We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My wife, daughter and myself, along with our two darling Chihuahua girls, just spent four incredibly relaxing days, March 10th through March 13th, at the beachside Ramada Inn at Kill Devil Hills on the Outer Banks of North. My wife had searched for available “pet friendly” lodgings and she really found a winner at the Ramada.
Their staff greeted us warmly on our arrival and everyone at the hotel bent over backwards making sure we had a memorable experience. We had a no-smoking room on the first floor and to my surprise it really was a smoke free place (as an ex-smoker myself, I can tell if anyone had smoked in the room, but it was completely taint free).
Although the hotel was going through an extensive renovation during our stay, at no time did this activity intrude on our enjoyment of the indoor heated pool or the hot tub, which was a major factor in our selection of the Ramada, aside from their pet policy. We enjoyed the pools and hot tub every day, along with many other fellow guests. The weather vacillated between cool and chilly, but we were warm and comfortable inside the hotel. In addition to the pools, they had a nice exercise facility and an in-hotel restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Outer Banks during the off-season is a charming place to visit. There are still many things to do and see along the coast and the restaurant scene was amazing. I had the best steak I’ve ever eaten during my visit and I am looking forward to my next visit. There were no crowds and the prices were very reasonable everywhere we went, from Manteo up to Corolla.
Access to the beach was easy from the hotel and the beach was very relaxing, although the water was rough, eight to ten foot breakers rolling ashore in sets of seven to ten waves each. Tuesday was heavy rain along the coast, but the temperature was in the high 50’s to low 60’s and wasn’t bad at all.
Overall, I’d say you couldn’t find a much better place to stay on the Outer Banks than the Ramada Inn on South Virginia Dare Trail and if you want to really relax, you should consider OBX during the off-season. You’ll have a ball!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are excellent if you bring your dogs along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soldierjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your thorough review of both your experience at our ‘dog friendly’ oceanfront hotel and the nearby attractions. Our hotel is located in the center of it all, making it easy for travelers to enjoy all that the Outer Banks area has to offer. As you noticed our renovations are underway and we look forward to showcasing it in warmer months. We would love for you and your family to return again and hope you will stay in touch with us at:
Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,016 - 2,022 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

The view is fantastic! The waitress at breakfast was not friendly. She was short with everyone, like she didnt want us there. The food was very good. There was noone at the check in desk and a paper sign that said to come back after 8 pm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank 1wvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us and for the feedback about your experience. We are in the final stages of renovations and hope you enjoyed seeing all the great upgrades. Service levels should not have been impacted regardless of our situation, so we’ll be sure to research your comments and be sure it doesn’t happen again. We hope to see you back again. Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The hotel is large and at the end phase of a lobby remodel. The biting parrot in the lobby was not a problem. I think they just don't want you trying to touch her. I chatted with the bird and thought she added charm . This is an animal loving and pet friendly establishment. If this bothers you, stay away.The location is nice and easily found. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioner coming on and off was a little disturbing. TV had been updated. The indoor heated pool with a view of the ocean was a nice touch especially for a winter stay.I would have no problem recommending this hotel. It's not the Ritz. If you want a Ritz, don't come here.

Room Tip: No pet noise on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for staying at our oceanfront hotel recently and we are glad that you enjoyed your time in our heated indoor pool and relaxing with the ocean views. We hope you had a great time visiting the Outer Banks and would love for you to return back again. Feel free to follow us at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadBeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 March 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2013

the room needed big long mirrors for wheelchairs,,,the elevator was broken so i could din in the resturant ,the fridge was broken n i couldnt roll out on my balkony ,,,,its was a beautiful view of the ocean from the door but i wanted to be outside private beside my room,,,but i couldnt roll out their,,,,the bed was the best part ,,,,,tv was good other then that i felt i should hav been givn a free weeknd since the stay was a 2 out of 10,,,,wow thxx rodney cameron

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Our sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. We have already corrected some of the items you mention in your review as they were amongst the improvements being made during our renovation. We will be reaching out to you directly to discuss this with you personally and offer a proper resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £63 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing