We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Directly on the Oceanfront!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Victoria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Directly on the Oceanfront!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got home from several days stay at the John Yancey Oceanfront Inn in Kill Devil Hills, NC. We stayed in the Four Seasons Building which was clean and our accommodations were good. We had an oceanfront king room and the view was great! Hotel employees were friendly and helpful. Pool out front was very nice and water was so clear and cool. There is a little playground for children and picnic tables and grills for those wanting to cook out. The only negatives we found were the Continental Breakfast and the daily housekeeping. The breakfast area was very small and I'm not a fan of all kinds of people hanging around food counters, reaching across food items to get what they need. There were several items to choose from to eat there, I'm just very picky when it comes to cleanliness around food I'm eating. The housekeeping was a little less than what I expect from a hotel. It appeared that the hotel may have been short-staffed with housekeepers because it took them several hours to clean rooms. This is not a huge hotel either. I'm not sure our room was vacuumed while we were there and we had to ask for clean towels a couple times. All in all, it was a good hotel and I would probably stay there again. It was a very quiet hotel and I liked the AC window units in the hallways next to the elevator. What a nice touch so vacationers stay cool while waiting for an elevator.

Room Tip: At the Four Seasons Building, there is a sand dune behind the hotel. So, you may want to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    96
    84
    48
    89
See reviews for
142
149
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here on way home from a week in a rental house in Hatteras. Good price friendly staff room was freshly painted and extremely clean. On the down side had to pay (2.50) for ice and our fellow guests were pretty scarry looking.

Room Tip: There are beachfront rooms with balconies try for those. Stay away from pool area really noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in the Sea Building. We had room 513.
The GREAT: The room location was fantastic. We were on the second floor and we were about 50 yards from the ocean. We had a balcony and could sit out and enjoy the view. You just walked down the steps to the sand and headed out. It is PET FRIENDLY and it seemed like there were a lot of folks with pets. This was a huge plus. The literature says pets aren't allowed on the beach but most people do it. Just make sure to keep your dog under control and you should not have an issue.
The NOT SO GREAT- The bed! This was bad.. felt like they took a piece of plywood and put a very thin mattress pad on it and called it good. The pillows were okay but the bed was horrible. It was old, they said they had remodeled this building but other than a coat of paint and what looked like maybe newer carpet, the furniture was still particle board and they did not replace any of it. Also, being on the second floor, you have to lug your bags up the stairs (maybe they have a elevator but i did not see one).
General comments- the shampoo/soap products are organic so that was a nice touch although they seemed inexpensive. The room has a refrigerator if you need it. The bathroom is really small. They did have an area on the beach, like a patio type where the people that didn't have ocean front could come and enjoy.

Overall, if they got new beds I would stay here again. The view is spectacular.

Room Tip: Any room in the Sea Building is good in terms of view and beach access. We had room 513 and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jillb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just needed a hotel for the night as we were passing through the area so we didn't really expect/demand all of the frills of a beach vacation. The location is excellent and right on the beach, your toes are in the sand in less than 30 seconds. The rooms are average size with decent (if slightly dated) appointments. You can tell that the carpet had been recently replaced. I had noticed in previous reviews that quite a few people had mentioned the poor carpets. It was nice to see that owners had rectified this problem. The have a continental breakfast in the morning during the tourist season so that was a nice touch. if I was staying for an extended time I would probably upgrade but this was nice for a one night stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRoss2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE!!
It is a nasty hotel. I checked in for two nights that were booked from the Priceline name your price system for a hotel with two stars. This should have been rated a half star. First and foremost, if you book through Priceline or Hotels.com through the name your price system, they will do everything they can NOT to honor the price. They will try to upsell you into a room they say is the only one available. They are thieves. If you call the booking third party to complain and demand a refund, they will call this hotel on you behalf and remind them of the "contract" in which the hotel will honor the price with an attitude and (what I believe) set you up in a not so nice room. Again....AVOID this one!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Guest Relations Manager at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, when booking through a 3rd party, such as Priceline, we are not the booking agent and have less flexibility when it comes to changes in reservations. Also, there is a much higher possibility of misinformation from folks in a call center/800#. John Yancey Inn offers a variety of rooms types and room views, from poolside, to dune views, oceanview and literally on the beachfront, with each with different pricing according to view. Our local staff is there is help you find the right room type for your needs/budget.

We hope you give us another opportunity to show you why we are a favorite Outer Banks beachfront hotel, and suggest calling the hotel locally for any future reservation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We rented a house for memorial weekend and it was great! The hotel staff was very helpful. everything worked and there was a hot tub that was serviced regularly. There was a pool and beach walking distance and many great shops and restaurants. 100% recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodri913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stay at the John Yancey over Memorial Day , 23rd to 27th.

I booked by priceline, and after reading some of the negative reviews I was ready to call priceline and raise the roof.

I even bought bug spray , fearful of the looming disaster.

However, nothing could be further from the truth. The room was quite adequate, more than I expected, and the carpets were clean and appropriate. Did it smell like saltwater, yep, but I suspect this was because the Atlantic ocean was landing on the beach a couple of hundred feet away, not anything to do with the hotel. Hotel location could not be better, they would have to put it on a pier to get any closer to the water.

The staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel is the place to stay with pets. Quite pet friendly, even furnishing some dry and canned dog food in the room I stayed in.

In the 140 to 160 dollar range on a Holiday weekend I doubt you will find a better value.

I did not use the pool but it appeared clean and a lot of folks were using it.

Check in and out was painless.

For the Outer Banks, good value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.9 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Yancey Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Yancey Oceanfront Inn

Property: John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2009 S Virginia Dare Trl, MP 10, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7761
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — John Yancey Oceanfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in the heart of the Outer Banks, NC. Outdoor pool, dune deck, rooms with balconies, FREE breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your John Yancey Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Yancey Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
John Yancey Quality Inn
Quality Inn Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Quality Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing