We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked a room in the tower building (I think that's non-pet section), and although our room was great, the building was still undergoing some renovations, which was a bit of a hassle, but not too bad. But the room had a great little kitchenette, was clean, and we had great service overall. One of my favorite things about the hotel was it's proximity to the beach, restaurants, and a great sidewalk that began less than a block away, which made my morning runs that much easier. We were close to tortuga (our favorite restaurant) and we had access to a grill....what more could you ask for. I was a little frustrated when, on our last morning, I found out that they had a free mini breakfast in the office, I don't remember them telling us that when we first checked in. Overall, a great value! We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idab908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Never stayed in a motel as bad as this one! First room w declined because of filth and strong mold/mildew smell. The second room was better although I still wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Overpriced and under kept! Best to sleep in you vehicle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I was told they had just renovated, but the rooms, hallways, etc. were still under construction. You can get a far better place to stay for the same amount of money. It's very shabby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We booked a very poor room at a local motel. I was able to get my money back. I tried to rebook at other hotels but all were full. There was a softball tournament in town. I called this place and got the last available room. I probably would not make this my first pick, but I really enjoyed my stay. The room was worn, but very clean, with possibly one of the best showers I have ever taken at a hotel. They provide a continental breakfast and have a coffee maker/ microwave and dishwasher in the room. There is a laundry matt and vending machines on site, as well as easy beach access. We took a 4 mile walk on the beach, it was awesome. The staff was very friendly and over all I had a great time. We only stayed one night and moved into our beach house rental the next day. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobK542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

It's right on the beach and it allows my dog. It's not the Ritz, but rooms are well maintained for a Quality Inn that's Oceanside. Microwave & fridge in every room are great. Weekends yummy waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEL12111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I purely dislike giving bad reviews, but there was little I could draw out of the John Yancey except of the fact that it is one of the few hotels on the Outer Banks which allow pets. If you decide to stay here, do it for the love of your furry friend, and the pleasure of watching them enjoy the sand and surf. Our Boston Terriers had a blast on the beach!!!!

The folks at the front desk were kind and very welcoming, and I will give them good marks on their service at check in.

This is our second stay with the John Yancey, and the last. Although there are claims that some remodeling is being done....I just don't see it. The focus of any major improvements appears to be cosmetic in nature, solely for curb appeal. New beachfront deck, and some landscaping around the pool area.

We stayed in an oceanfront room and yes the location and views are very nice. From what I could tell the only remodeling improvement which had been done to the room was that the carpet appeared to be newer, and possibly a fresh coat of paint. The heating/cooling units are well aged, noisy, and the smell from the unit in our room was so bad we ultimately decided to turn it off completely. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which in tight quarters can at times, be unpleasant~ if you know what I mean. Expect ambient noise from neighboring rooms, and loud hallway noise as soundproofing did not exist when this hotel was built. They have moved the breakfast area (which used to be in a fairly large gathering area in another portion of the hotel) to the lobby, which now is very limited in size and rather uninviting. Coffee and cellophane wrapped pastries are the extent of you complimentary breakfast.

Considering our visit was during off-season the rates for what we paid seemed high given the overall condition of the facility.

Room Tip: Keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here on April 7th while heading down to Hatteras island. We loved our oceanfront room, a tough thing to find when traveling with pets. Great time just sitting outside the room and looking at the water. Hotel is clean and they are still renovating some areas. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to going back in the fall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTKbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
891 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
#17 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing