We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
96
112
91
58
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
112
91
58
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour seasonsdifferent buildingskill devil grilloceanfront roomcontinental breakfastbagelshard boiled eggsmain buildinglong weekendmemorial day weekendstaff was friendlyobxironmicrowavedecksunrise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Yancey was ideal for my man and I over Memorial Day. Just the two of us this year for three nights so went with a hotel option (it's actually a motel). Certainly not the fanciest place we've ever stayed, but it's right on the beach. An overall good value. Our ocean front room let the morning sun in first thing and after breakfast (they have what looked to be a good one included with the room, but we went out both days) it was literally a 20ft. walk out of our door to the beach. Beach was great -- not crowded, lots of families. The room, towels, halls were clean. Staff friendly, parking abundant and the microwave and college fridge helped us with snacks and beverages. Just an overall good value -- convenient location and RIGHT on the beach. Paul and I will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RadRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were here for three nights in May. The room looked freshly painted. Everything was very clean and in good working order. Nice water pressure in the shower. There was a microwave and small refrigerator in our room. That was a nice addition. Nice white cover on the beds that looked freshly laundered. No signs of smoking or pets in our room. That was very nice. Only complaint was the continental breakfast. They were very stingy with the bread. They were also out of orange juice very early in the morning. The food that they did have was good. The young lady that worked the breakfast was very polite and did the best that she could to be helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and had a perfect ocean view over the dunes. Might not be able to see if you were on second floor of the four floor building. We did not run the AC at night. We just left the sliding door open and had a nice ocean breeze.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstkidofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

John Yancey is a small mom and pop type place right on the beach. The rooms are nice and they should market the fact that they are way larger than an average cheap room in an old hotel. They have little kitchens in them with a sink, fridge, cabinets, etc. This was very NICE being at the beach and having drinks, leftovers, yada yada. We also had a little table area and two decent size beds with space to walk around in the room. The bathroom is small. The price is cheap and you can get rooms that are right on the sand. The location is great for the Outer Banks, lots of stuff close by and they are pet friendly. The office staff was super nice and let us check in early because the rooms were ready. They also didn't charge us when we locked ourselves out and they had to give us a new key. Don't expect the Regent Beverly Wilshire - but expect value for what you will pay to stay here. You can't beat being right on the beach and also close to restaurants and shops for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurePig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This place has the perfect location! Behind it is the beach, in front of it is the #1 spot to eat, in town. We chose this place because they are pet friendly and our dog needed a vacation as much as we did. When we first arrived we had to exchange rooms because our door key wouldn't work, then our tv was stuck on mute; however, they promptly fixed that. 2 minor issues that were adequately handled to our satisfaction. The rooms are a tad dated, yet clean... for the most part - we were woken up at 7am due to a ringing phone :/ Finally found a cell phone (not belonging to us) on the floor, under the table. Either way, who needs modern appliances in the room when at the Outer Banks? We are here for all the fun outdoors, and an early wake up just allows more time for the beach... John Yancey provides a nice area to rest our heads, dog included.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GRuggiero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Let me start with the good. There's lots of good about this hotel. Good #1 Location= perfect! Right on the oceanfront, located in a pretty central spot for the OBX, easy to get to any of the things you might want to see. Loved being able to walk over the dune and be right on the beach! Good #2- pet friendly! Good #3 Staff is friendly and in a very genuine way. Good #4 Right across the street is my new favorite restaurant in OBX- the Kill Devil Grill. Good #5 Continental breakfast serves the purpose, and coffee available all day in the lobby. Good #6 Room was basic but bathroom was clean and sheets appeared clean. Good #7, for a motel, it had the amenities I expected like an ice machine and decent parking.
Next, the Bad and the Ugly: The Carpet, good lord the carpet! It was bad and ugly. It was filthy. I am no germophone but I seriously did not want to touch it with my bare feet. There was a large wad of black gum stuck to the carpet right in the center of the room. It made what was otherwise a clean and fresh room dingy and musty. I mean seriously - it makes a terrible first impression. You could tell from looking underneath the table the carpet was supposed to be tan with a pattern but in the heavy traffic areas it was so dirty it became essentially one color: dirt. Now I completely understand if they are in the process of renovation and new carpet is being phased into other rooms first for budgetary reasons. I get that. What I do not get is why, while the other rooms await renovation, no one thought to rent a carpet steamer to at least try to clean the heavy traffic areas just a little? I really think that effort alone would not cost very much, would not take too much time, and would make a huge difference to the overall feel of the room.
That being said, even though the carpet was really horrendous, we liked the hotel and would come back (after they assure us the carpet has been steamed!)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toonces76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback. We are continuing to renovate select rooms each year, which includes carpet replacement, interior work, painting, new drapes, etc. As a beach property, we do seasonally steam clean all carpets, typically in the spring. We pride ourselves on clean, affordable oceanfront rooms for our guests, and personalized guest attention. We strive to resolve any guest issues as they arise.

We do hope you can give us another opportunity to show you why the John Yancey Inn is a favorite Outer Banks beach motel, and has been for years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews