We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay was comfortable. There is a pool on the way to the beach. We got a room facing the beach. This hotel is located on the beach and you just have to step out. Plenty of towels and showers on the way back from the beach. They lent an umbrella free that time we were there.

Room Tip: Good alternative if you are a Marriott loyalist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieFrom20147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are so glad that you relaxed in comfort at our oceanfront location on Nags Head Beach. With easy access to everything you needed to make your stay restful, it’s no wonder! Thank you so much for posting your comments and letting others know of your experience, and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy more of our hotel and the surrounding area. Please stay in touch at:
Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,484 - 1,490 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel isn't as worn as others, so while it wouldn't be 4 star in a big city, it definitely is for OBX. Clean and easy with great ocean front views! No complaints and it is nice to have a restaurant on site for easy breakfasts or room service. The decks are also much nicer than others in the area. May 15 through May 19 stay was comfortable and not crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meowgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are happy that you decided to stay with us here at Nags Head Beach and pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and oceanfront views! Our location makes us the perfect getaway. It is great to know that you had a good time at our Peppercorns Restaurant as well as relaxing in our beautiful pool area. We hope you will visit with us again when your plans bring you back into the OBX area. Like us on Facebook and stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would rate this place ok to go because of the wonderful hospitality the workers had given.
The room was not acceptable in my eyes....first when we first arrived to the room, there was a dirty washcloth left in the bathroom. I bring my own linen, but it appeared clean. We had a beachfront room but there was no screen door or coverings to keep the door open to enjoy the beach view therefore flies swarmed the room constantly at night.....horrible.
Then we went to breakfast and was served breakfast on a dirty plate. The waitress told us the cook had made a steak and it could have been from that....well...it was breakfast and steak wasnt on the menu.
So...you make the decision. Other than that a beautiful oceanfront hotel.
What do you expect now days:(

Room Tip: look into the private beachfront homes....those appear much more feasible for the same price as hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us Michelle and also for the feedback you have posted. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the hospitality of our staff and the mention of our beautiful location. Your complete satisfaction as a Guest is extremely important to us and we will be looking into your comments regarding cleanliness with our staff immediately. Our apologies that you didn’t have a more enjoyable time at our hotel on the beach in Nags Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Evie P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

So if you're headed to Kill Devil Hills, you'll certainly want to make your stay at a place on the beach. Short story is, I think your money will be better invested by finding a private rental. As for the Ramada Plaza, here's what you may expect: Book online, it's cheaper. We booked online, yet were charged a different rate. I caught the error at checkout and found our price to be $111 overcharged. Stay on top of that. You also need to know that there are State Taxes of 6.75%/night (about $18 depending on your room cost) and County Occupancy Tax of $6%/night (about $16 depending on your room cost). Look to spend about $35 bucks a night in taxes. If you stay at a private rental, you might be able to negotiate the taxes.

You may also get a "Bed and Breakfast" which includes breakfast for about $20/head. When I asked what it was, they said, "You can order off the menu." However, it's NOT the regular menu that is given to the paying customers, it's a mini breakfast of cereal, fruit, small American breakfast, or there is a two egg/toast/hash brown "Big Breakfast." Not worth it as you can get a better breakfast for a better price at the same restaurant. I was kind of put off that they would bait and switch menus.

This hotel has excellent ocean views. Stay on the 4th or 5th floor to avoid seeing just the sand dune. I would recommend the 5th floor as the 4th had lots of ceiling noise. You'll have a balcony with two beach chairs. Each room has their own air conditioning/heat unit underneath the window. The room also had a small microwave, electronic combo safe, and a mini fridge. There was also a little table which had a stocked coffee maker and ice bucket. Ice machines are located on each floor. The shower is adequate, no hand nozzle, but did have shower massage. The shower curtain wasn't very good at keeping water inside the tub, but it worked just fine. There is one sink and only room for one at a time to get ready. The TV was very nice and it came with all the standard cable channels, and they did have current pay-per-view movies. Towels were good and bath towels were big.

The Peppercorn Restaurant was pretty good. We were there on a Holiday, so they were slammed, but as we weren't in a hurry, we eventually got to eat. We had the seafood one night and burgers another night. All the food was good. Plenty of refills on sodas and the beers were nice and cold.

This is a "Pet Friendly" Hotel, pets stay on the first floor and it didn't seem to bother anyone.

The pool was warm and children ran amok. Unattended kids seemed to dominate the hot tub. This is a cheaper option hotel, so you don't quite get the "hotel etiquette" you might as other places. We even had some other guests walk away with our beach towels thinking they were hotel towels.

We had two queen beds in our room, and they were nice and comfortable. There were plenty of overly soft pillows.

There was also unlimited Wi-Fi without a password which was fast and nice.

All in all, it was a pretty good hotel, but certainly not worth the price you'll pay. Use Tripadvisor to find yourself a private rental, and make sure you know where it is on the map relative to the ocean! Happy Travels!~

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor for best view with no ceiling noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReynoldsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us recently and for your detailed review about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our oceanfront views and hope you had an enjoyable time while in the Outer Banks. Your comments are insightful and we thank you for leaving feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing