We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and in need of repair...nothing quaint about it.”
Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highlands Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dirty and in need of repair...nothing quaint about it.”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed there for three nights, paid a fortune and were very disappointed. Our room and our friends rooms were musty and the furniture worn out. The doors did not close properly either. I notice the last reviews were also from this season, so maybe something has changed, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Friends who stayed in other hotels were happier and had a nicer breakfast and experience. By the way, they display an out of date restaurant rating showing a higher number than they have now.

Room Tip: i agree...choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoshana056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaycor, Owner at Highlands Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Despite calls from your friends and family threatening bad reviews posted against our Inn on Tripadvisor, Our Inn WILL NOT be held ransom for undue compensation under any circumstances. The Trip Advisor community is based on facts and opinions to help people with their future travel plans, not a tool for guests to blackmail hotels for freebies or to be able to post untruthful and harmful information in a smear campaign against the Inn.




.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    43
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The room was nothing like the pictures--wish we'd gotten one of those! Musty, dirty, horrible smelling, old and tattered carpet throughout, and the restaurant has a grade B. Old mattresses, bed linens and decor from the 80's. Old, worn out, shabby not chic, and I've stayed at Red Roof Inns that were cleaner and more comfortable for a fraction of the price. Internet did not work. The location is in the heart of Highlands, and the traffic noise is not quaint. Not at all what we anticipated, especially after reading the other reviews--those folks stayed in the rooms in the pictures! Wish I had thought to take pictures of the room we had to post.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cdfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My trophy companion and I "got lost" together when he surprised me by taking me to Highlands, NC, for the first time. When we checked in at the Highlands Inn, the first thing I noticed was the perfect Christmas tree. The furnishings are lovely and our room, #44, is one I will fondly remember for the rest of my life. Tim prepared a tasty breakfast.... made to order.... special egg whites for me and great, strong coffee! We managed to squeeze in the night before the Inn closed for the season. What a blessing! One night was incredible, but not nearly long enough for such perfect company and such a romantic hideaway! I hope to return in April when the Inn reopens... now THAT would be a great 45th birthday!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyAngelaYaYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed at the Highlands Inn as a last minute getaway. The hotel was very clean and charming with friendly staff (some more helpful than others). Our room was described as a standard room on the third floor with no view. However, when we got there we were pleasantly surprised as the room was plenty big and very comfortable and clean. It did not have a view but it didn’t matter because we weren’t in the room long at all. The hot buffet breakfast was a nice addition every morning and was tended by a friendly hostess. My husband and I enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the evening and enjoying some wine before dinner. The best part about the inn is that it is literally in the heart of everything in Highlands – right downtown. There are no other hotels as convenient except the Old Edwards Inn which is directly across the street. Please be aware that the hotel does not have a dedicated parking lot. You have to park in the on-street parking. We never had a problem finding a parking space, but I can imagine it would be tough during the height of leaf season in October. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttercup2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed twice, the second time bringing our son and his GF. So, we've experienced three rooms. We like this place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast pretty good, beds comfortable. They can tell you about places to visit and hike to. The veranda is nice to sit on and watch the town go to sleep at 9:30. (I think the off-site, pet-friendly suites at this writing are no more, by the way. They were just managed by the Inn and were sold. You'd need to verify the status if you need one.) Best to phone for a room to get the best deal. The summertime chamber music festival is excellent and the Inn offers good package deals during that time. September, other than Labor Day, is a lull, October is said to be very busy due to leaf-lookers. I think the Inn is closed during the Winter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akaArturoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

my boyfriend and i had his new puppy that had to go on our trip. the highlands inn has 2 pet-friendly suites that are roomy and fabulous for well-behaved canines! he had stayed at the inn 3 times before. it was within walking distance to most everything in Highlands, NC. just a fabulous location!! ok, so the highlands inn is traditional old-world style. don't go expecting modern, new and everything shiny. one bonus?? your stay pays for your breakfast. you go to the dining room, they sit you down and serve you everything you can imagine for b'fast! the manager is so friendly.. i just loved it. i understood why Adam had been there for his 4th time. highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyn2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The Highlands Inn has some pet friendly suites. These are suites that are not on the property that is pictured in the promotional pictures, rather they are strangely located above and behind a row of shops about a block away from the main hotel. In some ways, this was pleasant as it was calmer in this section, and there was a certain amount of comradery that was enjoyed by the hotel outcast in this area of suites. Also the location was nice because there is a wooded area with little brook flowing through it, which was nice for the dog that I brought along.
As for the room - it was very clean and comfortable. I slept well in the four poster bed. But, it was amazingly and fascinatingly outdated. A perfect relic of a luxury hotel suite form the 1980's. Everything from the color of the blue carpet to the furniture with lots of copper accents to the wall paper is like something out of a nice house circa 1987. There were also an absorbanent amount of fake flowers and house plants in the room and on the deck/common area outside. There were a few special extras like a gas fireplace that turned on by flipping a switch beside the bed and a bidet in the bathroom. Both amenities are nice, but slightly comic. Lastly, the complementary breakfast in the morning was very nice - complete with hot food items.
It was comfy and clean. The staff was very nice. I paid over $250 for the room for one night and it felt like way, way too much.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#5 of 7 in Highlands
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
0.4 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
0.3 mi away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Property: Highlands Inn
Address: 420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing