We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Iron Horse Station

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iron Horse Station
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

this would be my choice in hot springs again. the staff are awesome in the restuarant right below. the food was even better. any thing you order i have a feeling would be good. the hotel is charming, it is what it is, enjoy it, the only thing is that the train went by at 1:30 am and 4:30, maybe a room to the back of the hotel. but it is an old train station, lol. the room was really clean, we walked to the hot spring, and around town. very relaxing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swalliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Iron Horse Inn, located in Hot Springs, NC. We had a wonderful time - both at the hotel, and the town! Our room was designed like a Pullman sleeper car circa 1800's, so we felt like we were experiencing a piece of American history. Baj, the innkeeper, (Yes, that really is his name!) is a great manager - very hospitable and accommodating. The food at the restaurant in the hotel is excellent - I had a salad with tofu - the salad was huge, and the tofu on it was delicious! Besides the ambiance of the historical hotel, the location is perfect - you can walk right out the front door and down the street to shops and eating places, and the Hot Springs Resort, with the relaxing jacuzzi tubs, is also within walking distance. I would definitely recommend the Iron Horse to anyone planning a trip to this part of North Carolina - you'll return home with fond memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular Pullman Sleeper room.It was fine for us, although small. I would recommend sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdwilson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had been through this town a couple of times and didnt really know that the hotel existed. We had a nice relaxing stay with a jacuzzi tub in our room (we saw the other review about getting this room) the manager Badge went out of his way to help us as we were planning a trip through the mountains.
Had a soak in the hot springs and went horse back riding, what a great adventure.

We have already booked a return visit !

Room Tip: Must get the Jacuzzi room and ask about the package as well for the hot springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Passed through this little town a couple of weeks ago and decided to return and stay a couple of nights, Couldn't be happier about this choice of hotel. Staff were great and helpful, room was spotless.
We got the hot tub suite, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Purchased a living social voucher for this hotel, it was constantly booked so we had a very hard time getting a reservation. Upon arrival there were multiple large bugs in our room, the bath tub was dirty. I wondered why there was a noise machine, I soon found out why; The walls are paper thin. The hotel was freezing, the space heater in our room didn't help, there were also multiple guests complaining about how cold it was. No TVs or phones in the rooms, however the wifi was decent. My major concern is that the fire alarms went off multiple times during our stay and no one was around to do anything about it, and we never heard why. Overall, this place gets the job done. Yes, it is cute and quaint, but not very comfortable. Would I return? Probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mechellea843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in rm 215 which faces the front street it had a full size bed and was nice. It was bright at night as the light outside shined on our window. The walls are thin so we were able to hear our neighbors. The rooms have no phones or TV. The guest area had a nice lounge area which looked down on the restaurant and had a large TV there, a phone was provided there for use with free long distance as Verison cell service did not work. They had good wifi. Badge was a big help and very nice to deal with will stay there again. Overall a great getaway.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great place to stay in a small town. the restaurant below had good food and the prices were reasonable. Service staff were top notch. The Innkeeper was very nice and very accommodating to our VERY FEW request. It is right next to NS freight line (railroad) which didn't bother me a bit, as a matter of fact I really enjoyed it (growing up near the railroad). As other people have said there are no TV's or phones in the room - what a nice change. Everything that we needed was within a 5min walk and I didn't move my car for the 2 days that we were there. I would recommend 'The Diner' about a 5min walk from the hotel for breakfast (didn't go there for any other times) as they were VERY friendly and good food. As a matter of fact everyone in the town were friendly and very nice. Don't forger to check out the 'Hot Springs' across the tracks from the Hotel and take a hike on the AT. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strangepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17 mi away
Comfort Inn North of Asheville
19.9 mi away
Andrew Johnson Inn
Andrew Johnson Inn
#6 of 8 in Greeneville
20 reviews
18.7 mi away
The General Morgan Inn
The General Morgan Inn
#2 of 8 in Greeneville
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Marshall House Inn
Marshall House Inn
#1 of 2 in Marshall
25 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Station

Address: 24 S Andrews Ave, Hot Springs, NC 28743-9213
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £54 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Horse Station is an 1890's hotel, restaurant, and tavern with 31 adjacent artist and craft shops. Listed on the National Register, it is part of the Historic Inns of Hot Springs with sister property Mountain Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Station Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing