We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average old quality inn...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Average old quality inn...”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Not very impressed by this hotel... Wish they would offer us a view to the beach since hotel was almost empty but it seems not available that night ???

Room smell pretty bad, carpet was wet and smell bad...

Very noisy AC and fan...

Great access to the beach from hotel...

Good Internet and decent very basic breakfast... Nice flat screen tv

Good thing price was low at this time of the year...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and input as they are important to us. I have forward the information to the approriate staff to be sure the items mentions were taking care of. We hope to be of service to you in the near future and safe travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    99
    86
    44
    40
See reviews for
108
123
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, WI
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

It is off season here, but we requested an ocean front room. The front desk clerk was very accommodating. The hotel is large and was pretty vacant . Our room was comfortable and had a nice size refrigerator and a microwave. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the room spacious and clean. Nothing fancy, but the price was right and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: The third floor gave a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank You very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and input and look forward to being of service to you again. Safe Travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The elevator wasn't working properly and we were on the 3rd floor. The walk-ways were icy and there was no attempt to clear them to make it less hazardous for the patrons. The seal to the door of the room was insufficient for keeping the cold air from blowing into the room - a lit candle held near the door would have been blown out. The soda and ice machines were mostly non-functioning. The water knob on the bath/shower was very difficult to turn off (almost impossible without a wrench) and it was running a steady stream when we checked into the room. The shower head needed cleaning so that the water will spray properly. The temperature differential on the heater was too great - the heater would heat several degrees beyond the desired temp and then the A/C fan would come on to cool it down. The heat would drop too low before coming back on. The A/C fan was very noisy. We finally figured out a setting that didn't cause the A/C to come on and we stayed cool most of the time for setting it that way. The breakfast had issues too but it was tolerable. The staff was uniformly nice and the view (which we basically paid an extra $30 for, was fantastic. The view was the redeeming aspect of the stay.

Room Tip: There is no "view" of the ocean because of the sand dunes, unless you pay extra for a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jteble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are sadden that your stay was disappointing. We have taken your comments to all of our staff so that we can review where we perhaps need to adjust the way we are doing something. Hopefully you allow us to redeem ourselves in the furture and we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kill Devil Hills hotels

Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We visited over Memorial Day weekend earlier this year, which was just before peak season rates started applying at most OBX hotels. Even so, it was slightly more expensive than we thought. The hotel is very conveniently located though, which makes it worthwhile because (as we later realized) it's important to be well located if you're spending just a weekend on the outer banks. It's different if you head out there for a full week with a large group for a relaxed getaway. But if you're only there for a few days and want to relax AND see the major attractions, Kill Devil Hills is just the right place to be, approximately mid-way down Virginia Dare Trail. The Wright Brothers monument is almost directly across the street from this hotel, and there are decent restaurants within a few miles' drive. We got a room on the first floor right next to the car park, and though not as neat as some other hotel rooms we've been in, it was comfortable and functional. Breakfast was decent, staff were friendly. Overall it's really the location that sells this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to reivew us on TripAdvisor, we value your comments and input and hope that we will be able to of service to you in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We visit the OBX in the off season, either spring or fall and always stay here at the Quality Inn. Secluded enough but yet close to everything. Clean rooms, friendly employees and a good value. The breakfast lacks for being advertised as a hot breakfast but for my wife and I that isn't a big deal. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you comments and input and appreciate you allowing us to be of service to you. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pungo, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

To start off the first thing I need to say is our rooms were very clean. We booked two rooms for one night and they were oceanfront. The hotel staff was friendly and tried to make our stay a great one. This hotel has two computers that the guests can use in their lobby, along with a nice sitting area with a tv. They have a free breakfast that consists of hot waffles, biscuits and sausage gravy,cereal, yogurt, oatmeal,fruits, coffee, and juices. The only issue was that we had was we had to walk a little ways to get to our oceanfront room, we had to walk on an outside walkway and it was a little chilly. Keep that in mind for older guests or people that have trouble walking a little distance. They have a nice size outdoor pool and a walkway to the beach with some bench seating. That was a nice little extra. Overall I would stay at this hotel again. For coffee lovers, they have free coffee in the lobby at all times so that helped with our cold night. Also the oceanfront rooms have a private balcony and we were surprized to have an outdoor light on our balcony so we could sit out there and enjoy it.

Room Tip: I would recommend the 2nd or 3rd floor on the oceanfront. They have some first floor rooms on the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly-Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, General Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you comments and input and appreciate you letting us be of service to you. Happy Travels and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came during the off season. Booked a cheap room online and couldn't upgrade when we arrived. So we were on the first room facing the parking lot. Ask for an ocean view on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Just steps from the beach and close to shops and restaurants. Clean room. Bigger than expected. More of a motel than a hotel. Free breakfast with limited choices, but hey, free is free! Nothing fancy but a clean, comfortable room.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and allowing us to be of service to you. Safe travels always and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront
Address: 401 N Virginia Dare Trl, Oceanfront, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Quality Inn Carolina Oceanfront Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing