We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat FREE”

Sanctuary Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Daegu, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't beat FREE”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The winery offers free tastings everyday. Most of the wines are either dry or very, very sweet. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable about the wines they sell. You can enjoy a bottle or glass on a seat in front of the tasting room or a picnic lunch on the grounds of the Cotton gin just down the street near the vines and cornfields. Traffic is very bad in season (158), I'd suggest stopping on the way home or if the traffic is really heavy. Its definitely the better option for a winery visit in the Outer Banks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peters365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grandy, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thursday night live music”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The winery has live music on Thursday evenings part of the year. The music is great, and the wine is tasty too. The venue is normally outside(bring chairs, a blanket and a picnic basket. If the weather may be bad, they move it into the tasting area of the winery. Friendly owners and staff that treat everyone like a local.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris41431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and exceptional people!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stopped by Sanctuary Vineyards twice now and have visited them at the wine tastings at the Whalehead Club as well as at their tasting room in Corolla. We had the incredible pleasure of getting to meet John, the mastermind winemaker, who spent thirty minutes talking to us and teaching us about his wines. The wines stand alone and they are incredible by their own right- it is uncommon to find an East Coast winery that can actually make a delicious dry wine. However, we were so impressed by him and the staff that we can not wait to return many times again to enjoy their company along with their exceptional wines.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“***Cotton Gin location only***”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited the tasting room in the Nags Head Cotton Gin on a Sunday afternoon in late May. The "tasting area" is relatively small and I would imagine it would be difficult to fit more than 3-4 people at the bar at one time, but as the only two there right when it opened (at noon), we had no problems.

We told the Sanctuary Vineyard server what type of wine we usually drink and he arranged a lineup of tastings based on our preferences. Samples were generous and numerous- we each got to try about six different varieties. And did I mention tastings are completely FREE?

While we did not buy any immediately, there was one variety that I just could not get out of my mind, and later that afternoon, made a trip back to the Cotton Gin to buy a bottle. It is their new red table wine, The Plank, a "jammy" red muscadine that is like nothing you have ever tasted.

Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable, and I am kicking myself for not remembering his name. If you have the chance to make it up to Jarvisburg to see the vineyards, I am sure the experience is worth the drive. If not, definitely make sure to stop by their satellite location at one of the Cotton Gin stores.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MoogleMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WINE AND MORE”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have been to Sanctuary several times in the past. As a result of lovely tastings, my daughter decided she wanted local wine for her May 2014 wedding in the Outer Banks. John Wright was very helpful and always warm and friendly. The wine was a great hit at the wedding - only 3 bottles left. They have a lovely gift shop. Also, during the summer, on Thursday evenings, they have wine and music! I went to the first of the season this year on a soft, lovely night. The guitarist was terrific. You could taste and purchase any wine. They had two wine slushies as well. Their "yard" is a perfect, relaxing place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanctuary Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Sanctuary Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing