We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family pleaser”
Review of American Pie

American Pie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good family pleaser”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had our kids and grandkids on vacation this summer. This was the first time we tried American Pie. We called in an order for pick-up. Great pizza & wings. Person who took my phone order was very nice & helpful. Definitely will eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubby2six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    101
    38
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wet pizza”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived late into kitty hawk and we were very hungry. Right accross from the hotel was American Pie. We went over and ordered a supreme pizza got it took it back to the hotel. When we tried getting it out to eat it it fell apart and the bottom was disgustingly wet. We ate the toppings off and through most of it out. Would have taken it back but they were closed for the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pb3girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went there for lunch because it had outside seating so we could have our dog sit with us but the food was not worth going back. It was overpriced and not great. I ordered a veggie & mozzerella wrap and it had mushrooms out of a can, peppers and onions that were cold and the cheese wasn't melted. Not good at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hildy723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillersRestaurants, Owner at American Pie, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I'm sorry but you must be mistaken as to the business you posted this review. We DO NOT sell wraps at American Pie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Went last night for some good ice cream... Decided on the hot fudge sunday!! Good decision !! Other had plenty other flavors and they raved about their ice cream as well!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gowahoos1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to go here for pizza. We went twice during our weeks stay. The first night was fine. The pizza was very tasty and fresh. So when the kids decided they wanted pizza again before going home, we just went back here again. Unfortunately, the second visit was not as nice.

The girl taking our order was very rude and unfriendly. It was fairly busy, so maybe she was just irritated. Anyway, we waited 50 MINUTES for our 2 medium pizzas to come out. When they did arrive, she just threw them on the table and said "sorry". If we hadn't already paid, we would not have bothered to stay. I guess that's why they make you pay first. The pizza tasted good again, but after such a long wait, it wasn't as enjoyable.

Also, a word about the ice cream. Everyone raves about it being the best on the beach. However, a word of caution. We sampled a lot of the flavors. Some of the flavors have a nasty after taste. Be sure to ask for a sample before you order a whole cone of it.

Next year, we will try a different pizza place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Pie also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kitty Hawk, Outer Banks
 

Been to American Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing