We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Jacksonville, NC is a military town. That means lots of folks coming and going all of the time. It's not a vacation destination it's a major USMC town. This hotel is an average quality extended stay type property. It's not new and it's not very well maintained. The rooms have kitchens so you are very likely to get a room where the last person who stayed there cooked food and the odor of that food remains. The front desk staff were pleasant but not shiny & happy. Bottom-line: my bill was wrong, it took days to correct it and my room smelled like a fish camp. I won't stay here again. There are better hotel options available in Jacksonville, NC.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroyGuy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear TroyGuy50,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    21
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
15
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here while in nc to go to the beach. Love the fact that hey are beside a wal mart was able to shop for food and store it in our full side fridge in the room. Pool area is small but great for kids and love cooking out on the grill. Also you can check out books and movies in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanchick84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Well from the gt go this was a horrible place to stay. Was quoted an amount on the phone upon arrival they had uped the charge. Then tons of miscommunication on the front desks part one person would tell you one thing another person something completely different. Our room stunk from the garage disposal and when they cleaned the room noone did anything about it. They always forgot to give us towels when they cleaned our room. The lock to the outside was broken so you couldn't use the stairs anytime unless you were going out. The pool which is shared with holiday inn was gross half the time and never opened when it was supposed to. Definitely wouldn't stay there again because of the trouble to get everything straightened out on our bill. It took three hours of me missing work to get them to fix my room rate and all thither problems we were having. And to.top all that they apparently had a problem with us because no one wanted to handle.our complaints but all.of them knew about them like they were talking about us one girls exact words were oh your the people in 311. Horrible

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler060107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear traveler060107,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to satisfy you with the service you have received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I ended up staying here for over two weeks. The person who helped me book helped me get the lowest rate for both my room (a one bedroom suite) and a room for my mom (a queen sized room - not a suite). Both my mom and I (and my husband) were impressed with how nice and clean the rooms were. The linen was all clean, the bed was comfortable.
What I particularly liked is the kitchen. The counters are granite, the stove, microwave, and dishwasher all work great (even if I didn't have many dishes to put in the dishwasher). The kitchen comes well-equipped with several pots and pans, a colander, dishes, and silverware. It would be nice if it were equipped with a couple more sets of everything (glasses, dishes, silverware), but still - it's all there. It also has a little pantry area you can store your own food.
It's about a 10 minute drive to base with only a few turns. Walmart is within walking distance (as are Sally Beauty, RadioShack, a nail salon, Rainbow, and a few other stores).
The staff is incredibly helpful. One of the staff remembered what room I was in before I could remember it.
The treadmill in the workout room isn't so great, and the hallways don't get vacuumed daily, but overall a great place to stay.
Also, the longer you stay, the lower your price gets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abandba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have stayed here two times. I love the help I received both times from Trisha and Kristy. They are amazing. They work at the front desk, and are are extremely helpful. Please commend them, as this type of helpful professionalism isn't common. Nice location. Free parking.

Also, when Trisha was not available to help me, Jalisa and Treasure have been referred to me to ask for. Kristy steps in whenever anyone else is busy.

It isn't always about the room, but about the helpfulness, the clarity and the understanding of each hotel front desk personnel. This, to me, goes a LONG way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom4kids_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood_GM_JKVNC, Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for all your kind words! Our staff's goal is to provide great customer service to every guest every day! We appreciate your continue loyalty to our hotel as we know you have many options!
Our staff was very happy to see your post!
Thanks again!
Kristy, Trisha, Treasure and Jalisa and the rest of the Candlewood Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I loved staying here! Quite, nice rooms. Pool was a plus. Easy to get to.... I would stay here again. Within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Free laundry.... Nice kitchen... Ice maker in refrigerator ....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaM692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood_GM_JKVNC, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. The Candlewood Suites team appreciates the kind words and we are happy that your stay with us was "Wonderful".
We look forward to seeing you again! Come back and visit again this summer. The pool is warming up nicely, the gas grills are ready to cook your favorite BBQ food and we have our Cornhole board out and ready for a good game!

Thanks again for the review!
The Candlewood Team:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

When my sister booked this hotel for my visit to jacksonville we were told that we would receive the military rate, as she is currently an active duty marine stationed in jacksonville. When I arrived to check in I was shocked to hear that they would not be honoring the military rate that we were told when we booked the room. I will never stay here again when I come to visit my sister!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipd889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear chipd889,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Camp Lejeune
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville
2.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Jacksonville
TownePlace Suites Jacksonville
#6 of 30 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites North Jacksonville
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 30 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jacksonville

Property: Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Address: 119 Penny Ln, Jacksonville, NC 28546-7169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Jacksonville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, NC provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing