We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We found a great deal with roomsaver. The location is fantastic and we had a jacuzzi room.Breakfast in the restaurant was amazing. We even had leftovers to enjoy on the beach! The hotel staff let us use the facilities even after we checked out.

Room Tip: The non-beach side faces the parking lot, but it is still an amazing deal, especially with the jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecumaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed not only our oceanfront location but our Peppercorn Restaurant and staff as well. Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us and we do hope you’ll visit again when plans bring you back into the Outer Banks area. Also stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    866
    539
    213
    104
See reviews for
957
884
81
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 4 nights and had the most pleasant stay! We even got to know our housekeeper, Angie and she made it that much more enjoyable! What a sweet, caring and very professional person you have on your staff! Angie takes such pride in her work and it shows. She always smiled and greeted us when we passed her in the hallways. Thank you again, Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront! We came because our son had planned his wedding on this beautiful island and left with the happiest memories of that and your amazing hotel(and staff, especially Angie!) Sincerely from Marie and Mark and family

Room Tip: Find out where Angie is working and pick one of her rooms! She is an excellent maid!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit with us and especially for your mention about Angie’s service and professionalism. We thank you for recognizing her hard work and will certainly be sure to share your comments and high praises with her. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and we do hope you’ll visit our oceanfront hotel here in the Outer Banks again soon!
Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night during our usa roadtrip. We booked a city view room but were upgraded to an ocean view, which was very nice! This hotel is a little expensive but the location is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us here at the oceanfront of Nags Head beach during your road trip across the USA. We hope you had a fabulous time while in the area and are glad that our staff provided you with superior service and was able to make your vacation enjoyable. Please come back and stay with us again. Stay in touch at: Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel the week of the 4th July. I should have paid more attention to the reviews I read on TripAdvisor about this place. It felt dirty from the moment we arrived. The first thing we saw was the trash can outside of the entrance overflowing with garbage. The carpet on the landing between first and second floor was very dirty.

Once we got our room, it felt dirty. Also, once we got in, we just kept hearing this loud humming noise. It was coming from the ice machine, which was next to our room. I asked for a room change, and the staff was able to get me another room on the same floor.

We moved to our new room, and it also felt dirty. It was. The tiles in the shower had mold and there was also mold on the shower curtain. In addition, 3 of the 8 lights on the vanity were busted. You could also see paint chipping off the ceiling tiles, the switch plates were really dirty, and I wouldn't touch the hairdryer. Good thing my wife always brings disinfecting wipes in our vacations. They were helpful.

After spending our first day at the beach, we headed to our room at around 3pm to find out that the room was not yet cleaned. I called the front desk, and someone was sent to clean the room. The next day, the cleaning crew knocked on the door at around 10am to clean our room, but we were not yet ready, so they told us that they would return later. They never did. We returned to our room at around 5pm to find that the room was not cleaned. This time I went to the front desk to let them know about it, and they politely offered to send someone over again. In addition, they offered to lower my rate, since this happened 2 days in a row. After a few minutes, they called me to notify me that their cleaning staff was gone for the day and that all they could do was to give me a care package, which included towels and toiletries. So, my wife changed the towels and put the dirty ones in the bag where the dirty ones were.

The following day, our room was cleaned, but the bag with all the dirty towels from the previous days was left in our room.

The staff on the front desk was very polite, courteous, and accommodating. I gave this review 2 stars for that reason and also because the hotel has very good beach access. These are the only two positive things I can say about this hotel. I have stayed at Ramada Hotels in the past and I never had a bad experience. Well, I would think twice about staying in another one again, and definitely I will not stay in this one ever again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, stay away from rooms next to ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Our sincere apology for the lack of proper service during your recent stay with us. That is not the customary style of service we provide and we are following up immediately to discuss this with our staff. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you enjoyed the Outer Banks area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Overall just average. For the room price, not a great value at all. Most likely will stay some where else next year. The location however is pretty good. It's very convienent to a lot of places on the outer banks. Honestly though, that's really the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate you staying at our ocean front hotel and also for your feedback. Our location is in the center of many great attractions and leisure activities and we do hope you had a wonderful time while in the Outer Banks. Thank you for choosing our hotel in your vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Did not like much about this hotel. It felt dirty, from the moment you walked in to the lobby. The first room we were given had a major leak in the ceiling above the shower. I tried to call the front desk and the phone did not work. Was given another room which was not much nicer-but didn't have a leak.
The whole layout is awkward in this hotel. It should be a two star at best, and we would not have even considered it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank McRogers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are so sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than perfect. We will certainly look into your comments to be sure everything is satisfactory for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Outer Banks of North Carolina are rustic. This is a very nice property in a very central location, Kill Devil Hills. It is on the beachfront, and the back of the hotel faces the small local road, not the larger bypass road a couple of blocks over. There is an indoor pool which is nice for year round swimming, but the hotel next door has an outdoor pool which looked really nice. There is a nice outdoor bar open during the day and an indoor bar and restaurant as well. The staff was extremely friendly - they even have a cute bird (some kind of parrot) that greets you in the lobby. Very convenient hotel layout. This hotel is literally walking distance to the Outer Banks Brewery and a couple of other nice, smaller bars and restaurants, and it is a very short drive from the Wright Brothers National Monument. The hotel is clean and pet friendly, plenty of free parking. The only reason I did not give it a fifth star is because the room was a little bit run down - just a little bit. The bed wasn't the most comfortable bed, it had a floor A/C unit under the window rather than central AC, and the bathroom amenities were adequate but nothing special. Overall we enjoyed our visit and we recommend the property. Fine for a nice visit, not ultra luxurious but certainly nice enough for a visit of a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms wither face the ocean or the parking lot - take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Our location here on the beach in Nags Head certainly is in a great centralized setting to enjoy all that the Outer Banks as to offer. We’re glad that you stayed with us and appreciate your feedback.
Please visit us again when in the area and stay in touch:
Facebook.com/RamadaPlazaNagsHeadOceanfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 1701 South Virginia Dare Trail, P.O. Box 2716, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#6 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront is a great place to relax and unwind while on your coastal vacation. This Ramada property is located directly on the beach! Centrally located (mile post 9 1/2) to shopping, historical sites, and sporting activities, our oceanfront hotel provides convenience to area attractions. Visit the Lost Colony, Elizabethan Gardens, Kitty Hawk, four area lighthouses, Roanoke Island Festival Park, or the Wright Brothers Memorial-site of man's first flight. Restaurant and Lounge and seasonal outdoor deck bar on property. Business center, free guest laundry and free access to local YMCA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Beach Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills Ramada
Ramada Kill Devil Hills
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing