We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Teardrops
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hillsborough
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Country Inn(Hillsborough)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
59
2
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming b bhistoric townbbq placefour poster bedwalking distancecomfortable bedsouthern charmbottled waterchapel hilllinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely old home in historic area of Hillsborough. Very comfortable room and four poster bed. Congenial host. Beautiful old furnishings. An overall wonderful evening and definitely a place worth coming back to!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcarpenternc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a long overdue review of the best B&B I've ever encountered! We stayed at The Inn At Teardrops in May 2013 for a wedding. The house itself is a tastefully appointed historical gem and could not be better situated in terms of convenience to all the small town charm downtown Hillsborough has to offer. You can enjoy some really lovely walks through the neighborhood to admire the stately homes in the area, as well as a short walk to downtown with all its shops, restaurants and historic sites. You can also just relax on the back porch and admire the garden, or enjoy leafing through one of the many fascinating books available to read. The owner Tom will be more than happy to offer a suggestion. Meeting Tom was the true delight of our trip; he welcomed us as if we were old friends, and we've never met with warmer hospitality or felt more at home in a place. By the time we left we felt we'd made a friend for life! There is something in the atmosphere that makes you feel as if you've stepped back in time, and I would echo the sentiments of a previous reviewer in saying "magical!" We've stayed at more B&Bs than we can count, but this was by far the most delightful we've ever seen. We think of our visit and Tom often and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleMarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I recently enjoyed a magical three nights at the Inn at Teardrops in Hillsborough, North Carolina. Tom, the owner, gave us a personalized tour of the inn, taking the time to explain the historic family photographs and amazing art that fills this eighteenth century historic home. As history teachers, we were enamored with the quantity of books and period pieces that fill the home, in addition to beautiful, eclectic art from around the world. Tom and his kind staff will make you feel right at home, attending to all of your needs and questions, and Jorge and Austen serve up delicious breakfasts in the European dining area. We loved the room we stayed in, which was beautiful, clean, and charming. When we had some time to relax at the inn, we enjoyed poring over the rich collections of art books and literature in the parlor. Definitely go to the Inn at Teardrops if you need some peace and relaxation in a quaint, historic town that lets you escape it all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

In the small but historic town of Hillsborough, there is a very special Bed and Breakfast for those who care for a great place to stay in pre Revolutionary War surroundings. The house dates back to 1767 and is furnished with early 1900's furniture, antiques and paintings. The bedrooms are air conditioned, very comfortable and the bathrooms have been modernized. Downtown is walking distance (one block) and features several superb restaurants. Points of interests range from art galleries and small shops to a recently added chocolate shop. My wife and I have stayed at the Inn numerous times and always enjoyed a great nights sleep, a fine breakfast with Tom and his staff as well as having tried the local restaurants. If you like fine historical homes, antiques, fine food and a great host, you will have to look a long time to find an Inn like this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Again, I am reminded how special Teardrops is. We have stayed there many times since 1990. A wonderful spot to enjoy a very cool little town. We adore it and hope to return for many years to come. Amazing hospitality, beautiful, cool, clean rooms and always a yummy breakfast.
Historic antiques and art in every room.

Lots of history to see and things to do from Ayr mount to the Masonic lodge! Antique shopping and yummy, healthy food abound.

We love it! A gem.

Room Tip: All are good, I've stayed in every one!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kpaigethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews