We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Old Edwards Inn and Spa(Highlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laurelwood Inn(Cashiers)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
89
46
16
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
46
16
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetfront porchfabulous locationthree nightsfurnished with antiquesin townwithin walking distanceshops and restaurantsprivate deckeach eveningrocking chairscan't wait to go backsabrinamajorsweddingcharmdecaf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had friends come from Knoxville and meet us for the weekend, so we put them in the Gazebo Suite. It was awesome and they said the bed was very comfortable. My wife and I stayed in room 45 and it was a nice room. If we return, we'll request the Gazebo Suite because of the fun times we had with our friends sitting around the rock garden.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the rock garden are fantastic for stress reduction. Sit in the rock garden and read a book or have a glass of wine and all life's problems seem to disappear for a while.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I both have stressful jobs. From the minute we walked into Highlands Inn, we could feel the weight fall away. The care taken to preserve a beautiful old building and the feeling you get staying in such a historic place can't be described. The room was cozy, clean, and the bed was more than comfortable. I don't know what else to add, except that we will certainly be back again. Thanks Tim for the dinner suggestions and the warm,, friendly hospitality.

Mike H.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My 23 year old daughter and I spent three nights at the Highlands Inn this summer, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Highlands. The Inn is ideally located in the center of town, with all the shops and restaurants literally steps away. (Highlands is a quiet town at night, so the central location doesn't create a noise problem.) We were warmly welcomed at the Inn, and the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in straightening out a minor issue with our reservation. The room was attractive, clean, and roomy. A full breakfast, ordered from a menu, is included in the room charge.

We especially enjoyed a shop called The Empty Sink a few doors down the street, which carries every sort of home goods imaginable. An upscale grocery store with great prepared foods is just a block away; we enjoyed several meals in their dining area.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but the Highlands Inn in Highlands, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed three nights in the Highlands Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and roomy. The room was cooled/heated by an individual unit in the room, so creating the right temperature that is comfortable to you is no problem. The Inn is very interesting in that it is over 130 years old and has all the charm you would expect. There have been some additions made onto the Inn over the years, so there are seemingly endless hallways, but it adds to the charm of the place.
Breakfast is included with your stay and it was good although guests who are staying at the Inn order from a limited menu as opposed to those who come in off the street. The service in the restaurant was VERY slow our first morning. We waited for a long period of time (15-20 min) to get our drinks and finally had to help ourselves. The food came in a reasonable time after we got our drinks, but there was a problem getting refills on coffee, etc. There were others who complained of the slow service that morning as well. Since we were on vacation, it didn't upset us too much but it was annoying. However, we wanted to try other places along Main Street for breakfast while we were there and this gave us a good reason to justify doing so!

Room Tip: 2nd floor Rooms that are along the wall that face Main Street are the noisiest. Rooms on lower level are very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Visited in late August to escape summer heat of our hometown. Hotel is very comfortable-- has large public greatroom with antiques. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and well furnished. Hotel is very close to Main Street attractions, hiking trails, waterfalls etc. Prices are very fair for a vacation site. Healthy breakfast items are available as well as fruit during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews