We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the beach”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very clean hotels. Right next to the beach..but don't be fooled by the name. Most rooms are NOT Ocean Front. But it is right beside the beach. Paid cash for our room because our bank put a hold on our card because of fraud, but I swear we were charged an extra $20..but I can't accuse someone of stealing. So if you pay in cash, make sure you triple count it!! Overall great hotel and location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlLover2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and value your input. Save Travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    96
    80
    41
    33
See reviews for
100
113
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, MD
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is your typical 3 star hotel. Room was decent, with plenty of space. Bed was comfortable. The older A/C unit was very loud but kept the room cool. Not a lot of bells and whistles but not worthy of the bad reviews either. The hotel is a bit older and more like a motel with the front door of your hotel room leading directly outside instead of in a hallway. The pool.was ok but not the most inviting. I say that because the day I wanted to get in, it was full of sand from the beachgoers. The price was great. The hotel offered a continental breakfast that was very not very appealing with only instant oatmeal, cereal and a few pastries, however for a quick meal, it would be acceptable. This was my first trip to the OBX and the hotel's location was excellent. A short drive south to Nags Head and Hattaras and north to Duck and Corolla. The hotel's location is walking distance to the beach and a short car ride to many eating and shopping spots. If you decide to stay at this hotel, please keep an open mind that it is not a Ritz Carlton, but a Quality Inn. I do suggest asking for a room with a ocean view on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Ocean view on the 1st floor faces a fence. Other rooms face a parking lot and don't have a private balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YDM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We value all comments and suggestions and are glad to be of service to you and yours. Safe Travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You can't beat the location being right on the beach with easy access. The rooms are not decrepit but not really updated either and are reasonably clean. The breakfast is good considering the price of the room. One pet peeve is that they allow smokers to smoke outside the rooms on the balcony which is irritating. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your thoughts and input are important to us and we appreciate them. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The location was great, desk staff nice, we even were able to check in a couple hours early. But when we got in the room it was damp smelling. The carpet was very worn and stained. I wore my flip flops in the room. The beds were good, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was tiny. Breakfast was good. The wi-fi was useless. I couldn't log on at all. Even in the "business center" we couldn't stay connected. This was quality with a lowercase " q".

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments and inputs, safe travels and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Not impressed first off we reserved a beach side room then when we got there they said that we could have a road side room. We used points to get the room the guy at quality inn that made the reservation gave use the beach side room and never said that there would be an issue reserving with points, then we could not check in till 4 pm and when we got to the room they were still cleaning it, there were bugs in the floor by the base board it was room 139. And the a/c sounded like a plane taking off the air would not get cooled so it keep running lets just say I did not sleep good that night well for a 130 dollars a night I should have slept in my car or on the beach.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Mr. Morgart, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have pulled your information and I will be contacting your very shortly. Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The front desk staff were very nice and the room was clean. The other pluses are that it is right on the beach and is centrally located to most restaurants and attractions in OBX. Also, there is a pool, and a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The price was a little high but I can't complain because it was a last minute booking and on a holiday weekend. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PT0wnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is important to us and we appreciate all you comments and input. Safe travels, hope to see you soon and Thank You for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The front desk staff were very nice and the room was clean. The other pluses are that it is right on the beach and is centrally located to most restaurants and attractions in OBX. Also, there is a pool, and a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. The price was a little high but I can't complain because it was a last minute booking and on a holiday weekend. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtownVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us and we want to always look at the perspective of our guest. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing