We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
85
87
20
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
87
20
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiron horserestaurant downstairsold buildingappalachian trailwalls are very thinpackage dealin townshower headwood floorswhite noise machinewould stay here againsmall townno elevatorthe staff was friendly and helpfulsmall roomking bedbeer and wine
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Short:
Took advantage of a Groupon deal. A very nice hotel; an old building with a lot of character. Access to the tavern without going outside. A quiet place that gets even quieter when the tavern closes (19:30 week days or 20:30 weekends). The freight train passing through town adds to the charm. AT blaze immediately outside the front door. You can park and walk several great, unique places. We will return.

The Long:
The Groupon deal gave us two nights of lodging and a food credit at the Iron Horse Tavern just downstairs from our room. Driving from North Georgia, the travel to get to the small town of Hot Springs was very scenic. The Iron Horse is located immediately on the Appalachian Trail. It's reported to be a spot frequented by thru-hikers between March and May. Our room was rather small, but met our simple needs. Generously sized private bathroom with walk-in shower was very nice. No TV in the room (there is a lounge for visitors to relax in that has a nice size TV for all to use). Ice is to be gotten from the bar tender downstairs (pretty fun to belly up to the bar in your pa-jjs). A short walk north on the AT will cross you over the French Broad River and put you right into the woods for a very nice hike (several loop trails to choose from). Several small shops and eateries are easily walkable from the hotel as well. We didn't need the use of our trusty little car throughout our stay. The Hot Springs Resort (with its natural spring hot tubs!) is also a short walk away.

The Iron Horse staff was very easy going and pleasant. The 12:00pm checkout time is a perk. Speaking of perk, there is also a coffee pot for guests in the lounge. The Iron Horse is a great place to begin a hike, and a relaxing place to rest up afterward. A perfect place for those who love the AT and exploring her towns. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Several different room types are available. From bunk beds to queen size. Make sure you speak with the staff to get the right room for you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWellnessLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I really loved this hotel. It's clean and comfortable and the innkeeper is very nice. We loved eating in the restaurant downstairs and being able to walk everywhere we went in Hot Springs. The only thing that was an issue was that with the thin walls, it didn't feel very private. We could hear other people's conversations. Also, we had an interior room and it got pretty stuffy - a fan would have been really nice. Instead we opened the window above the door which helped a little, but then it felt even less private. Really though - we loved it and would definitely stay there again!

A hint: for breakfast, hit the take out place in the Take-Out Riverside Grill. Their omelets and coffee are amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel located right in the one block of shops in Hot Springs. If you want to walk to the few shops/restaurants in town this is a good place to stay. Our room was very clean, linen was nice as well. When I asked about getting the heat turned up (there are no in room thermostats) the woman at the front desk loaned me a space heater for our room. It was perfect! My only "complaint" would be that the walls are very thin so it sounds like your neighbor is in the room with you. We didn't have noisy neighbors so it was fine, but it was a little awkward knowing someone could hear your whole conversation! I actually liked not having a tv, but if you have to have one you might want to stay elsewhere. All in all I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a nice change of pace, no TV's in the rooms :)
The Inn is an old boarding house but remodeled and all the charm has been kept. For those that are looking for a typical hotel stay, this is not it. For those that are looking for a charming place to stay, without all the mod cons of a hotel then this is the place. There is WiFi throughout the Inn so you are not totally cut off from the outside world. Cell phone service is also limited.
Yes, the train comes through at 5am, but if you have seen the movie My Cousin Vinnie, you will laugh about it rather than be annoyed by it. For us, it was part of the charm of the place. Will return.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms are above the restaurant kitchen and maybe a little noisy before closing. Ask for a different one if that bothers you.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinFlorida40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We ventured to Hot Springs, NC for the soak in the mineral spring tubs. Someone recommended a stay at the Iron Horse and we're glad we did. Be forewarned, this is not for those that have to have televisions. This place is quaint and lovely, from the front desk, the clerk, the beautiful hardwoods, the books in the hallways to enjoy, the cleaning staff, the small and cozy rooms to the tiny bathrooms. We loved it all. We enjoyed a bottle of wine downstairs at the restaurant and had some great fried green tomatoes.

The only reason I can't give it a five is the fact that the train is literally right outside your window (room 214). We weren't aware of this (we arrived in the dark and fog) and had opened our window for the fresh air. You can imagine our terror in the middle of the night when the train came blaring through sounding it's horn. We laughed and fell back to sleep to be woken up again a few hours later. At least we got a giggle out of it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews