We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
16
9
8
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
9
8
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

In June of this year I was up for a family wedding and I also had family (Mom & Sisters) coming in from out of town (NY) for the 2 day event as well. Both trips were long and tiring, driving 10-12 hours straight, we just wanted to relax and gain our strength before the big day.
Nellie, the day time manager, made us feel like Royalty, she went out of her way to accomodate us, sending extra towels, pillows and blankets to make us feel at home without us asking! The rooms were fine and the staff always greeted us with a smile and assisted in our needs. To include, they have a full line up of breakfast essentials (waffles and everything)
These haters & complainers writing reviews, are just that, COMPLAINERS, they forgot the term, "you get what you paid for", and if you treated people with kindness and the way you wanted to be treated things would turn around for you.
WE will be staying here again in the near future - Thank you NELLIE - you are awesome, may God bless you.
Jay-

Room Tip: Here's a tip - If you dont like the room you were given, get another room! Oh and try to be on the first floor..........
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

God bless you for taking a moment & informing us about your experiences on your lat visit to the Quality Inn of Kernersville. We are delighted after a long trip you were treated like "Royalty" by our staff, especially Nellie. The Quality Inn strives to make each & every guest feel that way. We do try to accommodate our guest every needs, if possible. We are proud of our staff & the condition of our property having majority of the same housekeeping staff since the late 90's.
Knowledge of an arising issue usually can be remedied by a call to the front office ( which may be changing rooms) with a helpful staff willing to aide in this process.

We will look forward for a return visit on your next trip to our area & will be delighted to give you the same or better service you encountered on this trip. Once again thank you for your comments.

Respectfully,

Pam Donnell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

On July 27, we arrived at 1am after a long day of traveling to a confused front desk clerk who mischarged our credit card and removed the credit card information for another room we had booked for other family members.

When we drove up to the room, there was a gentleman slumped over, sitting in front of the door next to our room, clearly VERY intoxicated and beaten up. With 2 young kids, we quickly unloaded and locked the door. As if that wasn't startling enough, we were welcomed to a hotel room that looked the same as it had 30 years ago - musty smell, outdated bedding, cheap shampoo/soap, etc..

After getting into the room, we discovered the gentleman who was outside our room was staying next door. 20 minutes later, we realized our room was sandwiched between two truckers who were in a physical altercation. It got so bad that we called the police because the front desk did not answer when we picked up. The police arrived with guns and tasers. Unfortunately, only 1 of the 2 were removed from the property, causing my whole family to lose sleep for fear of what else was to come of the situation. All this while my other family members were on the other side of one of the trucker's rooms with a 3 year old. The ordeal of frightening to say the least.

If this wasn't bad enough, the breakfast the next morning was subpar with few options and a poorly kept dining room.

Upon check out, the front desk clerk accidentally charged the wrong credit card, and indicated "she wasn't able to do anything to adjust the cost". After my husband said a few choice words, we stormed out, unfortunately leaving the clerk in tears.

An outdated hotel and a rough check in is one thing. An altercation outside a hotel room with the guest having to call the police and the hotel not acting on the situation by kicking the man out of his room is another. But inactivity on the staff to right a very wrong situation is simply upsetting.

I chose this hotel not only b/c of location and cost, but because I had seen the manager's comment on TripAdvisor. Now, I will say I am working through these issues with the hotel directly; however, it was a missed opportunity the day we checked out and unfortunately one that has caused damage to the reputation of all Quality Inns. The situation makes my stomach turn, even 2 weeks later.

Unfortunately, I have to recommend you keep driving a few exits east on 40, outside Greensboro.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 40s are facing a field, very secluded from the front desk and main parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j24633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

I want to take the time to apologize for the unruly rude guest you experienced on your last visit to the Quality Inn of Kernersville. Please except from our entire staff our deepest regrets that we could not make you comfortable.We want to reassure you that this is not our norm & would love for you to give us the opportunity if you are in our area again.

Once again we can only apologize for the other guest you experienced & hope to see you again.

Respectfully,

Pam Donnell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was a bit old and run down but reasonably clean...nothing great. It smelled funny with an overpowering perfume trying tocover up the old mildew smells. The breakfast was OK, mostly just muffins, cereal, and bagels. They did have some yougurt, at least.

Room Tip: Maybe upstairs rooms don't smell as musty since they are not on the damp ground.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the Qality Inn of Kernersville. We will check into the odd smell & can reassure you that issue will be corrected. We use all comments as building tools to help improve ourselves & these comments only help us know the areas we need to work on.

Respectfully,

Pam Donnell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We are basing our review on the room we stayed in: room 112. The minute we opened the door, there was a musty odor. The carpet had huge stains of ground in oil and dirt. We couldn't bring ourselves to take off our shoes. The tile in the bathroom was in disheveled condition with holes going into the inner part of the wall. The screen on the air/heat unit was clogged but enough air passed through to cool the room. The security lock had one missing screw while the one existing was barely screwed in. There was no clock in the room either. When we were checking out, we brought up the security lock issue and the room having no clock. The person was "surprised" to hear of this. All this tells us is the management has no clue as to the condition of this room. It feels like the company is siphoning the profit without putting anything back into the building. Based on our stay at this location, we will never book again with a Quality Inn.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank YRMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for bringing to my attention your issues with your room during your last stay with the Quality Inn. I want you to know these issues have been brought to the attention of the entire staff & are being corrected.

We pride ourselves on making our guest comfortable & want to extend an apology from the entire staff.

Once again thank you for helping us build a stronger staff.

Respectfully,

Pam Donnell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This really is an average motel, but we liked it for our overnight stay before going to the airport early the next morning. It offered free continental breakfast but we didn't get to try that as we left too early. It also had free airport service and we could leave our car there as long as we liked for free, which was nice as we were gone 10 days. Other places only had free parking for a week. Some places charge more when booking a room for shuttle service. Airport service in this case is - they call a cab for you. Unfortunately the cab smells like cigarette smoke, but you can put up with that for the 20 min. drive. The service was very prompt when we came back.

The room was clean and well maintained. We were pleased overall and it was a quiet place to stay, which is a plus for many motels. The price was a bit high for this particular weekend because it was furniture market week and the prices were up at all the motels for that. In fact several motels closer to the airport were already booked a couple months in advance, so watch out for furniture week in April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynester40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Thank you for your comment about the Quality Inn of Kernersville. We are delighted to hear such great comments & have shared them with our staff. We are also very pleased we could accommodate your vehicle while you continued your journey after being with us. We know during the Furniture Market rates do increase & rooms in the area are very sought after due to the volume of attendees & were glad we had an opening for your request. We look forward to a return visit the next time you are in our area.

Respectfully,

Pam Donnell GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews