We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”
Review of Dancing Sun Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dancing Sun Cabins
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away for our 14th anniversary to a quite, relaxing place with a hot tub. We found that in Hot Springs. I came across Dancing Suns cabins while serching for places to stay. All the reviews I read were great so we decided to give it a shot. I'm so glad we did. It was exactly what we wanted and had anything we could possibly need: privacy, clean towels, cook ware, a fire place, hot tub, and a tv to veg out to before bed. I also loved the creek outside. I opened the windows in the mornig just so I could listen to it. Some people may find no cell service a problem but we didn't. There is a phone onsite if you do need to make or receive a call.

Overall, it was a great place to spend our anniversary. I only wish we could have had a longer weekend. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanShap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

then we decided to go off to the mountains in N.C. to get married,we figured on a few snags do to long distance arrangements(.We're in Minn.) Finding Dancing Sun Cabins was the Best Mo-Jo ever!!! After we booked w/ Tom & Patty all things were right in the world! We found a great Reverend on line,who agreed to do the ceremony right @ the cabins.(Tom graciously allowed) A few friends from MN.,Wisc.,&N.C. joined us,we all had a blast.The cabins & hot tubs are so clean(and cute & cozy)they feel like home !
The kids played @ the stream & pond w/ the frogs, while the adults "Danced" on the deck
@ Raindance ! So,to all that love those remote get-a-ways,these 3 cabins up the mountain from Hot Springs,N.C. are the place ! O', did I mention that the Appalachian trail is right there! We are so going back !!! Thanks so Much Tom & Patty ;
Sincerely ; Steve & Eyes Wavrin

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ht2marvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Wow this place is so remote we had to reliquinsh our dependence on cellphones and internet. Having an iPhone makes this very difficult, but we got used to it. The cabin is way up in the mountains. We are from the city, so, I was terrified to go up and down those winding roads and it took 30 minutes just to get up and down the mountain from the cabin. Plus, at night, it is pitch black dark! So, start the trip early to avoid going up the mountain in the dark. Also, no grocery or gas stations for miles so fill up if getting low before entering Hot Springs. We underestimated the travel time between this cabin and Asheville. For people used to it, it probably would only take 45 minutes or so, but it took us an hour and a half just to get to Asheville from our cabin. But the cabin is so nice and cozy. The fire was perfect for the cold, rainy nights. We didn't use the hot tub, because it was raining, but it looked nice. The kitchen was well equipped and the tv with satellite was nice! very private. The bed was small and kind of bouncy, but we are used to a platform bed with a tempurpedic mattress, so, nothing compares to our bed. But overall it is a beautiful cabin with lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melrbled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dancing Sun. Everything was provided, except the food and the romance, which my Jim provided, but was topped off by the fireplace and hot tub. Wild turkeys (not the whiskey kind), bear hunts, wolf howls (aside from my fiance's) were evidence of the peaceful, natural setting of the mountains. This was the best holiday we've had, and we hope to be back by spring. Hope you enjoyed the chocolate cheesecake and peanut butter balls, as well as your lady of the mountain. We'll always be inspired by your concept and hospitality. We highly recommend this vacation spot.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Beautiful and clean cabin, cozy and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay there with friends and the kids had a great time. The linens and towels were provided and the kitchen was well furnished with everything we needed. The hot tub was wonderful! Make sure you bring enough food to last your stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwith2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, NC
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Thanks you all so much for the opportunity to visit the cottages. My fiance and I decided it was time for a break from the hustle and bustle of the economic situation, the kiddies, and the holiday madness. On a whim, we searched for and researched several cabins in the NC mtns. We had visited a few in the past. When we came across Dancing Suns we were astounded by the prices. What a deal! And upon arrival at the Dancing Moon Cabin, it became more evident that we found a "diamond in the rough". Truly isolated, but only minutes from Hot Springs among other various gorgeous attractions, we found that we had gotten so much more than we bargained for. Numerous trails to hike or bike, privacy, and what a beautiful landscape! A bubbling brook just outside our front door provided that "Zen feeling" we all look for when needing a getaway. Just to sit in the hot tub and listening to the natural environment around us was sooo relaxing. The accommodations were very cozy, charming and immaculate as well. We can't say Thank You enough! It was everything we needed to get back in touch with the basics and RECHARGE! Tom was present when we arrived to give us a tour and tips....and then as a host should be, he was there only and Every-time we needed him. We will definitely be back....ASAP...Thank you Dancing Sun Cabins

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNHippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatlinburg tn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We arrived after dark. a possum was waiting for us in the driveway . The place was clean. Hot tub was wonderful. One of the reasons we rented here was because they change their hot tub after every guest. Working in the rental business for years believe me very few companies do this!! .A noisey creek runs beside the big porch. Stars sparkle brighter from a hot tub. even though its down in the holler it gets plenty of sunshine. I panned for gold in the creek and hiked to the top of the ridges. Secluded, peaceful and relaxing a wonderful way to spend our 26th anniversary. We will definetly return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewGatlinburgTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dancing Sun Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Sun Cabins

Property: Dancing Sun Cabins
Address: 24441 Roaring Fork Road, Turn Right at End of Road, Hot Springs, NC 28743
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the cleanest romantic log cabin rentals in the area. All cabins have Hot Tubs. We fill each hot tub with fresh mountain spring water for each guest. We have unlimited hiking on site. We also have a beautiful waterfall a short hike from your cabin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing