We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal location in Highlands”
Review of Highlands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlands Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My 23 year old daughter and I spent three nights at the Highlands Inn this summer, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Highlands. The Inn is ideally located in the center of town, with all the shops and restaurants literally steps away. (Highlands is a quiet town at night, so the central location doesn't create a noise problem.) We were warmly welcomed at the Inn, and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in straightening out a minor issue with our reservation. The room was attractive, clean, and roomy. A full breakfast, ordered from a menu, is included in the room charge.

We especially enjoyed a shop called The Empty Sink a few doors down the street, which carries every sort of home goods imaginable. An upscale grocery store with great prepared foods is just a block away; we enjoyed several meals in their dining area.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Highlands Inn in Highlands, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed three nights in the Highlands Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and roomy. The room was cooled/heated by an individual unit in the room, so creating the right temperature that is comfortable to you is no problem. The Inn is very interesting in that it is over 130 years old and has all the charm you would expect. There have been some additions made onto the Inn over the years, so there are seemingly endless hallways, but it adds to the charm of the place.
Breakfast is included with your stay and it was good although guests who are staying at the Inn order from a limited menu as opposed to those who come in off the street. The service in the restaurant was VERY slow our first morning. We waited for a long period of time (15-20 min) to get our drinks and finally had to help ourselves. The food came in a reasonable time after we got our drinks, but there was a problem getting refills on coffee, etc. There were others who complained of the slow service that morning as well. Since we were on vacation, it didn't upset us too much but it was annoying. However, we wanted to try other places along Main Street for breakfast while we were there and this gave us a good reason to justify doing so!

Room Tip: 2nd floor Rooms that are along the wall that face Main Street are the noisiest. Rooms on lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Visited in late August to escape summer heat of our hometown. Hotel is very comfortable-- has large public greatroom with antiques. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and well furnished. Hotel is very close to Main Street attractions, hiking trails, waterfalls etc. Prices are very fair for a vacation site. Healthy breakfast items are available as well as fruit during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I have a wonderful stay at Highlands Inn, i like this place. The hotel decoration is old-fashioned and it made me feel home. The staff is very friendly & helpful. The hotel is located at Main Street which easier to access to various shop and restaurant. I would recommend this Inn to all my friend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Glad we chose this Hotel. What a Grand, Historic Inn! We could not have asked for more.
Comfortable beds, Beautiful Lobby, Wonderful Staff and Delicious Breakfast. Loved the cookies in the evening too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roxy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We just got home from a wonderful stay at the Highlands Inn in Highlands, NC. Luckily we ignored the negative review and made our reservations. The Inn was more than we expected.. The location was wonderful right on Main Street. The entire Inn was in beautiful condition, including the lobby, various sitting areas on each floor and our room which had a porch outside where we watched the sun go down and the lights come on The staff could not have been more helpful. Everything in our room was up to date with lovely furniture including our bed. The breakfast, which is included, was delicious and service was outstanding. Wish we could have stayed longer, and we’d love to return. We would recommend the Inn to all our friends looking for something special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris and Georg... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed at the Highlands Inn at the recommendation of a friend. We parked our car and didn't move it until time to leave. Restaurants and shopping are all walking distance. The inn is quiet and has a policy of no loud music or tv's after 10:00 p.m. The breakfast menu had many choices including omelets, sweet potato pancakes, and French toast with strawberries and whipped cream. I chose our room based on the website's photos and it was prettier than the picture. No musty smells or my friend who has allergies wouldn't have made it through the night. Not only would I recommend this place to friends but I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ganana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highlands
0.2 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Highlands Inn Lodge
Highlands Inn Lodge
#7 of 7 in Highlands
101 reviews
22 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Inn

Address: 420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Highlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Highlands
Price Range: £102 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Highlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing