We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest place I have ever stayed at...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff - every single one of them - went out of their way to be friendly and accomodating. Good customer service is so rare these days that I was really impressed. I wouldn't say it's the cleanest or nicest place I have stayed but its just fine for a beach hotel and has all the amenties you could want (except a kiddie pool).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are thrilled to have dazzled you with our wonderful staff and friendly customer service. Having you stay with us here at the Nags Head Oceanfront has been our pleasure and we hope you enjoyed your time while in the Outer Banks. Please visit us again and be sure to follow us on: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,592 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel using a combination of airline miles and dollars with two of my friends, We stayed during the week to get a lower price, So its hard to comment on the value since really you're paying for the location. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only real downside I saw to the hotel was the pool, in that it was an indoor pool and we were there in the summer time, but in the off season it would probably be more appreciated. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to another traveler to Kill Devil Hills. The location is great, walkable to Sunsations, 7-11 and Plaza azteca. There are several other restaurants in a 1 mile radius. The toilet was weak, but everything went down eventually ;)

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on a higher floor if you're on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capltd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us recently and also providing your comments to other TripAdvisor readers. We take pride in providing clean, comfortable accommodations and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent at our oceanfront location. We’d love to have you stay with us again next time, so please stay in touch with us at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had booked a Vacation Rental with Sun Reality and by mistake we thought our rental was Saturday to Saturday, but it was really Sunday to Sunday. So we need a place to stay for a night until our rental was ready. Seeing that it is in prime peak season and weekend day we were very concerned as to whether we could find anything. So we drove and found the Ramada and went it. They had one room with 2 double beds available left. Supply and demand says they could have charged us an arm and leg, but instead gave us a $40.00 discounted rate. We had a oceanview room and were in it withing 20 minutes of pulling into the parking lot. You can't imagine how much stress was taken off our shoulders. It was exactly what we needed to get out of the car after a 14 hour drive and just relax!! We ate a wonderful seafood dinner at Peppercorns that was not only tasted wonderful but was extremely affordable. The hotel was beautiful and very family oriented. Thank you for turning a mistake into a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Alway ask about discounts AARP, AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishqueenohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It was our pleasure having you stay with us for a night despite it being initially unintended. We were happy to accommodate you in a pinch and are thrilled to have turned your vacation plans into a positive one. We hope you continued to enjoy your time in the Outer Banks with all the fun activities and attractions in the area. Please come back and visit us again and be sure to follow us on:Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were in Kitty Hawk for a state conference, so we hade some lower preferred rates which helped a bunch. The middle of the Summer will not be cheap under any circumstances. Tough to maintain a beach facility in top notch condition, but this hotel was in very good condition and right on the beach. We were actually on the ocean side. It has 5 floors, but the 1st and 2nd actually face a vine covered dune, so no beach view. We were on the 3rd floor and could see some of the beach. Best to ask for the 4th or 5th floor if you really want a beach view.

It is centrally located and has great access to the Wright Memorial (Kill Devil Hills), to Duck, Corolla, and Currituck County to the north and Nags Head, Hatteras and points south not to mention Manteo with the outdoor drama 'The Lost Colony' to the west.

Just to clarify, Kitty Hawk is the town in which the area where the Wright Brothers first flew (Kill Devil Hills) is located. There is actually only one 'hill' that I am aware of and it is a pretty big one. That is where the Monument is located and where the Wright Brothers took off from.

Back to the hotel, The Staff was very pleasant and helpful. I had a remote that just wouldn't work and exchanged it at the desk and it didn't work either. Called back down to the desk because I couldn't believe that someone had turned it in previously and they hadn't replaced the batteries so assumed that there was some other problem. Shortly and maintenance man came to the door with yet another remote. Not thinking that the batteries were the problem, I didn't have much faith that this would fix the problem, but indeed that was the problem and this remote worked. If that is the worst problem that we experienced, then things were pretty good!

Don't miss Sabrina!!! She is the owners Parrot. They bring her in every morning and she loves to interact with the guests and is just fun to watch. Be careful though, you will catch yourself spending your entire morning watching her. Quite a floor show.

Room Tip: To restate, If you want an ocean view, you should ask for ocean side and 4th or 5th floor, if possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aadm1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are happy to see that you are so pleased with our oceanfront hotel, staff and ‘mascot’ Sabrina. Being centrally located in the Outer Banks along with our great ocean views, pool and restaurant, make us a popular destination hotel. Thanks for staying with us and we do hope to see you back again next time. Feel free to stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in the staff at this Ramada were wonderful. We travel with our dog and this is one of the most pet friendly hotels we have ever been to! Dogs are allowed on the beach, in the lobby and on the deck. We had car trouble and had to extend our stay. They were so helpful - even let us have a late check out.
The room was clean, free wi-fi, all the amenities of home. Bed was comfortable. We were on the first floor and had a lanai which was great to take the dog out. All of the staff was very friendly - if the area I would recommend it. It is a 5 star hotel, but it's location on the beach and staff make it an A!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Having pets travel with you definitely makes a family vacation more enjoyable. We’re glad that you selected our hotel for your travel plans and are thrilled to see that you found our pet-friendly oceanfront location accommodating. Having easy access to the beach and dog walking area makes it convenient for both dogs and guests. We hope you’ll come back and stay with us again next time! Also feel free to keep in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was disappointed that the room "view" was a parking lot; not the oceanfront as I had expected. Partially my fault; should have called & checked further. Waited a while to be seated at restaurant so we left & found a really good breakfast place. Separate review coming for that place.

Room Tip: If you book online beware; call and ask for the Oceanfront room of you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the oceanfront recently and we are disappointed to read that you did not get your room view of choice. We do hope you took advantage of relaxing on our large deck area overlooking the ocean and enjoyed the easy access to the beach. We will be happy to accommodate your preferred room type next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here one night on our way to a beach house. The front desk staff were great, checking us in early, upgrading our room to oceanside, and best of all, directing us to the Red Drum Restaurant. The place was very clean and generally updated, bathrooms could some work.Big complaint was lack of noise proofing. I felt like the family next door were in our room, and they were talking normally. Loved the outside bar and seating. Pool, not so much. Had to walk through the pool area to get to the elevators, and, being a small enclosed area with pool, hot tub and lots of people, it was really slippery. Good location, ok place. Would not recommend it for vacation destination.

Room Tip: Streetside vs oceanside, which would you choose?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for staying at our oceanfront hotel recently while in the Outer Banks recently. We appreciate your comments and are glad to have assisted with some local restaurant recommendations and room upgrade. We hope you enjoyed relaxing walks on the beach and beautiful sunrises. Thanks for visiting and please see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: £69 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing