Main. Yes, we completely agree about a mineral pool over a chlorinated one, and the heated mineral pool is a brand standard for Old Edwards Hospitality Group, including at Old Edwards Club. We GREATLY appreciate your suggestions about the checkout process and have already begun discussing this internally. Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    46
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
114
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A hotel will have the foyer amenity when you enter and a motel has an exterior entry. And that is the main reason 200 Main is classified as a motel. It is freshly painted with thick moldings, custom linens, plantation shutters, heated bathroom floors and marble. We selected an upstairs king with a balcony. We enjoyed the evening breezes. The sink and vanity is outside of the bathroom so you have access to that portion of the bath if the other is occupied. There is a mini frig for that cold beer you want after a hike. The bedding was very comfortable . We could not believe the reasonable rate for our prime time summer stay.

Enjoy the gas fire pit in the evening. And in the evenings we walked to the Wine shop one block toward the downtown, and had our "starter" glass of wine with locals. Then two more blocks and you are in the center of all the restaurants. Perfect location. One suggestion : dine at Wilde Thyme for lunch and get the black bean burger. It was so delicious I had to protect my plate from my husband after I offered him a bite. Just say'n.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
You really captured so much about what life is like at 200 Main. And your observation about what distinguishes it as a motel is great. We actually struggled with whether to call it a motel because of the connotation that brings, but we didn't want to set any false expectations since the doors do open to the outside. With the new brand of "motel chic" emerging on the scene in certain areas of the country, the lines are now starting to blur between expectations of a hotel vs. motel. Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As our Italians friends say "La Sorella di Old Edwards Inn" which loosely translated means Little Sister of Old Edwards Inn. 200 Main is a 100% total restoration by the Family that owns The Old Edwards Inn of a motel property on Main Street in Downtown Highlands, NC.

To call 200 Main a motel is like referring to the Mona Lisa as a picture. Yes it has the convenience of a motel but the care and attention to decorative details given to each room at 200 Main makes it the second best place to stay in Highlands at prices beginning as low as $110 and ranging up to $165 for the King, Balcony, Fireplace - with two sinks and a huge shower - which in our view is a true luxury room and absolutely the best value in all of Highlands, NC.

In addition to well appointed rooms at every price point 200 Main offers well landscaped grounds, mountain views, a new and heated mineral water swimming pool, the Terrace Room, which is a great meeting place for friends and family and our personal favorite - the Fire Pit where we sat in the evenings and enjoyed the cool mountain air and the warmth and mystery of an open fire.

As a guest of 200 Main you have access to lunch and full golfing privileges at the private Old Edwards Club. The drive east on 64 through the mountains is enjoyable and upon arrival at your private club for your stay you will enjoy a true mountain golf experience. Even if you don't golf but just ride along - the back nine at Old Edwards has the absolute best views in Western NC. We haven't seen the colors yet but they must be spectacular from the highest points in Macon County.

Whether your trip to Highlands is for one night or a week or more 200 Main is just a five to ten minute walk from everything in town and will allow you to comfortably enjoy your mountain experience at the best prices in Highlands and absolutely best value.

Room Tip: The King Balcony with Fireplace in Building Three are great rooms with lots of space - two sinks - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UncleLarry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review! Love that you added the Italian saying; what an interesting way to communicate the message. It is clear you had the opportunity to experience a lot while you were with us at 200 Main, and we really appreciate your writing about it on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We originally had rooms at Highlands Inn, but after a short day trip to check out the area, we decided to try the new 200 Main. Our room was exquisite! Very comfortable King bed, corner suite with a fireplace, balcony w/ rocking chairs and a beautiful shower with body sprays l! Not to mention the heated bathroom floor. The hotel includes muffins, fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby in the morning. This was a little disappointing as they were pre-packaged muffins. For the level of this hotel, I would expect some home-made breads or muffins. There is a good size heated mineral pool, which we took advantage of one evening:) We stayed at the hotel w/ several other couples and enjoyed happy hours on their veranda and evenings around the fire pit. The only negative comment I would say is they need make-up mirrors in the bathrooms.
The hotel was very reasonably priced. We will be back for sure.
PS. The hotel has a very strict No Pets and No smoking ANYWHERE on the grounds rule. We were not aware of this when we placed our reservation. Not a problem for us, but some in our group were smokers and thought this "on the grounds" rule was pretty steep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekerinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities and touches at 200 Main. We apologize that the no-smoking policy did not clearly come through during the reservations process. Though we have this on our confirmations and a few other areas, we will be sure to review to ensure it is prominent enough. We certainly appreciate that value feedback because we want only good surprises for our guests! We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After 200 Main opened in Highlands in April, I spent a night in one of the lower balcony level rooms of this so called “Motel.” I understand why the lack of bellmen, room service, and a concierge as well as the floor plan of this hotel made its owners - who also own the posh Old Edwards Inn down the Street - call it a motel, but in no way is it a simple motel. Rooms have Carrara Marble bathroom shower walls, heated floor tiles, luxurious towels and sheets, incredible mattresses, and European style furniture. There is an outside fire pit, heated mineral swimming pool, and beautiful grounds.
OK, I will admit it. I spent more than 15 years in management in the hotel business, and worked at Old Edwards before going to Architecture School. I like to believe that I know hotels, and I really think 200 Main is perfect for families and for those who want a really nice place to stay, but don’t want to pay what a four-star hotel charges.
Some king-bed rooms have doors that connect to rooms with two queen beds. Another cool thing about 200 Main is its location, right in the heart of Highlands, surrounded by incredible restaurants. I have not written hotel reviews since I worked in several, but I have a critical eye that notices details. Old Edwards Inn did a great job renovating and repurposing this former motel. As a onetime employee, I feel I experienced Old Edwards Inn in several different levels for three years, and I finally can write you say what great job this company does!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We really appreciate this review coming from someone experienced in the hotel industry. It's great to know you enjoyed your return trip to Highlands and your visit to 200 Main. And we really appreciate your posting about your stay with us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent three nights there. It was small but very attractive and well maintained. The pool was a big plus as it was heated. We had a balcony which was a nice place to have coffee in the mornings. The bathrooms were very nicely appointed. They serve you coffee and muffins from the lobby.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are glad you were able to visit us at our new property, 200 Main. Thank you for posting your nice review on TripAdvisor. We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you are familiar with the Mountain High Lodge in Highlands, then you will be absolutely shocked to see 200 Main. The transformation of this property is spectacular, and although it's still a motel format, to say that 200 Main is an improvement over the Mountain High would be a gross understatement.

My wife's family is so large that overflow lodging has to occur at nearby hotels whenever there is a family gathering in their Highlands home. We have been staying at this location for about 6 years now, and I vowed a few times never to return to the dark, dingy, dated and sometimes disgusting Mountain High Lodge. When we learned that the Old Edwards group had purchased the property and were completely renovating it, we actually got excited to see our new sleeping quarters in Highlands.

The renovation was complete and wonderful to see. The entire building is painted, including the stucco walls and wooden decks. The lobby is completely fresh and modernized. The rooms? Wow. This property went from 1970s decor, crappy carpet, old and unreliable bathroom fixtures, 1990s tube TVs, U-shaped mattresses, sandpaper bed linens and awful polyester/nylon comforters to hardwood floors, heated bathroom floors, ceiling bathroom heaters, king beds with luxurious linens, modern furniture, reliable and comfortable bathroom fixtures, and LCD TVs. Everything smells fresh, looks clean and new - even the room door feels like it weighs hundreds of pounds to go along with its beautiful appearance. We're talking 1000% percent more inviting and comfortable than the Mountain High Cave of Darkness and Despair.

Although the property is now something you are attracted to instead of something you avoid, there are a few kinks that need to be worked out. The lowest-end rooms offer adjoining doors which allow noise to pipe into your room from your neighbor. Even a moderate volume on the neighbor's TV will allow you to hear every word coming out of it. The management told me they were soon installing foam sound absorption for these doors when the need to adjoin rooms was not there. Also, the Wifi works great in the lobby, but the throughput goes to zero when in the rooms, despite allowing you to connect. I'm sure they will work this out in due time.

There is also a cornhole game and new pool on the property, which are welcome additions to the grounds. This place is bound to make a fortune due to its location and now palatable condition. Old Edwards did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phiNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S, Marketing Director at 200 Main by Old Edwards, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your positive review about 200 Main, including your suggestions about the sound-proofing and wifi. Those are, indeed, enhancements that we had in the works and we expedited them due to your feedback. We appreciate your posting on TripAdvisor, and we hope to see you for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 200 Main by Old Edwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 200 Main by Old Edwards

Property: 200 Main by Old Edwards
Address: 200 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8446 (Formerly Mountain High Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — 200 Main by Old Edwards 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands newest "motel chic" accommodation features a new outdoor heated mineral pool, hillside terrace with fire pit and stream, social gathering room with fireplace, and access to the private Old Edwards Club for golf and dining. Guestrooms may be adjoined and are completely refurbished with hardwoods, heated marble bathroom floors, plantation shutters, eco-friendly body products and Frette linens. Guests enjoy fresh fruit and coffee in mornings, and bottled wine purchases in the lobby. Some rooms include corner stone fireplaces and terraces. 200 Main is decorated in rustic-chic, and is centrally located to all the dining, shopping, live arts, galleries and fun that downtown Highlands has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your 200 Main by Old Edwards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain High Hotel Highlands
Mountain High Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing