We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Accommodations :(”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clayton NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Chalet Accommodations :(”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

In town for a wedding; we had most of the rooms and quite a few of the houses rented out for this event. We were in the Upper Chalet with our daughter and had rented the Lower Chalet for our son; daughter in law and a second son. We got in on a Thursday, the lights and AC was on for us when we got there so it was obvious that someone been there to set it up for us... That being said I found dead bugs in the bathroom, on the sink and the dish towel in the kitchen had been used and had a sour smell to it. The same was going on in the lower chalet when my son checked in, the dead bugs were on the kitchen floor, quite a few of them. There was also a very strong odor in the Lower Chalet. Housekeeping needs some work. I'm not sure what they did when they came in during the day... Nothing looked different, if fresh wash cloths or towels were a part of the freshen up part, that never happen. Also we had to change the outside light bulb at the door. When we came back that first night it was very dark. I would suggest that outdoor porch light be checked often when it's being rented. On the same note we went up to visit our family at the Birds Nest at night and there wasn't any outside working lights... Very dangerous!
We were very disappointed in the Chalets... With that being said we were there for a very special occasion that took place at the Inn and we enjoyed our time with family and friends. We found everything that took place there was wonderful! The food was very good and the staff was very lovely! The Inn itself is a beautiful place and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    20
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We went with 3 other couples for a get away and we all had a great time. A beautiful property with a very helpful owner. The food was wonderful. Our location was next to the Appalachian Trail and the Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Our 2BR unit was was over looking the river with great views and less than 5 min from the springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was probably our 9th or 10th stay over the years at properties associated with the Mountain Magnolia Inn where we have also stayed on some special occasions like an anniversary or New Years Eve celebrations. The Inn is an absolute jewel and a faithful and elegant restoration with beautiful antiques and modern day comforts. The grounds around it are also quite lovely. We have also stayed at other properties associated with the Inn which we have also enjoyed. These have included the spacious Garden House and the dwellings at Fowlers Bend as well as the Upper Chalet on Easter weekend. The latter 3 are all pet friendly. Fowlers Bend and the Chalets are close to a creek which provides nighttime lullabies. I will review the restaurant at the Inn in another review. I will be staying at Laughing Heart Lodge, another associated property, in May for a small class reunion and will review it then. We enjoy the Spa and having a massage in the tower room with Marie when we are visiting and hiking along the Laurel River. Lots of other fun things to do in the Best Small Town in the Blue Ridge. Karen and Pete and their staff are all programmed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Asheville and its wonders are less than an hour's drive.

Room Tip: Our favorite at the Inn is the Walnut Room which has a king bed. We stayed there on our anniversary...
See more room tips
Green Features: Many of the herbs used in the kitchen at the inn are grown on the property at the Garden House where they also compost. I believe they also buy from local growers. Many of their toilets are water-saving. Pete and Karen and their staff are very protective of the environment.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie17NorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petenagle, Owner at Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Thank-you so much for making our trip to Hot Springs so enjoyable!! We look forward to another visit soon. The food was incredible and the staff was amazing, May God bless you all. We enjoyed a romantic getaway without our kids, but look forward to bringing the whole family next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaynMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a wonderful time. The rooms are quite large with a private bath. Rooms do not have TVs (not a problem for us) and the walls are thin. I highly recommend getting a balcony. Note that the railroad is on the edge of the property so we were awakened/startled in the 'wee' hours by a train whistle - part of the charm. The Inn has a rich history and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the history. Town is within a few minutes walk with restaurants, crafts & music.
Dinner (reservations recommended) was phenomenal! They menu changes as food availability changes. We had the crab cake and the scallop appetizers and the duck and venison entree's. Each had wonderful sides which complimented the entree'. Wine selection was good. Breakfast was bountiful and good. My favorite was the strawberry & cream scones.
I highly recommend adding a soak in the mineral bathes at the Hot Spring Spa as part of your trip.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenwondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I meant to write this review when we returned from a twelve day trip in North Carolina in April, 2013, but I obviously got behind in my trip advisor reviews! We stayed at a lovely cabin and made reservations for dinner at the MMI on a Sunday night. We ordered the Filet Mignon, which was accompanied by the roasted garlic potatoes and delicious asparagus and the pan-seared grouper, which was exquisite. Our wines were paired to match our different plates and the chocolate mousse and the house-made chocolate and peanut butter creme brulee
were out of this world! We are planning a return visit this coming March and will definitely dine here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We've just returned from our 4th trip in a year to MMI and it won't be our last! We first visited the inn scouting out a venue for our daughter's wedding. It has become our favorite getaway spot. The inn is a beautiful restored home. The mountain views are breathtaking and the magnolia and black walnut trees on the property are a sight to behold. Breakfasts are hearty and wonderful. (They make getting out of bed worthwhile.) Dinners (Thursday through Monday) are first class. Thanksgiving dinner last year was so delicious that we returned this year. We were not disappointed. Our daughter's small wedding in the spring at the inn was beautiful and so much fun even though it rained and we had to move everything inside at the last minute. Everything about MMI is comfortable and welcoming but it's the people that make the inn the very special place that it is. A friendlier, more helpful or genuinely nice group of people you won't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petenagle, Owner at Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the greets review. You are right - the team makes the difference. We are blessed to have such a great group.

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
190 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,805 reviews
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#18 of 39 in Asheville
869 reviews
Wildberry Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leicester
64 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant

Property: Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant
Address: 204 Lawson St, Hot Springs, NC 28743-4504
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fully restored 1868 country inn and restaurant located 35 miles north of Asheville. We offer individual rooms, suites and cottages plus a variety of packages including Romance, Bltmore, Adventure, Spa and more. Our in-house restaurant, Unforgettable Dining, is just that - unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites And Restaurant
Mountain Magnolia Inn, Suites & Restaurant Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing